Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu Cacciatore Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu Cacciatore

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2010

      This is AWESOME! I halved the recipe, used one block frozen/defrosted tofu and a yellow pepper. I didn't dredge it, just seasoned it and browned. This also freezes beautifully. Thanks for sharing. In all my years of vegetarian/veganism I've never even thought of making a cacciatore. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      This dish was just okay for us. The sauce was great but the tofu was incredibly bland- though I should have guessed, with it only seasoned with salt and pepper. We're a vegan household and love our tofu! Next time I would omit the tofu altogether and make the sauce. Would also save a lot of time and trouble not having to bake it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      My family LOVED this dish. They really don't like tofu but they gobbled this up before I even got any, lol! =) Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This was a nice dish. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      OMG!! i'm in love with this recipe. i'm not a tofu person but once cooked the tofu tasted like pasta noodles. the sauce was so great. i put 1/2 teaspoon of chili flakes and it had a great kick. for those of you meat eaters, guarantee you will love this!! can't wait to make again soon. thank yo uso much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Delish! If you freeze the tofu, give yourself time for it to thaw! (unless you have a microwave, which I don't). I love this new way to add tofu to my fav: Italian! I made it for company, and it was well received. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Very Good! I will definently be making this again. I love mushrooms so I added 16 oz. fresh mushrooms to the recipe and it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      This is my first time eating tofu, and I think this was a good way to start out. I cut the tofu into bite size pieces and cooked it in a cast iron skillet with olive oil. When the tofu was browned, I poured the tomato sauce over and finished with the cheese. Then I cooked it stovetop (I didn't want to heat my house) on low for...well... awhile. Thanks for the good start to a new food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This was surprisingly good! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, except for substituting Italian Seasoning for the basil and oregano, and served with whole wheat pasta and a salad. The sauce was slightly bland for our tastes, and next time I will add some kalamata olives or capers. The tofu was great, with a good texture and great flavour. Overall, a great recipe and very healthy! Thanks Kozmic Blues!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Great recipe. I made a bunch of this and froze it to grab for lunch when I was in a hurry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This was pretty tasty, I did enjoy the meal with a small side salad. This was even better after re-heated from the freezer the next week. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      A lot of work but we loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      words cannot explain how much i loved this dish. it was so flavorful and and the proportions of tofu to sauce to spice were perfect. i loved also that it is lowfat and fairly simple to make, although it is time consuming. i will absolutely make this again and again--thanks so much for the superb recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I have made this 3 times now and it has been great every time. This is a winner at my house with kids and my husband. Thanks for a healthy meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I changed this recipe a bit - added some chopped carrots & zucchini, used 1/2 canned and 1/2 fresh chopped tomato. I also used fresh herbs. My husband loved it, I am not a great fan of tofu but will probably make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      First time I have eaten or served tofu to my family (2 teen boys, wife and myself). We all enjoyed it a lot and will definately be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      oh wow! this was so easy and so delicious. i've never had tofu in an italian dish before, but it fit perfectly. the only change i made was to cook the tofu first. then i used the same pan for the sauce, which made cleanup a snap. all i can say is yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      Wow! this dish is amazing. I froze the tofu to give it a meatier consistency, and halved the recipe. It tasted just like the chicken dish. great tofu recipe one again. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2004

      I thought this was great! Very tasty. I'd make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu Cacciatore

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.5
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    30%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 381.3 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes