Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu With Garlic Mirin Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu With Garlic Mirin Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2013

      Quick and easy and delicious, too. The sauce really is good, so I see why some comments suggest doubling the sauce and maybe even adding a few veggies. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I love mirin, but this recipe doesn't do enough with it to make it really good. The only tofu I had was extra firm silken, which doesn't hold together very well in the fry pan. But on the bright side I kept looking for mirin tofu recipes until I found a really quick and delicious one with steamed vegetables, brown rice and homemade peanut sauce to top off the mirin-fried tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Excellent! This was my first attempt at making my own marinade, and it was wonderful. I doubled the sauce (for pouring over rice/veggies) and used frozen (and then thawed) tofu that I squeezed all the water out of. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes in addition to some toasted sesame seeds. Turned out very well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This sauce has good potential and I think the recipe can be expanded to include more ingredients (mushrooms, broccoli, bean sprouts, etc). I used peanut oil because I didn't have sesame oil. It tasted fine, but I think it would taste better with sesame oil. Also added some crushed red pepper for a kick. Remember to add the oil last when making the sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      THis was a really good sauce. We just used it to cook broccoli for our lunch, as a side dish to fillet steaks with the Quick Steak Marinade (Steak Marinade, Quick and Easy) for lunch. We made it easier by using garlic sesame oil, which you can find in Chinese supermarkets and no added sugar, as we thought the mirin was sweet enough, and no added water or cornstarch. So really quick and easy - just cooked the broccoli in the saucepan until done and then added the soy, mirin and garlic sesame oil to heat through. I agree with Chef Nick that a bit of chili would be a nice addition as well - think I'll add that the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      i have just started cooking as a single man and i loved the recipe. I think next time i will add a little heat like some chili flakes but i loved the recipe..........good job

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      This is my second attempt with tofu (technically third but the first one was so rank it put me off for years) Luckily this one reaffirmed that really it was ok. I made a couple of changes to mine though. Firstly I didn't add the garlic (only because I forgot. Secondly I didn't fry the tofu I have a cafe style sandwich press for paninis, I put the tofu on this and squashed it untill it was dark brown and chewy! Him indoors said it was like well done bacon. I served mine with some left over sushi rice as I was making onigiri and made extra sauce yum! This one is going in the book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      I liked this but the kids didn't get enthused even though they usually don't mind tofu. Easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu With Garlic Mirin Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.5
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    64%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1124.1 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes