Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu General Tso's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu General Tso's

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2012

      Delicious! The tofu was light and crispy, and the sauce was thick and tasty, but not too sweet. Easy to make. I'm sure it would be delicious with chicken, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Too salty!! 1/2 cup of soy sauce is way too much. Soy sauce is very flavorful and a little goes a long way. There is another General Tso's Tofu recipe on recipezaar that has proportions that sound a lot more normal. About 2 tablespoons vs. 1/2 cup of soy sauce. I felt awful pouring out almost my entire bottle. Almost inedible due to too much sodium. Must go drink water now and go shopping for soy sauce. Also, didn't have rice vinegar so used apple vinegar instead. It was way too sour and had to balance with sugar. Used 3 tablespoons of apple vinegar and it was still too salty. Rice vinegar must be a lot more mild and less sour. Also added green onions/ scallions, which didn't add or take away from the flavour. The green color was nice though. Overall, the color, consistency, and feel was right on. Felt like a real chef in a Chinese restaurant in my own home. But, in my opinion, was way too salty but depends on your palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I made this for the first time today without marinading it. I didn't have any Chili Oil and I think it tasted fine without it. (but I will try it with some if I pick up a bottle) I had a bowl full of egg leftover, so next time I will just use one egg to coat the tofu. It was tasty. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      honestly, since the tofu is already very absorbent, there is no need to marinate the tofu. I tried it without marinating it and it tasted amazing. I made it a second time and marinated the tofu, but found that it burned too easily when I fried it and the flavor was too strong and also there was barely any sauce left. it is a good recipe, but I wouldn't marinate the tofu next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      this is the best vegan recipe i have found for general tso's tofu. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Yummy! This is so awesome and I hate tofu! I used 2 tbsp chili oil and thought it was great, but for my daughter and other normal people, they thought it was a little too spicy. Next time I will only use 1 tbsp. We all thought it a tad too sweet, but I think that was from my soy sauce which is Aloha Shoyu. Shoyu is sweeter than regular soy sauce. I fried the tofu until golden brown. Next time I will fry till crispy even if they are a darker brown. I liked the few smaller pieces that were crunchy. Thank you so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      delicious! i froze and thawed the tofu before cooking it up so the texture was amazingly yummy, and the recipe is awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      Yummy! A nice sub for meat, great flavor. I served this with noodles and spinach, and a salad. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Easy to make and a nice addictive flavor. I can't compare it to the chicken because I don't think I ever tried it. This makes me wish I did. Nice heat from the chili oil and Dark Sesame oil. Not hot but just a warmth. Will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu General Tso's

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 871.3
     
    Calories from Fat 495
    56%
    Total Fat 55.0 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 124.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2751.9 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 35.2 g
    141%
    Protein 22.5 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes