16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry. I have tried several vegetarian and vegan meatball recipes, and been overall happy with all of them. These fell short for me. It was so obvious they were made of oatmeal. They were dry and grainy, and as others said they don't have much flavor. They looked nice, and I will take the tip about browning quickly in a pan before baking to my other balls that tend to flatten a bit in the oven. Perhaps if they simmered in sauce for a while it would give them some moisture and extra flavor. I did take some and bake them with shells in sauce. It helped, but they still aren't the right ones for us. Thanks for the recipe all the same!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 10, 2011

Awesome! The pecans give it such a different taste. Note this though: they don't have the exact texture as regular meatballs. I do recommend following the recipe accordingly and use FIRM tofu. Seriously, do not give a bad review until you've tried the recipe as written. Doesn't make sense! I think they tasted even better after they've been frozen. I love to throw them in a bean and pasta soup. I'm vegan and needed a meatball substitute. Reminds me, I need to buy more tofu to make these again. They store in the freezer just fine, btw.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista December 29, 2009

I made these with silken tofu as some users suggested and the result was a little strange. They were kind of soft and mushy, and had a tanginess I didn't care for. Where did I go wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spacekadet September 10, 2009

As a vegetarian, I've tried a lot of different "meat"ball recipes, and my husband, bless him, has seen me through them all. Tonight, he said these are the best I've made! I, like another reviewer, used silken tofu and omitted the water and it worked perfectly. I also only had 1 cup of oatmeal on hand, so I used two tablespoons of all purpose gluten free (Pamela's) flour and it turned out perfectly. Thank you so much! This will be a staple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
garafon August 15, 2009

This is a good base recipe. The balls have a great texture and are pretty versitile. I would like to really add some flavor to them. I'd love to hear suggestions about different spice combinations people have tried. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender May 01, 2008

just what i was looking for! i used silken style tofu and omitted the 1/2 c water...worked out beautifully. we enjoyed them as a main meal focus with green salad and hot quinoa. a couple of choices of chutney and dijon mustard spiced them up a bit...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melon cake March 31, 2008

I substituted hazelnuts for pecans and added more spices (cumin, basil, thyme,..) and served the balls in a tomato sauce with spaghetti. Everybody liked them, it is the best tofu recipe I tried so far!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flowerfairy February 09, 2008

I used this recipe for my first attempt at making vegetarian meatball alternatives. They were very good and easy to make. They're quite mild tasting, and I'll probably play around with the spices to punch them up a bit next time, maybe adding some finely diced, sauteed onions to the mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie January 30, 2008

I have to write fast because my non-vegetarian husband is scarfing these before I can get to them! Instead of sage, oregano, & lemon, I used onion powder, italian seasoning, and a liberal sprinkling of a Grill Mates chipotle pepper marinade packet. It added some smokiness to the mix which I liked. I will be using this again! Thanks, P_S!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honeywine December 19, 2007

Yummy! I added vegetarian "chicken" stock powder and nutritional yeast to the mix and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harry's Girl November 27, 2007
Tofu Nut Balls