Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tom Ka Kai (Thai Coconut Chicken Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tom Ka Kai (Thai Coconut Chicken Soup)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2013

      Fantastic recipe, and very versatile. I added 6 red Thai chilis and the heat was perfect. The only omission in the ingredients that needs to be corrected is the kafir lime leaves. The directions for cooking show lime leaves should be added, but they're not in the ingredients. I also added the zest of a whole lime as well. In any event, this recipe is a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Delicious, but was really bummed that the recipe didn't list Lime Leaves in the ingredients! I was so excited to make it, but not having the L. Leaves was a real letdown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! My first taste of and attempt at Thai food. My DH gave rave reviews, and he's quite the critic. I didn't have lemongrass or red chiles, but I put it some red pepper flakes, and I used ginger instead of galangal. Cilantro in Canada's suggestion of sesame seed oil just put it over the top. Will definitely make it again, and often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Delicious! Added big chucks of fresh tomato like they do at my favorite thai restaurant, turned out wonderful, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Excellent soup - we just love this kind of soup and this one did not disappoint. I liked your tips for flavour - quite useful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      My DH and I went to Thailand for our honeymoon and I feel in love with this soup. I made this tonight and we all loved it. I went to the extra effort to get the golangal and kaffir, and it was worth it. I also added sliced white onion, and it really added to it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      What a great flavour packed soup, I decided to leave out the chicken and added some julienne bamboo shoots, grated carrot, garlic and a little sesame oil. I used about 3 small lime leaves as mentioned in the forward to the recipe too. My daughter was diagnosed with bronchitis and she requested bowls of this soup while she was sick. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      excellent recipe! i substituted chicken with tilapia fillets and it was delicious!! thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      I had this kind of soup once at a Thai Restaurant when I was starting to get a cold..now every time I start to get sick I crave it. I think the wonderful aromas remind me that I still can smell :) This recipe was great. I made it two weeks ago when I was starting to get a cold, and ate it for a few days. The only thing I did different was use light coconut milk, add the lime juice at the very end (as I turned off the heat) and I used lime zest instead of kaffir leaves (I couldn't find them)...but I did find galangal root to work with for my first time - nice flavor! Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Oh my this is a wonderful recipe. This soup is my DH's favorite from Thailand also and he's been requesting it for some time. So glad I found this. As we live in a small town couldn't get all the ingrediants and had to sub green jalapeno for the red chilis and ginger instead of galangal. Did find frozen, chopped lemon grass and was so happy about that. This went together fairly easy and the taste is wonderful. The hardest part for me was finding the proper ingrediants. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Exceptionally easy and very authentic tasting! I thank you so much for sharing. I grow my own Lemongrass but had to use Ginger instead of the Galangal, still it was just wonderful, and not a drop left in the pot. I think that says it all. Dollibygolly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      We also loved this recipe alot. I didn't use the stalk of lemongrass because I had the pre-chopped in the tube kind in the fridge already. I used about 2 1/2 tablespoons of it. I also used more than one inch of fresh grated gingerroot, more like 2 inches. I used 3 minced peppers from our garden, very spicy but worked great here,and then the only other change was that I had to use alot more brown sugar, probably about 1/4 cup. Delicious!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      This was delicious and spot on for what I am looking for in a Thai chicken soup. It's very light and goes perfectly with any other type of Thai food that might be a bit heavier, such as Pad Thai. The only thing I would do different next time is to cut the chicken a wee bit smaller but that is just the way I like it (I really am a klutz and a big piece of chicken making a splash in hot soup is best avoided by me LOL) Thanks for shaing- it was a real treat! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Oh definitely, excellent! I went exactly according to recipe, making this for DH, who loves soup, and loves spicy! He had some for his lunch today, and says it is absolutely wonderful, he doesn't know how long he can make it last, because its very more-ish! I can see I'll be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I did a combo... your ingredients but with Thai Coconut Soup's prep. Partly because I had bone-in breast. So I poured some water over it and boiled it and used that as part of my broth. You mention the lime leaves in the intro but not in the ingredients or instructions. I added 10, I hope that was right. Also I used red curry paste instead of the chilies. I'm so excited to make this from scratch. We often have it as an appetizer when Thai out. Now I have all the ingredients in the pantry except for the lemongrass. My version turned out OK but I will have to work on the proportions a little more. I forgot the mushrooms and I know it is usually served with celery and carrots in it so I may add all three to the leftovers and try adjusting the seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Absolutely DELICIOUS! We LOVE Thai food and this one tastes exactly the same that's served at the Thai restaurants! The only change I made was I didn't use any oil. Instead, I first boiled the coconut milk and then added in the stock and all the other ingredients except the chicken and straw mushrooms which I added in towards the last 10 minutes of cooking time. I had to use one small onion since I couldn't get hold of green onions and I also added in some kaffir lime leaves. And added in some thai sweet basil towards the end. I didn't add in any salt since the fish sauce is quite salty. But I did put in some extra chillies! We LOVED it! Thank you, Gatorbek, for sharing this wonderful recipe, I definitely will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tom Ka Kai (Thai Coconut Chicken Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (604 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 478.3
     
    Calories from Fat 306
    64%
    Total Fat 34.0 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 21.1 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 48.5 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1453.6 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 25.6 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemongrass

    fresh galangal root

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes