9 Reviews

Excuse me while I rub dirt in my mouth. If not, I'd never stop eating.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 27, 2010

This was a extraordinary recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and used my crockpot.
I melted the butter in the microwave and put in the crockpot.Then I put in the rest of the ingredients and stirred. I did have the crockpot on low and when I felt it had cooked to a good consistency I turned it on warm. I had no grainy texture. I served this with strawberries,marshmallow and apple slices.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasmom61 September 04, 2010

5 stars really do not do this fondue justice. i made it for a lingerie shower where we had 4 different kinds of dessert fondue. this was EVERYONE'S favorite. we had about 10 different kinds of dippers, but our favorite for the toffee fondue was coconut macaroons! i cannot even begin to descibe how sinfully delicious they were. this recipe will definitely be used again as soon as i find the opportunity!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie2590 December 07, 2008

Sweet mother of all sugar dreams! This is beyond wonderful. Made for Fondue Night at my house (aka "Germ Night," or "Swine Flu Saturday."). Everyone loved it. Super easy, made ahead, plopped in my crock pot and kept it warm. NEXT time, and there will be one, I will cook the butter and sugar together longer to get rid of all the granularity (new word, folks). A little grainy this time around. Served with: marshmallows, cinnamon teddy grahams, chocolate animal crackers, apples, oranges, bananas and strawberries. Favorite by far for all were the apples! Thanks for a nice alternative to chocolate and a yummy easy dessert! ~Messy44

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 January 05, 2012

I would give this 10 stars if I could. We dipped bananas, apples, and marshmallows. We also had some flake coconut and chopped nuts in bowls, so after we dipped in the toffee we could also coat with nuts and/or coconut. It was divine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply September 23, 2008

This was wonderful and so easy! I have an electric fondue pot so I just made it in there and did not use the pan over the hot water method and it worked just fine. Thank you Holiday for a great recipe...the bananas were my favorite, but we both decided that ANYTHING dipped in this stuff would be delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDarlingNikki April 16, 2005

I highly recommend tart apples for this. I used honey crisp and this was borderline too sweet for me and rarely do the words "too sweet" pass my lips. I cooked mine over a water bath and it took awhile to get the caramel flavor I was looking for. (About an hour but I didn't have to stir constantly.) I don't have a fondue pot and I was using my crockpot for the main course. I did like the texture of this after I removed the bowl from the water bath and it cooled down some.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain October 06, 2012

Very yummy! This was a real crowd pleaser - and it makes alot! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_mama March 12, 2009

I made this for a New Year's Eve party in my electric fondue pot. I just threw all the ingredients in, and turned it on low while I stirred. It was delicious. Everyone from 2 years old and up enjoyed it. We ended up dipping all kinds of things in it because it was so good! If I made it for a smaller group, I might cut the recipe in half because it makes so much. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jayhawk94 January 04, 2007
Toffee Fondue