Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Lasagna Filling (ricotta Substitute) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Lasagna Filling (ricotta Substitute)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2013

      Great recipe! I used it for stuffed manicotti. I did decrease the amount of garlic powder to 1/2 teaspoon though. On my bottle it said 1 clove of garlic = 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder. So.....1 Tablespoon would be equal to 24 cloves of garlic if I did my math right, haha?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      This is REMARKABLY similar to the real thing in texture and taste. I used extra firm tofu and just as a preference, I omitted oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      I LOVE the idea, as my DD has a dairy allergy. I tried it with a 12 oz box of Tofu, but it had quite a bite. I need to either reduce the spices, or up the tofu. I used it in a ham/mashed potatoe casserole and it was good. I will rate once I try it again, but I think this is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Awesome! Used it to make whole wheat calzones. Added soy parmesan, soy mozzarella and a crumbled Boca All American burger. Very yummy with some tomato sauce on the side for dipping Can't wait to try it in lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      I mixed it with spinach and made a veggie lasagna with Daiya Italian. I am kinda lukewarm on ricotta, but I liked this much better. In fact, probably the best lasagna I have eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was perfect. I used it in my favorite lasagna recipe and didn't notice any difference. I used soft tofu, in a blender and I thought the texture was pretty good, but I think next time I will try medium to try and get a slightly closer match in texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This stuff is great. I used it in a zucchini/eggplant bake last week. Tonight I made "ricotta" balls, mixing this tofu stuff with breadcrumbs and baking for 30 minutes. It was delicious with linguini and marinara sauce. Great sub for ricotta. Can't wait to make some stuffed shells or lasagna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I used extra firm tofu, and the texture came out grate. It didn't blend well in a regular blender for lack of liquids. Perhaps a food processor would have been better, or a hand blender. All it needed was some salt- but we all loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Great sub for ricotta! Would be great to use 1/2 this and 1/2 ricotta for non-veggies- in order to increase soy in your diet. Was a a little thin so I added some seasoned bread crumbs to make it thicker. Some shredded or chopped fresh spinach would be great in here too! Thanks for a healthier choice Hadice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Lasagna Filling (ricotta Substitute)

    Serving Size: 1 (495 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.4
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    63%
    Total Fat 30.7 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 43.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 32.1 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites