Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Loaf

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2008

      this is ok - texture could use a little improvement, but has pretty good flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Enjoyed this a lot! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was lacking something, it was very soft and the texture took away from the flavor's appeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      I just became a vegetarian and have never eaten tofu before. I just made this and had a slice. I loved it!! Very tasty. I changed a couple of things in the recipe. I used 1 cup of bread crumbs plus a 1/2 cup of rolled oats. Used a shallot instead of an onion and added two egg whites. The texture is perfect. It is moist and it held together. I did press the tofu before baking to get out the water. I am so happy with this recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      thank you for sharing, I have made this twice. Even meat loving man, enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I had to modify this because it did not want to bind. I ended up using Eggbeaters and a bit more 'store bought' breadcrumbs to create a paste to bind. It went ok after that however before that it just wouldn't bind. I pressed the tofu well. I used a gourmet ketchup with a strong hint of nutmeg, Dijon mustard, Braggs [a very low sodium soy sauce], green onions [white and green], and real garlic minced fine. The flavor was nice but after adding the commerical crumbs I tossed in Mrs. Dash tomato & basil [since the commercial bread crumbs were Italian] along with the Onion and Herb. It was a 5 star combo of taste at that point. With the egg crumb paste it created a nice binding texture in the uncooked version. When I try again I will use a silken and see if that helps the binding. Sadly as is with the binding problem I had to give it 3 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      This was an excellent tofu loaf--moist, not too mushy, and very tasty. I've made tofu loaf before and it always came out very soggy; this time, I pressed the tofu and soaked up extra water with paper towels before mixing all the ingredients together. I used only nonstick spray on my pan, rather than adding the oil, and added just a bit more ketchup, with a sprinkle of paprika. I did leave out the onion but used onion powder instead. This was just fantastic, and I used it warm on top of a salad with lettuce and sauteed arugula. The mixture of spices and crunch really made a satisfying dinner. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      I thought this was excellent. I added some liquid egg substitute as binder and used more rolled oats (quick cooking) than the recipe called for. Also greased the pan with margarine rather than oil - it didn't stick at all. Yummy. Can't wait for the next-day sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.8
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    27%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1309.1 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes