15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Erin, This looks like the recipe that I have been serching for -- THANK YOU for posting it. I'll try it and let you know. A friend or mine has been making something similar for the holidays for the past 8 yrs. My husband & I love it. BUT she wont give us the recipe -- I thought after the 60's everyone started sharing recipes. Oh well. I hope your recipe is as equally wonderful as my unwilling to share friend. thanks again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahskids February 22, 2002

Yummy - just like I remember from making these years ago. I did cream the butter and brown sugar, then mixed in the egg yolk, then stirred in the flour. Thanks for posting this recipe, as I don't know what happened to the one I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea November 18, 2012

I did cream the butter and brown sugar before adding the yolk and flour. These baked up a little firmer than other toffee bar recipes I have tried, but the flavor is excellent! I sprinkled heath bar bits on top of the melted chocolate chips before cooling and cutting. They look very impressive. I cut them into 36 pieces as they are quite rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 18, 2009

My Mom has been making these for years. She puts hersey bars on top after it comes out of the oven. Spreads chocolate bars and sprinkles with chopped nuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4pack December 16, 2009

I have to give these 4 stars. I used a fork and mixed them well, and cooked according to the directions, mine were soggy -they never did get firm. They were EXTREMELY sweet. I really liked them, though - just not a 5 star recipe - I was thinking the dough was missing something, but I can't quite put my finger on what it was

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scibba October 28, 2009

Sorry, but we weren't thrilled with these bars. Wish I had read all the reviews first because someone suggested creaming the butter, sugar and flour and I think that would have been better. The bars turned out pretty dry and were sort of hard even though I cooked them for less time than stated. It was a simple recipe however, and my 10 yr old was happy to help make them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 14, 2008

I love these. They were so tasty and very easy to make. I even garnished the top with chocolate, cococut, and walnuts. SO GOOD!!! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Bakes Alot January 02, 2008

The best bars to make with your children or grandchildren...as that's how I learned to make them. No mixer needed, just your hands. These have always been a sucessful treat! Three years ago after experimenting with other crusts that failed, I decided to update these bars for the holidays. I mixed 1/2 can Almond Pie Filling with 3 Tbsp. Raspberry Preserves. This mixture is spread over the crust and baked. Cool bars before spreading with chocolate. I melt 2 Dark Chocolate candy bars in the microwave and pour over the bars. It makes it easier for spreading. Cool until chocolate is set and then cut.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hpmara727 December 08, 2007

These were very good, but you need to remember to cream the butter sugar and egg before mixing the flour or the texture won't be quite right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myangelhayden November 04, 2007

Quick, easy and perfect flavor. I did cream the sugar,egg, butter and flour though to get a better texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee October 27, 2007
Toffee Bars