Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2008

      This was such a big hit in my family, that I was asked to make it three times in two weeks and my partner is a very picky eater. To help the tofu crisp a little bit i added 1 tbspn cornstarch to the chili powder as i mixed it into the tofu. i also found using a potato masher gave me a head start in breaking it into tiny little pieces. They have come out juicy and great tasting everytime. We serve it over fritos with some cheese and sour cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      A nice recipe, but nothing special -- it's nice as a filler, but I didn't think the taste was that good. Nice structure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      This was my second attempt at working with tofu. I was unable to get the tofu to crisp, which was not too unexpected, but I was fine with the results - not crispy, but not soggy either. <br/>My wife thought it tasted more like a chicken parm dish. I didn't disagree and that taste was just fine by us. Although the meal was not anything amazing in our eyes, it will definitely come to the table again! It was easy to make and fairly enjoyable to eat. Next time. I'll try adding the Worcestershire sauce, as others have mentioned, and some corn, some low fat cheddar and a bit of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Great recipe! It is quick and easy to make, and really hits the spot. I am vegetarian, and am always looking for new and easy recipes that are full of protein. I will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Thanks for a great recipe!
      I've made this twice and I love it!! Just for fun, I make these into lettuce wraps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      This was our first meal with tofu. I halved the recipe, just to be on the safe side. It turned out to be pretty good. Hubby had two sandwiches, my 9 year old son gobbled his down and I was pleased. The only problem I had was I'm not crazy about the texture of tofu straight out of the package, and had to get past that while eating my sandwich. Plus, I'm not big on diced tomatoes. Next time, I'll used tomato puree.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      A , I am new to cooking with tofu, and this recipe is amazing! I made it exactly as directed, I even forgot it was tofu a few times while eating this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      With a couple changes (thanks to previous reviews for advice!), this recipe was really tasty! I froze the tofu then tossed it in the food processor to easily crumble it up. I also added the one tbsp of cornstarch to the chili powder. To give it that extra depth of flavor some people said it needed, I added about 2-3 tbsp of worcestershire sauce and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I topped with smoked cheddar cheese and put on toasted wheat buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I am sorry, must be 'cooker's' error but this recipe did not work for me. I used extra firm tofu - froze it first based on reviewer's recomendations - then crumbled. But I had a nightmare of a time frying it.... most of it turned to mush as I cooked it, and instead of getting browned crispy pieces I got a burnt-on layer with soft stuff on top. When I added tomatoes, the burnt on layer came up and ruined the taste of the entire dish. I used a calphalon fry pan b/c it is my best pan for browning, and a generous amount of olive oil. I made sure the pan and then the oil were hot before adding the tofu. Guess I need more practice cooking tofu.... maybe I should have used a non-stick pan?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I liked these a lot and what surprised me most was MY two-year old sat down and started chowing down immediately, which she never does especially with anything with a bun. I added Worstechire, but I hear that some good BBQ sauce (Bone-sucking sauce preferably) can make it better. It needs a little more taste, but that coulda been me! Great recipe- will make soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Recipes like this make me look forward with enthusiasm to "Tofu Tuesdays"! I froze the tofu, drained it when it was 3/4 thawed, then pulsed it in the food processor to crumble it. I also added cornstarch and some Worcestershire sauce. Delicious!!! I couldn't tell the difference in flavor or texture from the ground turkey I usually use. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I added a little worcestershire and deli mustard. I had no problems with dryness and let it simmer for the extra tomato juice to cook down. Next time I will try adding the cornstarch Rev Dr J recommended. All my carnivores loved it and my husband couldn't believe it didn't have any meat in it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Not bad, although I thought the 4 tbsp of chili powder made it way too salty. I also added 1 onion and 1 green pepper, which made the 1 package of tofu not enough. I didn't add mustard of ketchup, but next time I will try it with the mustard. I also had trouble getting the tofu crispy, and my sloppy joes turned out a little dry. Will try again, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I love tofu, but was skeptical about using it in this way--I usually use it in Asian stir-frys. I was pleasantly surprised, though, because it was terrific for sloppy joes! I didn't have any trouble getting the tofu crispy because I halved it and used two pans to fry it. The extra surface area and uncrowded pans allowed it to crisp up nicely. I also froze the tofu beforehand to give it a crumbly, meatier texture. I added a little hot sauce after simmering to make it spicy. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      What a nice surprise! These actually look like real sloppy joes, and there is very little tofu taste in them. I simmered 30 minutes, so perhaps longer simmering will eliminate the tofu taste completely. I did have trouble getting the tofu crispy, and finally gave up, but the end result was yummy! I'll be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      Really great tofu recipe. I served it over toasted English muffins. There were no leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      Absolutely delicious and so easy to make! It only took about thirty minutes to prepare because I did not leave it to simmer, it was still great. I used maybe a quarter of a white onion. I served it on toasted onion buns with a little Veganaise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2003

      I wish everyone would try this recipe! I used a refridgerated package lite firm tofu, 2 14 1/2 oz slightly drained cans of no salt added diced tomatoes, bottled garlic, 1 tbsp no salt added ketchup, a bit of dried mustard and regular, 1 tsp Enova oil, one very small onion and 4 tbsp of chili powder. All I can say is yum! I am with theresa p when I say I cannot wait til leftovers! My husband is still skeptical about soy and tofu, but recipes like this make beleivers! Thank you very much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      I made this today and can't WAIT for leftovers for lunch tomorrow !!! This was great and I will be making it again.This is totally terrific!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.4
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    36%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites