Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2008

      My first foray into tofu for Meatless Monday and I really wish there was a 4 and a half star rating. This was really good, my husband even said it was "good" instead of his usual "it's OK". I agree that it was a bit bland, so I added 1 Tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 1/4 tsp of cayenne. Next time I think I'll use lemon juice. I was out of tomato paste, so I used a full Tbsp of ketchup and the tomato flavor was very subdued. I also used 2 portobella mushroom caps b/c I don't really use white mushrooms anymore. They added a nice mushroomy flavor. I will add this recipe to my regular lineup. Thanks for something tasty and meatless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Really liked this one. The only change I made was to saute a minced garlic clove with the onion. My husband, who is not a vegetarian like I am, really liked this dish. Next time, in addition to adding the minced garlic, I would use half the tomato paste called for and would double the sour cream from 1/2 cup to 1 cup. All in all, a really nice dish. Thanks, Kozmic Blues, for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I really liked this, although I'm not sure that I would make it again. Nothing wrong with it. It's very good, but it didn't completely wow me. I believe that it could use a little more zing. Not sure what it needs. Maybe I will try again afterall and see if I can tweak it a little, because I like the basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Lovely, flavorful tofu dish! I used smoked tofu so I could skip the pressing. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste, added a dash of nutmeg, and used red wine instead of white. We really enjoyed it, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      This went together pretty easily; I, too, spent some time draining the tofu and even put it in a colandar after cooking to get more of the moisture out. I really enjoyed the tofu and mushrooms together, but I think next time I would use curry paste in place of the paprika. The paprika just didn't do this dish justice. Also, I'm not sure why its called stroganoff, as it didn't remind me of stroganoff at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      I froze, boiled, and pressed the tofu first; then made the recipe as written. I thought there was something missing. I could not taste the mushrooms, the sourcream flavor was quite prominent. Maybe some garlic next time. I was disappointed with the presentation, it needed color. Green/red peppers perhaps, added toward the end, when the tofu is returned to the pan. I WILL make this again, because it's really easy, but with some adjustments. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      This is a good dish but I couldn't give it 5 stars. I think 1 T. tomato paste is too much. It makes it too tomatoey. I added a fat clove of garlic which I think helped. Also, the tofu needs to be pressed and drained of all water. A good way to do this is put the tofu on a plate and weigh it down with something quite heavy with no paper towels. I use a big iron skillet. After about 15 minutes a puddle of water will have collected. Pour it off and weigh down again. Wait 20 minutes and pour water off. Now press between several layers of paper towels or a kitchen towel. If you just try to press using paper towels before you first press out all the water, you can use a gazillion paper towels trying to soak up all the water. All in all this is a tasty dish and can be great with a few changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      This is utterly delicious, light, and satisfying. Very nice blend of flavors. I yogurt in place of half of the sour cream. Takes a little time to make but is pretty simple, and well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I would give more stars if it were possible. This is the best recipe I have made in quite some time. My husband and I are trying to eat better, so I bought some tofu and had no idea what to do with it. This was so good, my husband (who can be picky) loved it, and so did I. Thanks so much for posting this, I will definately make this again, many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      all I can say it wow! this was absolutely delicious, and the instructions were very simple and easy to follow. Im usually not a big fan of tofu as a meat substitute, but this turns out beautifully, and masks the tofu flavor. thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      My son and I just love this meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.2
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    43%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 45.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 71.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes