Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Dream Pudding and Pie Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Dream Pudding and Pie Filling

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2007

      Pretty good - don't be tempted to make this with Stevia, though - much better with Splenda. I'm going to try the next batch of tofu pudding by melting unsweetened chocolate and sweetening it with Splenda - I do think chocolate will give a better texture than cocoa, but this sure works when you're in a hurry for a low-sugar chocolate fix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Unlike many reviewers, I followed this recipe exactly. I thought the texture was good, and the almond flavor was nice. Even though I used a good quality cocoa, the pudding still had a chalky taste. The taste improved somewhat after 24 hours of refrigeration. It seems like the Splenda users had better luck with this recipe. This recipe is pretty good, but I think I'll stick with my usual tofu pudding recipe that uses chocolate chips instead of cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      This was really good! I used light tofu and Splenda. To much almond extract flavor for my tastes, will cut back on that next time. I would like mine sweeter so will also add more Splenda or Stevia. I also had to add some soymilk. This is great, can't wait to experiment more with it! Thanks! UPDATE: I made this again using banana extract instead of the vanilla and almond. VERY good! I also added about 4 drops of liquid Stevia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      This is a great way to use up leftover silken tofu. I found that it needed a little extra sugar and a little soy milk, but the recipe was an excellent guide.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Delicious and EASY! I used Splenda and Ghiradelli chocolate. I had to add a little soy milk at first to get my blender to start mixing, which thinned the pudding a bit, but after 10 minutes in the fridge, it set right back up. We'll definitely be making this again. Anything that can be made in less than five minutes is worth keeping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      My growing intolerance for dairy has plunged me into the world of tofu and soy- substitutes. I "think" my lite silken tofu was not water packed. Hard to say given that most of the product labeling was not in English. Nonetheless, this quick chocolate fix was just scrumptious. I made a mini batch and used the Equal packets to taste. The results were smooth creamy and comforting. It was a cinch to whip up and knowing that it was far more healthful than regular pudding was a bonus. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Had some tofu to use so gave this a try not expecting too much. I used Ghirardelli ground chocolate and added more than indicated, because you can never have too much chocolate. The result was very, very tasty. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      The texture was outstanding, but the flavor was awful! The cocoa was chalky, and the extracts retained their alcoholic aftertaste. I just got some vanilla powder; I'm going to try that next. But I LOVE the base, I've never used silken tofu before so I'm excited about experimenting with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      This stuff is friggin' oustanding!! I'll never eat any other pudding again! And it's so easy...I used Splenda in place of sugar. I've tried this several times and found that substituting the cocoa powder with carob powder worked well, as did adding 2 tsp. peanut butter. I've also made vanilla pudding out of this by nixing the cocoa powder and upping the vanilla extract and sweetener...delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      Beautiful creamy texture, and extremely quick and easy to make in the food processor. I used Splenda sugar blend then added a some real sugar to taste. I was out of almond extract and used a bit of mint extract instead. I wasn't happy with the mint flavor, and will make the recipe as directed when I have almond extract. I think this will fool my husband into thinking it's regular pudding and not tofu. As much as I like chocolate, I'd also want to try substituting fresh berries. UPDATE: Finally made the recipe as directed, and it was great. I used slightly less cocoa powder. It's very good with almond extract, but I've also made it with banana extract -- I think I like that best. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This was the first time I ever bought tofu and it sounded like an easy recipe. I wonder what I did wrong. Mine tasted very chalky, not anything like pudding. And, it was grainy. No matter how much I blended I couldn't get it as smooth as real pudding. Maybe it was because I couldn't find "silken" tofu. The package just said "firm." Also, I couldn't get it sweet enough. I kept adding sugar then finally added a ground chocolate/sugar blend. I thought the almond extract taste was overpowering and I didn't even use as much as the recipe called for. And, I had a very hard time blending it. The recipe doesn't say to drain the tofu or not, so I did. Then I had to add a little water since my blender would not mix it. I have a very small food processor so I eventually moved it in small batches to the food processor and that worked better. So, maybe better equipment is required. Maybe I bought the wrong tofu or didn't use the right cocoa (I started with a mixture of Nestle and Hershey). Eventually I ended up with a good consistency. I put it in the fridge and it's somewhat smooth and thick, but, still grainy and chalky. I mix it with some whipped topping when I eat it and that helps a little, but it doesn't taste anything like mousse or pudding to me. I really want to get this to work, so I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      Tastes just like chocolate pudding! I used splenda and added a little Torani Sugar-free vanilla syrup instead of vanilla. A great dessert for those on a low calorie diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was very nice. It didn't taste like tofu at all, and had a rich, creamy texture. It would have been alot better if I hadn't used SOFT tofu---bad idea. I added cornstarch to thicken it up. Next time I will read the package more carefully. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Dream Pudding and Pie Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.7
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    29%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 43.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes