16 Reviews

The tofu never solidified. I cooked it for as long as the recipe calls for + some. The flavor is ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat December 29, 2008

I've made this for a few holidays now. Everyone loves it, veggies and meat eaters alike. Flavor and texture are great. I was really missing Tofurkey when I had to go gluten free, but now I don't miss it at all! I did quickly discover the first time I made it that there was waaaaaay too much stuffing (as a few others have mentioned), so now I only make about a third of the bread crumb/stuffing mixture. Other than that, it's a great recipe. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tc T. December 22, 2015

It is eh... I like the seasoning but I feel it made to much and it was really wet. I feel I was suppose to press some water out but was not said in the directions. I couldn't get it to roll and ended up putting it in pans. Took forever to cook as just to wet after the time said. May try to press next time or just not make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany M. November 26, 2015

Such a lovely roast. This recipe has made my Thanksgiving the last three years running. The meatheads love it just as much as I do, too. Thanks for this awesome take on tofurkey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop November 23, 2011

Really nice and worth the effort. This was my second time making it and I would agree with other reviewers that it's a bit salty- will have to remember that for Christmas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IandMe October 10, 2011

This was so fun to make! Just made it for Christmas dinner. I followed this recipe, taking note of the comments by other reviewers, and put it together using this woman's method: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AD9KmClX1Y . I have to say, I thought it was pretty adorable. I too used more tofu than in the recipe, and omitted agar agar since I didn't have any. The consistency was great and so tasty. For the stuffing I used spelt bread (#130875) which has loads of nuts and seeds in it. My only critique is that the overall taste is quite salty so I would be careful with that 1 tsp of salt, or even omit it all together next time. The picture I've posted was taken after the first baking, which was the night before our dinner. It was great to just throw it into the oven on Xmas day and not have to do anything but baste! Thanks and Happy New Year! UPDATE: made this again Dec 09 and followed your "log" method...like it better! It makes quite a few servings so I was able to cut it into 2 lovely looking roasts for 2 different dinners. It keeps really well. thx again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner December 26, 2009

This is such a great recipe. I have used it for two years in a row and just enjoy it so much. Guests are so surprised that it tastes so good! Thanks so much. The only downside is after freezing one and eating it some weeks later the stuffing was a bit too dry. But other than that, it is great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hydelrose November 30, 2009

This was amazing! I tried it at easter for myself and a few vegans. They loved it too. I made 2 smaller ones and froze one for later. Next time I'll make 4. The recipe was a bit time consuming, but very easy to make. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meal Guru July 16, 2009

I tried this for the first time. It was easy to make. The bread is wonderful I am get ready to make it again. The tofu was good I would have add a little more salt or something a little bland. The dressing was the best I have had in a long time. I left the mushrooms out and used broccoli. I will be using this one again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maemeee December 28, 2008

We are new to vegan and did not know what to expect. Overall it went really well. I definitely needed two hands to fold it over and wrap, but it worked out with help. The only things I would change about the recipe is that I would double the "turkey� portion, spicy up the stuffing with some vegetables, dried fruit and nuts and cut the salt to about half as much. Other than that it was a really great first Tofurkey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMuchetti December 17, 2008
Tofu Turkey Roast (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Vegan )