34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! Nice and creamy, and so easy to make. I added a bit of hot sauce (I eat it on almost everything) and was in heaven! No more craving mac & cheese or alfredo now that I can make this. Thanks, Tish!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi January 30, 2003

I thought this was very good. I really liked the flavor of the sauce on its own. I used tsp of basil, and a tsp of an Italian blend I have called "Roman Holiday Seasoning" which added a nice flavor. I did need to add some salt once I tossed the sauce with the cooked pasta. I used tri-colored gemelli instead of fettuccine, just because that's what was on hand. The leftovers were a little dry, so I mixed in some sauted spinach, which seemd to work quite nicely. Thanks for a great dairy free alternative to an old favorite, AND for introducing me to buying nutritional yeast in bulk!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues January 31, 2004

I love to throw in a bunch of spinach and make this even more healthy. Today I tried it on pizza and was thrilled. (I cooked a brown rice pizza crust while sauteing button mushrooms and making this sauce. When the crust was done, I put the sauce on it, slightly warmed, and added the mushrooms. Magnifique!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ohjesslyn August 10, 2009

I'm no longer a tofu-virgin! That's right- DH and I are meat-lovin', saturated fat cooking Midwesterners who have never so much as thought about eating tofu, let alone making alfredo sauce with it! I messed this recipe up just a bit, but still found success...didn't realize my silken tofu was 12oz, used regular margarine, a bit more broth to thin it down and used regular parmesan instead of nutritional yeast. I was surprised at how creamy it was for being a no-cook sauce and DH really loved it. While I could definitely tell it wasn't regular alfredo, it's darn close enough and I'm so happy with the extra protein in our dinner...mixed with sauteed bell pepper, broccoli and chicken breast for a healthy meal. Thanks Tish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend July 27, 2009

This recipe was easy to make and very good! Although it didn't taste exactly like 'real' alfredo sauce, it had a very nice flavor, and is definitely a good dairy-free alternative!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree June 26, 2003

this was a very good dairy-free alternative. i sauteed onions instead of the onion powder and added some sauteed brocolli too. Yumm ! My kids could not believe it was made with tofu. they gave you two thumbs up too !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kavi March 29, 2003

Excellent! Made this last night and Wife and I both loved it. Used flax milk instead of broth and tasted after blending, found that it needed the sodium from the broth so added condensed broth which made it too thin. Put on stovetop and added flour to thicken. Turned out fantastic; not sure what happened to the reviewer who had it turn to liquid when they heard it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cara_david October 09, 2014

A little bland as written. I added 1 garlic clove and 1 scallion; also used a whole bullion cube for only 1/2 cup of water, so doubled that flavor. Used the Nutritional Yeast option. Definitely needed some salt. Don't warm it up, as it will turn to water. Added some sauteed mushrooms and some smoked salmon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 04, 2013

I had to make a lot of substitutions, so I was unsure, but I loved it. Having been off dairy for sometime now, this was a great creamy treat. I did not have veg. broth (but will use it next time) so I added a little water. I used fresh basil, oregano, and Italian parsley from my garden. No cheese or yeast and it was fine. I added garlic powder and a sprinkle of paprika.I saut?ed yellow bell pepper, mushrooms, and garden peas and added them to the pasta and sauce. I also added a bit of salt. Yum. Who knew?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IrishHeart July 16, 2012

So, I'm shocked. Not exactly alfredo sauce, but when you can't have the real thing this is a wonderful substitute. I used nutritional yeast. I also "water fried" mushrooms in veg broth and added them to the sauce. Served over tofu noodles with a side of broccoli (which this sauce is also good on). Thanks Tish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesslisa of a galaxy far far away September 23, 2011
Tofu "alfredo" Sauce