Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tom Kha Gai Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tom Kha Gai

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2002

      Absolutely wonderful flavor. Highly recommended. Don't be affraid of the hot chili, the coconut milk neutrolizes the hot. The soup actually has a sweet flavor. The broth is thinner than you'd expect, but it doesn't distract from the recipe at all. I found the time estimates a little short, give yourself a little extra time. I found fresh galangal root and lime leaves impossible to find on short notice. The local Asian market doesn't stock them. You really need a Thai or Vietnamise grocer. The Asian grocer recommended substituting Ginger root for the galangal root, and Lemon peels for the lime leaves. Both of these worked out fine, you just have to separate them out before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2001

      Incredible flavor, easy and quick but tastes like an all day affair.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2001

      There seems to be a lot of coconut milk for such a small quanitity of stock. I also think there is too much chicken in this recipe and will use less than 1 lb. It is only 3 cups so the ratio of 1 1/4 lbs of chicken to 3 cups of soup just doesnt jive

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      My husband doesn't care much for chicken, and he just loves this recipe! I highly reccomend it since it is very tasty, and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I tried many Tom Kha Gai recipes this one is my favorite. We get the galangal root and lime leaves from our local Asian market that specializes in Chinese and Filipino foods. I'm going to have to try the palm sugar as Sascha suggested. I like to reserve half of the coconut milk and put it in at the last boil. It makes the final color of the soup brighter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Really wonderful. Made it for a group of women at our monthly Dining with Women meeting as we were donating to a Thailand project this month. Did not use tomatoes but used the lemon grass and it was perfect. Very easy to adjust quantity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      I love this soup! I have never made it until today. I had some chicken thighs I poached to cook. I took the skins off after cooking and cut the meat into chunks. It came out great.

      I ran out of prepared broth, so I used a concentrate that made 3 1/2 cups with the two 12 oz cans of milk. This was just the right amount after it simmered for a t. Came out a little thick, but still soupy. I omitted the Thai chiles as my 7 year old would not have any of it if I didn't. I put in a teaspoon or so of sriracha. It still was spicy from the galangal.

      If you have never used fresh galangal and are just now experimenting with it like me, USE LESS. There is no real measurement to how much to use, but I cut a small amount (appx 1 Tablespoon) and 2 T of ginger root. BIG mistake. I loved it and he complained about the spices. If you are trying to get your children to appreciate all cultures of food and open their palates, then please use less than I did. I would also cut the kaffir lime leaves in half to start and tweak it later to see if your kiddos will like it then.

      I would also recommend getting a spice pouch (your local Asian food store should have them) for the lemongrass and ginger/galangal bits to remove them or to isolate them from the rest of the meats and veggies. It can tend to be a bit overpowering to have chunks of them. (Unless you swing that way :D)

      Good news, he still ate it and the Earth stayed young.

      The flavors are amazing, just like in a restaurant. I just had the chicken with FRESH brown criminis (my mushroom of choice) quartered and it came out where they shrank in the broth, but are packed with flavor. Next time I will add carrots, zucchini, tomatoes and OMG cabbage! to my soup for more textures. There is nothing better than having this soup with those added textures and that will mimic my fave restaurants style.

      Good luck to those who are trying something new and happy taste buds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      This recipe was a fantastic base for a little personal adjustments. SO GOOD.
      I added more chicken, one whole leg with skin and bone for richer flavor, zucchini, red bell pepper, anaheim pepper 'cause I can't do very spicy. The galangal root is essential to get the right note in Thai soup. And in this recipe it made the soup so tasty wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      We really liked this recipe, although we did make a few changes. First of all, we doubled this recipe. Instead of chicken, I opted for shrimp and tofu. I sauteed and added half an onion (I would use the whole onion next time) and 3 carrots (more carrots would've been good, too). I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Once I sauteed the carrots and onion for about 5 minutes, then I proceeded with the recipe as directed. I didn't have galangal, so I just upped the ginger, which I thinly sliced instead of minced. I used 2 stalks of lemon grass cut into 1 inch pieces. I used less than the called for amount of tomatoes, but I think I will up the tomatoes next time as it could've used a bit more. The recipe turned out great. I was pleased with the results! I'm excited I can now make one of my favorite Thai dishes at home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      So delicious and so easy to prepare! Tastes just like in the restaurants. I didn't even use the "fancy" ingredients like kaffir lime leaves or fresh galangal root. Used substitutions as found by another reviewer (lemon peel and ginger, respectively). Now I don't have to go to a Thai restaurant when I'm craving this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Beautiful recipe, perfect for a winter night. Really popular when made for others!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      We had a small dinner party and this soup and Shrimp Pad Thai were the culinary experiments for the evening, my husband actually did all the cooking this time. This soup was such a big hit! It was spicy in my opinion, I usually get a 2 out of 5 on a spicy scale in restaurants, this was at least a 3 so edible, but it had some kick. We used fresh ginger, we couldn't find galangal so used the ginger as a substitute as recommended in other reviews. I will make this again, it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Tastes just like I love it from the restaurants! I would just say that it is important to not use light coconut milk. make sure coconut is the first ingredient. I didn't want to mess with the chilies, so I used crushed red pepper flakes, about 1 tea for medium heat. omitted the tomatoes. used fresh mushrooms. don't leave out the lemon grass, but do leave it in larger pieces so it is easy to pick out before serving. I need to add one extra tb of sugar to help balance the sweet and sour. Thanks for sharing! loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Great recipe! Was a hit with the whole family. Give it some time to get the flavors in before serving. Makes a big difference :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This is wonderful. I no longer have to drive half way across town just to get a decent bowl of Tom Kha! Thank you so much for posting, I will be using this a lot over the years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This was really good. I just came back from Thailand and was craving this soup. In the future, I will probably add a little water or broth to the coconut milk, because it was ever so slightly thicker than what I had in Thailand. I used just one tomato, and added sauteed onion and garlic to it. Didn't have lemongrass or lime leaves (subbed a TB of zest of lime as other suggested). Really great recipe! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      loved it! We did make some modifications due to what was in the store. Use roasted chiles in a jar, minced galangal in a jar, white mushrooms, lime zest instead of leaves, and one of the coconut milks was 'light'. We also skipped the tomatoes and cilantro, as our local restaurant doesn't serve it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      This was gorgeous. I made it with less chile because we don't like things too spicy, and I had to omit the lime leaf since I couldn't get them here. Otherwise, It was very good even with those minor changes. Update: I've made this so many times now. I've found that using palm sugar instead of brown sugar helps give it a more authentic flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      This soup is terrific and very close to the one we get at our favorite Thai restaurant. I also used sliced white mushrooms instead of the straw mushrooms. I didn't use the tomatoes, but did everything else according to the recipe. Hubby was pretty impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      This is better than I get at our local 5* Thai Restaurant!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tom Kha Gai

    Serving Size: 1 (612 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1316.3
     
    Calories from Fat 518
    39%
    Total Fat 57.6 g
    88%
    Saturated Fat 46.5 g
    232%
    Cholesterol 66.6 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1913.4 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 172.6 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 156.5 g
    626%
    Protein 34.0 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coconut milk

    red Thai chile

    fresh galangal root

    fresh ginger

    kaffir lime leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites