Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Nut Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Nut Balls

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2011

      Sorry. I have tried several vegetarian and vegan meatball recipes, and been overall happy with all of them. These fell short for me. It was so obvious they were made of oatmeal. They were dry and grainy, and as others said they don't have much flavor. They looked nice, and I will take the tip about browning quickly in a pan before baking to my other balls that tend to flatten a bit in the oven. Perhaps if they simmered in sauce for a while it would give them some moisture and extra flavor. I did take some and bake them with shells in sauce. It helped, but they still aren't the right ones for us. Thanks for the recipe all the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Awesome! The pecans give it such a different taste. Note this though: they don't have the exact texture as regular meatballs. I do recommend following the recipe accordingly and use FIRM tofu. Seriously, do not give a bad review until you've tried the recipe as written. Doesn't make sense! I think they tasted even better after they've been frozen. I love to throw them in a bean and pasta soup. I'm vegan and needed a meatball substitute. Reminds me, I need to buy more tofu to make these again. They store in the freezer just fine, btw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I made these with silken tofu as some users suggested and the result was a little strange. They were kind of soft and mushy, and had a tanginess I didn't care for. Where did I go wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      As a vegetarian, I've tried a lot of different "meat"ball recipes, and my husband, bless him, has seen me through them all. Tonight, he said these are the best I've made! I, like another reviewer, used silken tofu and omitted the water and it worked perfectly. I also only had 1 cup of oatmeal on hand, so I used two tablespoons of all purpose gluten free (Pamela's) flour and it turned out perfectly. Thank you so much! This will be a staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This is a good base recipe. The balls have a great texture and are pretty versitile. I would like to really add some flavor to them. I'd love to hear suggestions about different spice combinations people have tried. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      just what i was looking for! i used silken style tofu and omitted the 1/2 c water...worked out beautifully. we enjoyed them as a main meal focus with green salad and hot quinoa. a couple of choices of chutney and dijon mustard spiced them up a bit...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I substituted hazelnuts for pecans and added more spices (cumin, basil, thyme,..) and served the balls in a tomato sauce with spaghetti. Everybody liked them, it is the best tofu recipe I tried so far!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I used this recipe for my first attempt at making vegetarian meatball alternatives. They were very good and easy to make. They're quite mild tasting, and I'll probably play around with the spices to punch them up a bit next time, maybe adding some finely diced, sauteed onions to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      I have to write fast because my non-vegetarian husband is scarfing these before I can get to them! Instead of sage, oregano, & lemon, I used onion powder, italian seasoning, and a liberal sprinkling of a Grill Mates chipotle pepper marinade packet. It added some smokiness to the mix which I liked. I will be using this again! Thanks, P_S!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Yummy! I added vegetarian "chicken" stock powder and nutritional yeast to the mix and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      After I started preparing I realized that we were out of pecans, so I used walnuts instead. It came out pretty well, and worked even though I used only a minimum of olive oil for the skillet. Nice substitute, and I'll definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

    • on September 13, 2005

      I was suprised at how well these held together, while frying and even when reheated in tomato sauce! The flavor is mild, and very good. These are the BEST veg meatballs! Thanks Sally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      These are good! I made 4 big burgers. The mixture is nice and cohesive; it holds together well when forming and fries without falling apart. I used ground almonds, only 1/2 cup, and fresh purple sage and fresh oregano, doubling the herb measures. I put the herbs in the blender with the oats and ground them up together. I fried one burger. The others I baked at 350F, brushing them well with olive oil first. I ate mine plain, enjoying the various delicate flavors. I'm happy to have another good vegetarian meatball/burger recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      I didn,t have pecans, so used almonds and they worked fine.I'm always looking for new ways to cook with tofu so thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      Made these tonight with a home-made spicy tomato sauce with spaghetti noodles and really enjoyed them. Will be keeping this recipe, it could also probably be adapted to make hamburger-style patties for a barbeque with lots of salad on a crusty roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Nut Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (609 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 88.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    61%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 38.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites