Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Toffee Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toffee Bars

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2002

      Erin, This looks like the recipe that I have been serching for -- THANK YOU for posting it. I'll try it and let you know. A friend or mine has been making something similar for the holidays for the past 8 yrs. My husband & I love it. BUT she wont give us the recipe -- I thought after the 60's everyone started sharing recipes. Oh well. I hope your recipe is as equally wonderful as my unwilling to share friend. thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Yummy - just like I remember from making these years ago. I did cream the butter and brown sugar, then mixed in the egg yolk, then stirred in the flour. Thanks for posting this recipe, as I don't know what happened to the one I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I did cream the butter and brown sugar before adding the yolk and flour. These baked up a little firmer than other toffee bar recipes I have tried, but the flavor is excellent! I sprinkled heath bar bits on top of the melted chocolate chips before cooling and cutting. They look very impressive. I cut them into 36 pieces as they are quite rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      My Mom has been making these for years. She puts hersey bars on top after it comes out of the oven. Spreads chocolate bars and sprinkles with chopped nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I have to give these 4 stars. I used a fork and mixed them well, and cooked according to the directions, mine were soggy -they never did get firm. They were EXTREMELY sweet. I really liked them, though - just not a 5 star recipe - I was thinking the dough was missing something, but I can't quite put my finger on what it was

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Sorry, but we weren't thrilled with these bars. Wish I had read all the reviews first because someone suggested creaming the butter, sugar and flour and I think that would have been better. The bars turned out pretty dry and were sort of hard even though I cooked them for less time than stated. It was a simple recipe however, and my 10 yr old was happy to help make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I love these. They were so tasty and very easy to make. I even garnished the top with chocolate, cococut, and walnuts. SO GOOD!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      The best bars to make with your children or grandchildren...as that's how I learned to make them. No mixer needed, just your hands. These have always been a sucessful treat! Three years ago after experimenting with other crusts that failed, I decided to update these bars for the holidays. I mixed 1/2 can Almond Pie Filling with 3 Tbsp. Raspberry Preserves. This mixture is spread over the crust and baked. Cool bars before spreading with chocolate. I melt 2 Dark Chocolate candy bars in the microwave and pour over the bars. It makes it easier for spreading. Cool until chocolate is set and then cut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      These were very good, but you need to remember to cream the butter sugar and egg before mixing the flour or the texture won't be quite right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Quick, easy and perfect flavor. I did cream the sugar,egg, butter and flour though to get a better texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      So Easy and fast! Took them to a cookie exchange that I had 45 minutes to make something for and everyone loved them! Definate recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I was looking for a recipe I could make fast with just a few ingredients, to treat some contractors who were working on my house. They were happy with them, and the bars fit the bill perfectly. Easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      Loved them! They were quick, easy and yummy. I will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Found this came together just fine by following the suggested directions, there were none left at the baby shower! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      these are really good, but don't overcook them, or they get hard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toffee Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (714 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.1
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    50%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 26.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 67.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes