Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tofu "alfredo" Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tofu "alfredo" Sauce

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2003

      Yummy! Nice and creamy, and so easy to make. I added a bit of hot sauce (I eat it on almost everything) and was in heaven! No more craving mac & cheese or alfredo now that I can make this. Thanks, Tish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2004

      I thought this was very good. I really liked the flavor of the sauce on its own. I used tsp of basil, and a tsp of an Italian blend I have called "Roman Holiday Seasoning" which added a nice flavor. I did need to add some salt once I tossed the sauce with the cooked pasta. I used tri-colored gemelli instead of fettuccine, just because that's what was on hand. The leftovers were a little dry, so I mixed in some sauted spinach, which seemd to work quite nicely. Thanks for a great dairy free alternative to an old favorite, AND for introducing me to buying nutritional yeast in bulk!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I love to throw in a bunch of spinach and make this even more healthy. Today I tried it on pizza and was thrilled. (I cooked a brown rice pizza crust while sauteing button mushrooms and making this sauce. When the crust was done, I put the sauce on it, slightly warmed, and added the mushrooms. Magnifique!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I'm no longer a tofu-virgin! That's right- DH and I are meat-lovin', saturated fat cooking Midwesterners who have never so much as thought about eating tofu, let alone making alfredo sauce with it! I messed this recipe up just a bit, but still found success...didn't realize my silken tofu was 12oz, used regular margarine, a bit more broth to thin it down and used regular parmesan instead of nutritional yeast. I was surprised at how creamy it was for being a no-cook sauce and DH really loved it. While I could definitely tell it wasn't regular alfredo, it's darn close enough and I'm so happy with the extra protein in our dinner...mixed with sauteed bell pepper, broccoli and chicken breast for a healthy meal. Thanks Tish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      This recipe was easy to make and very good! Although it didn't taste exactly like 'real' alfredo sauce, it had a very nice flavor, and is definitely a good dairy-free alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      this was a very good dairy-free alternative. i sauteed onions instead of the onion powder and added some sauteed brocolli too. Yumm ! My kids could not believe it was made with tofu. they gave you two thumbs up too !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      Excellent! Made this last night and Wife and I both loved it. Used flax milk instead of broth and tasted after blending, found that it needed the sodium from the broth so added condensed broth which made it too thin. Put on stovetop and added flour to thicken. Turned out fantastic; not sure what happened to the reviewer who had it turn to liquid when they heard it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      A little bland as written. I added 1 garlic clove and 1 scallion; also used a whole bullion cube for only 1/2 cup of water, so doubled that flavor. Used the Nutritional Yeast option. Definitely needed some salt. Don't warm it up, as it will turn to water. Added some sauteed mushrooms and some smoked salmon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      I had to make a lot of substitutions, so I was unsure, but I loved it. Having been off dairy for sometime now, this was a great creamy treat. I did not have veg. broth (but will use it next time) so I added a little water. I used fresh basil, oregano, and Italian parsley from my garden. No cheese or yeast and it was fine. I added garlic powder and a sprinkle of paprika.I saut?ed yellow bell pepper, mushrooms, and garden peas and added them to the pasta and sauce. I also added a bit of salt. Yum. Who knew?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      So, I'm shocked. Not exactly alfredo sauce, but when you can't have the real thing this is a wonderful substitute. I used nutritional yeast. I also "water fried" mushrooms in veg broth and added them to the sauce. Served over tofu noodles with a side of broccoli (which this sauce is also good on). Thanks Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      Unfortunately, we found this to be inedible. I ended up throwing most of it away, and we almost never throw away food. The texture was fine, but the taste was not to our liking. It didn't go over well with my stomach either. It's a shame because seeing all the rave reviews, I had high expectations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This definitely passed! My anti-tofu DH said if he wasn't told, he would have thought it was made with cream and butter. I halved the recipe, used a box of extra-firm Mori-Nu, and needed extra broth to get it to puree smooth. I mixed it with sauteed portobello and sliced grilled chicken, and it was excellent. The only bump we ran into was that it needed to be salted a little to really bring everything out. UPDATE: Made this with a few tbsp of tomato paste and about 1/2 cup of tomato sauce and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      We love alfredo sauce so I was so excited about this recipe, I really wanted to like this but we really didn't. I had to increase the broth a lot in order to even get it to blend, and I salted it, added parm, garlic, pepper, milk - I kept adjusting it trying to get it to suit my family but it was still a disaster for us - plus we now have a stomach ache :( Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This was better than I expected and it was so quick and easy to make! Thanks, Tish! While I do have to say - you can definitely tell it's not real alfredo, but considering how healthy an alternative is we will definitely make it again! We made a few modifications - we used 1/4 cup of parmesan and 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast, we used a lot more broth (almost double the recipe). For our seasonings, we just used salt, pepper, and oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Definetly better than alfredo from a jar! Not quite the calorie loaded heavy cream/butter/garlic alfredo I dream of, but a very healthy and tasty alternative. I substituted firm tofu, butter, low sodium chicken broth, regular parm and added some minced garlic. Soooo creamy I had to add extra broth. My 4 year old son adored it and the BF could barely tell it was tofu. It did have a consistency to it you do not find in regular alfredo and an extra flavor in there, but all in all it was great and easy to make. Relatively cheap too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      My husband and I are ADDICTED to this sauce! Wow. I have made it with both soft and firm tofu with equal success. I also typically use cheese instead of the nutritional yeast, and keep forgetting to buy basil, so have used garlic salt and this sauce is amazing every time. It's a new staple in our house and we ALWAYS have some ready in the refrigerator! Thanks for a recipe that I have been giving to everyone!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This sauce is very delicious. My first time trying, I kept it simple and stuck to the recipe, as is. My only complaint comes from using the "extra firm" tofu. Even after a lot of blending, I feel it made the texture a little off. Going forward I will only use the softest tofu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Oh my! So tasty! It was just like a creamy dreamy Alfredo sauce! I added a lot of garlic (personal preference) and a little can of tomato puree. Just lovely!! I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I'm not a huge fan of alfredo to begin with, but my family liked this after I melted a couple slices of tofutti mozzarella into it. I thought it had a real bitter nutritional yeast aftertaste without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      We loved this low fat recipe, the fact that it is dairy free is also good. We halved the recipe and added mushrooms. it is so good to have a creamy sauce and not feel guilty about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tofu "alfredo" Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.9
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    10%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 42.9 mg
    14%
    Sodium 105.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes