19 Reviews

This was such a big hit in my family, that I was asked to make it three times in two weeks and my partner is a very picky eater. To help the tofu crisp a little bit i added 1 tbspn cornstarch to the chili powder as i mixed it into the tofu. i also found using a potato masher gave me a head start in breaking it into tiny little pieces. They have come out juicy and great tasting everytime. We serve it over fritos with some cheese and sour cream on top.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual August 20, 2008

Thanks for a great recipe!
I've made this twice and I love it!! Just for fun, I make these into lettuce wraps.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sorrie Lue July 24, 2011

With a couple changes (thanks to previous reviews for advice!), this recipe was really tasty! I froze the tofu then tossed it in the food processor to easily crumble it up. I also added the one tbsp of cornstarch to the chili powder. To give it that extra depth of flavor some people said it needed, I added about 2-3 tbsp of worcestershire sauce and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I topped with smoked cheddar cheese and put on toasted wheat buns.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebaRooRoo August 22, 2010

I liked these a lot and what surprised me most was MY two-year old sat down and started chowing down immediately, which she never does especially with anything with a bun. I added Worstechire, but I hear that some good BBQ sauce (Bone-sucking sauce preferably) can make it better. It needs a little more taste, but that coulda been me! Great recipe- will make soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cristymcgoff June 01, 2009

A nice recipe, but nothing special -- it's nice as a filler, but I didn't think the taste was that good. Nice structure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is This Really Necessary January 16, 2004

This was my second attempt at working with tofu. I was unable to get the tofu to crisp, which was not too unexpected, but I was fine with the results - not crispy, but not soggy either. <br/>My wife thought it tasted more like a chicken parm dish. I didn't disagree and that taste was just fine by us. Although the meal was not anything amazing in our eyes, it will definitely come to the table again! It was easy to make and fairly enjoyable to eat. Next time. I'll try adding the Worcestershire sauce, as others have mentioned, and some corn, some low fat cheddar and a bit of hot sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bljjc March 22, 2013

Great recipe! It is quick and easy to make, and really hits the spot. I am vegetarian, and am always looking for new and easy recipes that are full of protein. I will definitely be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_chef November 06, 2011

This was our first meal with tofu. I halved the recipe, just to be on the safe side. It turned out to be pretty good. Hubby had two sandwiches, my 9 year old son gobbled his down and I was pleased. The only problem I had was I'm not crazy about the texture of tofu straight out of the package, and had to get past that while eating my sandwich. Plus, I'm not big on diced tomatoes. Next time, I'll used tomato puree.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilBit6_2 July 12, 2011

A , I am new to cooking with tofu, and this recipe is amazing! I made it exactly as directed, I even forgot it was tofu a few times while eating this. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Duffyanne June 25, 2011

I am sorry, must be 'cooker's' error but this recipe did not work for me. I used extra firm tofu - froze it first based on reviewer's recomendations - then crumbled. But I had a nightmare of a time frying it.... most of it turned to mush as I cooked it, and instead of getting browned crispy pieces I got a burnt-on layer with soft stuff on top. When I added tomatoes, the burnt on layer came up and ruined the taste of the entire dish. I used a calphalon fry pan b/c it is my best pan for browning, and a generous amount of olive oil. I made sure the pan and then the oil were hot before adding the tofu. Guess I need more practice cooking tofu.... maybe I should have used a non-stick pan?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee November 11, 2009
Tofu Sloppy Joes