14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Now THIS is how you make coffee cake! Simply saying this is delicious would be an insult. Eating it warm is indescribable. This recipe is SERIOUSLY good.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JefferyBeans July 14, 2002

i have the recipe from the Plain jane thril of everything fattening cookbook and i LOVE it!! i add 1 cup of mini chocolate chips to the cake batter, but everything is the same. terrific recipe, wonderful cake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears September 05, 2005

Fantastic, over the top, prior to baking, I sprinkled Demerara Sugar that I purchased from King Arthur Flour, it gave it a wonderful extra sugar-y crunch. I also placed the toffee bars in the freezer for a half hour or so, than whacked them in the wrappers on the countertop so I didn't have to cut them. Thank You Bev, this was awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat August 26, 2005

I whipped this coffee cake up the night before leaving for a camping trip (a week ago) in the Sierra Nevada Mountains and packed it to eat as a snack. It was wonderful and easy to make! The toffee bits got soft during baking, making the topping divine. This cake was so good that a BLACK BEAR snuck up behind us when we were fishing by the lake and stole our last piece of cake. It came up and snatched it from a rock just about 3 feet behind me!! It was the scariest thing that's ever happened to me, but I'm sure the bear enjoyed it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Velouria August 01, 2004

Wonderful coffee cake Bev, buttery and moist...I substituted the toffee bars for Butterfinger bars, cause that was all I had (leftover in my freezer from Halloween), I also added some crushed candy bars into the cake batter... also I made it in a Bundt pan, instead of a 13x9' pan...Just like JefferyBeans says...seriously good, well I say, it is delicious! 5 stars all the way. Thanxs Bev, we all enjoyed the cake, and will be making it again soon :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 13, 2004

This is a very simple and nice coffee cake. Everyone enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie July 04, 2010

I got a ton of compliments on this coffee cake. It was nice to have a coffee cake with just a hint of chocolate in it. I made it 2 days in advance and it still was very moist when I served it. Since the recipe called for a glass baking dish, I cut the heat down to 325 degrees. I used Substitute Buttermilk for the buttermilk and it worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 02, 2010

This was good, not my favorite coffee cake, but good. lots of crumbly stuff on top which is always a plus, it wasn’t too sweet, perfect with a cup of coffee. I think next time I will add some toffee pieces in the batter mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle January 15, 2009

Other than omitting the pecans because we don't like nuts, made the recipe as written. Really fast and easy to make, and quite foolproof. My youngest daughter immediately proclaimed this to be her favourite cake to date. Thank you for posting. Will be a frequent repeater in this house as long as we have the toffee bits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids June 30, 2008

Today I doubled this recipe (using a 12 x 18 inch pan) and served it to forty + people in a hospitality room. (Cut in tiny pieces, of course, it made 88 squares.) People were sending others in to taste it and then getting them to bring "sender" another piece. It was well-liked and very, very good. Thanks so much. This will be made over and over and over. Thanks so much Bev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie June 26, 2008
Toffee Bar Coffee Cake