Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Dream Pudding and Pie Filling Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Dream Pudding and Pie Filling

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2010

      yum... make variations of this all the time- usually as a pie filling or frozen as a "ice cream" (*because pudding bores me and reminds me of school &/or hospital-lol*)... this time used xylitol and pinch of sea-salt, cayenne & cinnamon...made 1/2 batch...using it to top my raw banana "ice-cream" with a cashew whipped topping='s wickedly delicious ;) !! made for IRTG :) Thanks Doctor...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      I loved this, super easy and delicious!
      A couple notes though.
      1. I recommend Hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder so you don't get the "chalky" texture.
      2. Also refrigerating it at least 5 hours after making it will get you a "mousy" texture.
      3. I put all the ingredients in a blender on med-high and that mixed it very well.
      4. Feel free to use Stivia I used Sweet Leaf favored drops and it was very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I've made this with melted dark (vegan) chocolate rather than cocoa and some agave syrup instead of sugar which is really really good....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I make dessert with tofu cream style brand, In the FP I add some no sugar
      jam , adding fruits like banana, fresh strowberries, little fresh lemon
      juice, work the FP for about 2 minutes.
      transfer to a air tight container.
      Keep it in the fridge and you get great desert when ever you feel like
      eating somthing different and when you have lactose problems and you die to
      eat cream cheese that you are not allowed to have.
      Great substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      REALLY loved this. I'm a Nasoya fan myself, and was looking for a replacement for their Dark Chocolate Silken Tofu that our local store stopped carrying (of course, because I love it lol). I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa, which was good, but still a little chalky, next time I will be sure to use Ghiradelli's Cocoa. Had to leave out the almond extract because I didn't have any. I suspect it will be even better after it's had time to chill and set up a little more...If it makes it that long hehe. Thanks so much to you Dr for an awesome and super fast (healthy!) snack, and to everyone else for including their variations, I look forward to trying them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      Simple and Delicious!!!, I bought Mori-Nu brand tofu for the first time to make sweet and sour tofu, and when I opened it I found that it was firm silken tofu (I didn't read the label at the store) so I decided to make this recipe, and Im so glad I did it because this pudding its so creamy and tasty, I left the almond extract out because I didn't have any but the result was amazing, I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Wonderful! Was excited to find this recipe and even more excited to taste it. I made a half batch with some modifications for my own dietary restrictions and preferences: Xylitol instead of sugar (reduced amount), vanilla bean instead of extract, orange zest and some unsweetened coconut (instead of almond extract). I used Hershey's cocoa (reduced amount) and had good results. I just had a very generous helping of this pudding for breakfast. Went great with coffee :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. I had to use soft silken tofu and used rice syrup instead of sugar, but that worked great. Excellent recipe, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Wow! This pudding was great and so easy to make. I used TJ hot chocolate mix so I nixed the sugar and just put an extra tbls of cocoa in. I also didn't have almond extract so I added extra vanilla. It does have a sort of weird aftertaste from the vanilla extract. Next time I'll try it with vanilla powder. I bet it would taste fantastic. In fact, I bet a vanilla pudding made this way with vanilla powder would be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Great recipe. We used brown sugar and vanilla extract, but omitted the almond extract. I increased the cocoa powder just a little bit and also added about 3 Tbs of Nido (we were not concerned with the dairy or fat content). At the end, we still needed a chocolate shot, so it was served with a bit of chocolate syrup drizzle. Thanks Dr. House.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I made this with soft tofu Mori-nu brand and left out the almond extract because I don't like the taste of Almond extract... I also used 6 TBSP Xylitol instead of the sugar. It turned out AWESOME!! This is one of the easiest recipes I have ever tried and liked...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I just made this right now and it's a delightful dessert. I used a cocoa-chocolate blend by Ghiradelli to avoid the chalky cocoa taste. Since I made this with the idea to bring some to my aunt in the nursing home tomorrow (she's a vegetarian plus a picky eater, thus she doesn't get enough protein), I made it with black walnut extract instead of almond. It's a good flavor combination that I highly recommend if you want to mix it up sometime. I also used a vanilla powder, because I wasn't sure if the tofu would pick up the alcohol in the extracts. There is something in it that makes your mouth feel dry, I think it might be the black walnut, but it might be the tofu, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This looks just like the picture - -has a lovely & creamy texture. I made the recipe exactly as is and believe it needs a few changes.. the ratio of cocoa powder to sugar is too high.. cocoa powder is very bitter and needs more sugar to balance it out. I did not think this was sweet enough and definitely needs more sugar -- possibly double -- to make it edible for me. Also, the almond extract was a little strong and "artificial" tasting (I might omit it next time). I think this would be great topped with bananas or strawberries, and make sure to add a pinch of salt to bring out the chocolate flavor! Overall it's a great basic recipe and I will continue to use.. it's a great way to get some extra protein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Okay, I confess I just ate chocolate pudding topped with raspberries for lunch--and I don't even feel guilty about it. I wasn't planning on making a lunch out of this, but man, this stuff is good! It's also a treat that I feel good serving the kids. I've made other recipes for tofu pudding and tofu cheesecake, but most of them still retain a noticeable "earthy" flavor from the tofu. I think it may be the almond extract in this recipe that really helps with this. I plan on making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This is a simple and delicious recipe for pudding. I used Splenda with great success. It will help get me get some protein in without having to eat meat and and worry about fats. Anyone having problems finding the correct tofu...mori-nu is NOT in the refrigerated section with all the other tofu. It is kept room temperature and comes in a small box. Most stores put it in the organic/health food section of the store. It doesn't seem to age well (I am on day 3), so try to eat it quickly or serve to family. I am just one. Next time I'll make a half batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I tried this with splenda and, although I use a lot of splenda and usually like the taste, had problems with this. I didn't think it was nearly sweet enough with the splenda and I used double. Next time I'd do it with sugar. Texture was great, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      was looking for something easy for dessert tongiht and came upon this recipe. This is wonderful pudding, low in calories and a real palate pleaser. I cut down to 1 tsp. almond extract and it worked well. We will be making this again real soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I would definitely put in less almond extract last time. But otherwise this is wonderful. It gives you a fuller dark chocolate taste that's really enjoyable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      So easy and so good! Used Dutch process cocoa and added about 1/4 cup honey to taste. Loved the almond extract but it was a little overpowering for my kids. I have a hard time finding protein sources for my picky 6 year-old, and this is a great way to sneak some nutrition into his school lunches. Can't wait to try some of the creative suggestions by other reviewers like peanut butter. Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I had no idea tofu could be this good! This recipe was very quick and easy too. Used the pudding as a filling in pie. Minor adjustments: used little less cocco powder, didnt use almond extract, added 1T of fine coffee grounds and a splash of irish cream extract. The pudding pie rocked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Dream Pudding and Pie Filling

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.7
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    29%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 43.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites