11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'll admit, I am a foodie and modified this recipe quite a bit after reading previous reviews, but it was DELICIOUS so I wanted to share. I used about 1 1/2 cups of basmati rice. I used 2 tsps of fresh minced garlic and 1 tsp of fresh minced ginger because fresh is always better! I also added 2 chopped poblano peppers and 1 chopped red bell pepper when I sautéed the vegetables. I also substituted canola oil for vegetable oil and omitted the sesame oil. I used regular tofu, not low-fat, and it took quite a bit longer to brown. The end result was delicious and much healthier than traditional fried rice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessieGeorges April 02, 2014

Updating this review to add a star after making this a second time. The first time I tried this recipe exactly as written, and it needed some kick on the seasoning. The second time I added ginger to the oil I used to sautee the tofu and added chili powder to the vegetables while they were cooking. The end result was so fantastic, it didn't last long at all. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough December 09, 2010

I admit, I used a frozen stir-fry mix, and leftover brown rice, but the flavors were delicious. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 May 24, 2010

The tofu fans in the house enjoyed this. It was a bit bland for my taste, so next time I'd add more hoisin sauce, and some crushed red pepper for heat. Also, my tofu didn't brown in just 7 minutes. I really enjoyed the large amount of green onions, and thats what saved this dish for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey February 14, 2008

loved it! used black bean sauce instead of hoisin; also added a dash of pepper and chinese five spice to the mix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodisGood October 23, 2007

Awesome. Awesome. Awesome. Did I mention awesome? This was easy, fast and delicious. The leftovers were excellent too. I made this exactly as written but I didn't have hoisin sauce so I used oyster sauce instead (I have no idea if these are reasonable substitues for each other but they were about the same color and consistency I tried it). Trust me, MAKE THIS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender September 23, 2007

Yum, yum, yum! My tofu took longer to cook and I used brown rice, but otherwise we followed this recipe exactly and it is wonderful. We doubled the recipe and served seven people easily. Just had to do an update -- we make this about 3 times a week now. I like using the frozen brown rice (Whole Foods) that you zap in the microwave). I saute chopped onions or shallots instead of green onions. A great dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lowfat Linda November 13, 2006

This was a nice veggie dinner, but the flavour was little too subtle for me to have as a main dish. I added extra soy and tabasco, and next time I will make more sauce and double the ginger and garlic. I also halved the recipe to serve just me with some leftovers, but half would easily have served 3 hungry people!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neever August 21, 2006

This was delicious! Since it was just me, I halved the recipe, and couldn't help but finish it off. And it was so quick to make. Thanks for sharing! I highly recommend this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
This Spatula June 10, 2006

On the mild side to be sure, but tasty nonetheless. I halved this recipe for the two of us, and added a quarter teaspoon of red pepper flakes and the full tablespoon of hoisin sauce (Lee Kum Kee brand, I recommend it). Served with extra soy sauce on the table. My BF, who prefers milder dishes than I do, liked this quite a bit. Very good recipe for a family with kids. I served it with a vegetable side. Thank you LonghornMama:D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend April 14, 2006
Tofu Fried Rice (from Cooking Light)