9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVED IT!!! Thank yo uso much for posting this recipe. I did add a full roasted garlic and mushrooms with tons of parsley and basil. I don't think I would have known it was tofu if I didn't put it in myself. HUSBAND APPROVED!!!! (Although I have a very tolerent husband who will try anything.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winnipeg March 02, 2011

A quick and delicious recipe. I used all Parmesan cheese and it still turned out great! Thanks for a low fat version of a family favorite :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Criseyde'sMom November 23, 2009

I made this because vegetarian DD loves alfredo and I have had good luck using silken tofu in other blender recipes. I was pleased with how easy it was to prepare, however, it was not popular with our family. We tried adding more parmesan at the table, which helped. Everybody ate it, but they don't want me to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl March 03, 2009

When this was cooking the complaint was that it didn't look like enough sauce. That said, it really was plenty. While it didn't taste exactly like true alfredo, it had a nice taste and good consistency. I chose the recipe mainly to use up a box of tofu in my cabinet, but I would actually buy more tofu just for this recipe. Hey, the kids ate it willingly which is good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit January 07, 2009

I've made this twice now. You definitely know it's not real alfredo, but I'm not sure that's a big problem. I add nutmeg and pepper to it, and I have been using 16 oz tofu because that's the size it seems to come in around here. This last time I pureed a whole head of roasted garlic into the sauce as well. It is true, as another has stated, that it is best fresh and hot (in terms of consistency). We have been doing a lot of running lately, and the recommendation has been to eat a good protein meal the evening after the longer (10-11 mile) runs. This has good healthy protein, some carbs, and, along with some broccoli, is just a very healthy and satisfying meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville February 24, 2008

Thank you for posting this! Fettuccine Alfredo used to be one of my favorite foods, but then the amount of fat in it scared me well away. This is just as good and really hit the spot. I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 12, 2008

This was our first foray in to cooking woth tofu and overall we were happy with the results. It is not quite the same taste or texture wise as traditional alfredo sauce however the savings on fat and calories are a plus - and are what will drive us to likely make this again. The recipe was made as written save using all parmesan instead of the parmesan and romano mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos January 20, 2008

This sauce was very, very good despite being much lower in fat than regular Alfredo. BF and I both highly endorse this recipe. It was easy to make too. I used a bit less olive oil and cheese, onion flakes instead of powder (was what I had) and the parmesan and romano cheese combination. I'm not sure how to measure 2 cups of fettuccine (or is it fettuccini? - no, I don't know from Italian:D) so I served it over 6 ounces pasta for the two of us. It was amazing how well the blended tofu mimicked the consistency of a good Alfredo sauce, and the two cheeses provided all of the necessary taste. I didn't bother mincing the garlic since I figured the blender would do it for me. BF and I were both pleased to have such a healthful alternative to traditional Alfredo sauce. We served it with some fat free veggie soup for an extremely satisfying Fall dinner. Thanks, I'd make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend November 21, 2007

I fixed this for our meal tonight, and we LOVED IT! I can't say that I measured the recipe exactly, in fact there was alot of garlic (3 big cloves), and since I had no Romano cheese, I used Asiago with the Parmesan. We will have this again soon. Thanks for sharing Lauralie (we must be related somewhere---ha!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee June 17, 2006
Tofu Fettuccini Alfredo