Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Egg Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Egg Salad

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2008

      I enjoyed this recipe as much as my vegan son did too. Halving this was easy, and followed this exactly, except I mixed a mustard mixture of half horseradish mustard to half dijon. (used a 1 and 1/2 tablespoon of this mixture) and the cayenne pepper was great too. Used a organic canola mayo, and nicely crumbled tofu with some celery added along with the green onion. Put on top of a tomato slice and salad greens. Thanks Kozmic! Will make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      Not bad! I am eating for lunch right now, and have more for tomorrow. While I like it, and will probably make it again, I will make some changes. Likely will chill on the dill and cut the mustard. :) Those 2 flavors are completely overpowering, to me, so I'll lessen them both. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Absolutely amazing. I was extremely skeptical when I first saw this recipe, thinking it would taste good, but be nothing like real egg salad. I couldn't even tell the difference, and neither could my boyfriend! I added in some celery, red pepper, sweet relish, and lemon juice. I also wasn't shy with the spices. This is DEFINITELY going to be a new staple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I had started to add this recipe to the website when I double checked to see if it was in here already because my Mother had it in her collection. When she first made this, she brought it into my store and told no one it was tofu, it was eaten up right away and then she revealed the main ingrediant. I added capers, a lttle garlic powder and a little onion powder. I also upped the amount of Dijon Mustard. I serve it on leaves of Endive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I can't believe how much I like this recipe, given that I have always hated real egg salad. I guess I just didn't like the egg part! And this review is before I've even allowed the flavors to meld--I bet this will be phenomenal by morning. I made this with only 1 lb of tofu and added finely chopped celery and red bell pepper. As for the spices, I just kept adding a little at a time till it tasted right. I'm looking forward to eating this tomorrow (if I can stay out of it till then)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      I LOVED this recipe! SO easy to fix and the taste was unbelievable for a tofu dish. I actually like this better than real egg salad. I made this and let sit overnight to meld. The spices and mustard really go wonderfully in this recipe. I used spicy brown mustard, low fat tofu and fat free mayo. Didn't use the green onions because I don't care for onions in my egg salad. Wrapped this delicious stuff in a lettuce leaf and ate as a wrap. I always have tofu on hand so this is a great find for me. This is one to keep made in the frig for a quick lunch or snack. Thank you so much for posting Kozmic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This tasted just great! Honestly it tasted just like an egg salad. Even my tofu- phobe friends & boyfriend enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I am trying to incorporate vegan recipes into my diet, and this is one of my first completely vegan attempts. I was really impressed by the Veganaise I bought, and I was able to get pre-cubed extra firm tofu, which was very convenient. I didn't have green onions, but I did add relish. Brought it to work in tupperware, toasted some sourdough bread in the lounge toaster, and made it into a very tasty sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      This was a great recipe. I loved it. Keeps weel in the fridge and makes great sandwiches. With just a little mashing it even looked like egg salad, so no one at work even made any comments about tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      This was absolutely delicious! I can't believe how similar it tasted to real eggsalad! My daughter loves eggsalad sandwhiches, but we are trying to eat less dairy. The second time we made this we tryed it with rye bread and added some roasted sunflower seeds on top that tasted wonderful. This will be a regualar in our home from now on. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I have been making somethig similar since I found this salad in the stores couple of years ago. But the turmeric and the pepper gave a nice touch to it! Thank you for posting this! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      I love you!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have a egg allergy, and still crave eggs endlessly especially egg salad!!! I have purchased this salad before and and wished I could figure it out. You have mastered it! I did add more mayo to get the consistency that I like, I also added 8-10 canned asparagus spears (soft and salty) chopped into 1 or 2 inch pieces and half a green pepper cut into small pieces because that is the way the store made it. I had it for a quick dinner on a hectic night even my 12 year old was willing to try a bite (and he is picky). I enjoyed it with some sea salt rice crisp crackers. Wonderful!!! I can't wait to take it to work tomorrow. Thank you, you are a life saver, to think I was almost desperate enough to bare the brunt of my allergy for a little satisfaction.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Delicious! Another way to get soy into my diet. I only used one package of tofu (14 ounces) and added lots of chopped celery. I like spicy stuff, but cut back on the cayenne. I drain my tofu, too. It made a nice breakfast on top of some crispy crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I was definitely impressed! I'm not allergic, nor am I a vegan- but I want to try and eat healthier, so I decided to try this recipe to incorporate more tofu into my diet. I was shocked by how much it tastes like egg salad. I did modify it, but nothing major. Left out the cayenne because I don't like things that are hot. But I'll definitely make this one again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Wish I could rate this as highly as the other reviewers. It was quite good, but not great. I used low-fat mayo (was what I had), low-fat silken tofu (pressed for 1/2 hour), dried dill and added some relish as per another reviewer's comment. I also added 1/4 teaspoon cayenne, which made it too hot for my BF although it was fine for me. I did finish his portion though, it was too good to throw out:D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      So good! I was craving comfort food tomight and this did the trick! I didn't have any dijon on hand, so I added about a 1/2 tsp of Madras Curry Powder to the mix. It perked it up the way a good dijon would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      this is so tasty and so simple-- we all need more tofu in our lives!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      It's amazing! It tastes just like an egg salad sandwich! Thank you sooo much! I'm vegan but have missed egg salads.. not anymore. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      Kozmic Blues, this tofu egg salad is smashing. Like Roosie, I'm amazed that tofu can be coerced to taste (and look, for that matter) so much like eggs! Only changes I made were to roughly dice rather than mash the tofu, add a splash of tarragon wine vinegar, and I added half as much dijon and more mayo (Hellman's Just 2 Good). I sent this as a sandwich with my husband for lunch today. Will he notice that his egg salad sandwich has no egg?... Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      I've been making this for a few years, and was amused to see Tyler Florence fixing it on Food911 as if it were his discovery. :) I used to buy it in the store, Toby's brand. In any case, tofu "egg" salad is delicious! The only difference in how I make it is that I add some dried minced onion because I like the sweet little crunch they give, and sometimes I add a small amount of minced fennel bulb. Delicious! :) Also, I highly recommend Vegenaise brand vegetarian mayo - it's very low in fat and it tastes comparable to Best Foods or Hellmann's (and I'm a mayo snob, so you know it's gotta be good)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Egg Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.0
     
    Calories from Fat 287
    77%
    Total Fat 31.8 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 10.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 314.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites