Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tom Yum Gai (Thai Hot & Sour Chicken Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tom Yum Gai (Thai Hot & Sour Chicken Soup)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2010

      Great soup! Perfect homemade version of a Thai favorate. Like others I made without kaffir lime leaves as I was unable to find any - still super tasty results. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      wow! I could have fooled anyone with this recipe. Exactly the same look and taste as the Tom Yum Gai from our favourite local Thai restaurant. I will certainly put that recipe in my top 25! (note: i didn't even have any kaffir lime leaves and it was still terrific!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      I felt this was a little too tart and very salty. Personally I would add less fish oil and lime juice - and perhaps a little more sweetness is required.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This soup is excellent. It's simple and tastes great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      GINGER!!! in Tom Yam are you mad? Galangal people not ginger. Nutters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Great recipe!!! Just made it tonight and my son proclaimed it his #1 favorite dish. I made enough for 8 and my family of 4 ate it all. My only recommended change would be to drain the chicken/onions before adding the rest of the ingredients so that the broth isn't milky. Eat your heart out, Thai Town!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      This is a very good, basic recipe to get the idea of the soup and be able to make your own adjustments according to taste. If you followed it exactly you would never add the mushrooms and who knows what they mean by "another few minutes"? So, I would assume this recipe is meant to be adjusted and wing it. I just made this and it was excellent. I had no peanut oil so I used canola with a couple dashes of hot chili flavored oil and I used less fish sauce and lime juice than they called for, but more lemongrass and lime leaves and I had shiitake mushrooms on hand so I used those. I also never get fresh ginger anymore, I use naturally pressed ginger juice in place of fresh ginger since I can never use it up before it goes bad. The bottle of ginger juice lasts for a while in the fridge and I just add with the broth instead of saute. I also put in some shrimp instead of chicken at the end and was great. I thought this was pretty close to perfect for the balance of flavors, at least to my sense of taste. I don't think you can really go wrong using this as the framework for your own soup. Just don't follow the recipe exactly and don't be afraid to taste along the way to make it exactly how you would like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      if i could give this recipe 10 stars i would! i doubled the recipe and the onlything i did differently was add more nam prik pow as we like it real spicy :) thanks for an excellent recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I have reduced the lemon juice according to my taste, the soup came tasty !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tom Yum Gai (Thai Hot & Sour Chicken Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.5
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    41%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 43.6 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1475.1 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    35%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    straw mushrooms

    lemongrass

    kaffir lime leaves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes