10 Reviews

This was a great recipe but the baking time wound up being twice the time for me to get to a golden brown & I had to turn up my oven to 375. The next time I make it I may increase the honey amount by half. Because I was pressed for time I ended up taking a serving out & browning it in a frying pan & it tasted exactly the same as the ones that finished in the oven. Baby wasn't thrilled about it, but mom loved it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lamah April 28, 2012

I can't really rate this because I liked them, toddler and husband hated them. For my toddler I think it was the texture. Maybe she'll eat silken tofu in pudding form.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u November 27, 2011

I made these for myself and am TRYING to save some for my DD but I don't think thats gonna happen. Maybe next time. Super healthy and yummy. Perfect for my South Beach Diet. Thanks for sharing Missy Wombat..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bay Laurel January 25, 2010

i fixed these tonight for myself and my 2 year old (who is very very picky and will NOT eat meat) and she loved him. After I made my mother try one (she's never had tofu) she told me they needed cinnamon and sugar so i dusted some on (pre-mixed) and that was delicious. i put them in the shape of a smiley face and she thinks they're marshmallows.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kl3p January 06, 2010

my toddler loved these! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umisa April 09, 2009

Liked the taste but not the texture which was spongy. Next time I'll do as another reviewer suggested and use silken tofu. Great lunch box idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WizzyTheStick May 22, 2007

The toddler of our house (me) loved this! I halved the recipe (not recommended) and found the taste a bit mild (although suppose these are for toddlers) I would make up more sauce next time and allow the tofu to sit in it for a while. I used cotton tofu but agree Aseptic tofu would work better I used tofu that had been sat in my fridge in kitchen towel for a couple of days which seemed to help with the stickiness of the coating. Two thumbs up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkCherryBlossom August 04, 2006

I've made this three times now. I'd strongly recommend using a japanese silken tofu rather than a chinese tofu, as the texture works better. The chinese tofu was rubbery, which didn't work as well in this case. Pressing the tofu would help lots otherwise the coating tends to slide off. Though if you have the time I'd open the box a day or so before & drain off any liquid and store the tofu in a tupperware container in the fridge. Enough liquid comes out on it's own, given the time. You then just need to drain off the liquid again before using. If using fresh ginger it will need grating properly. I was short a fine grater the first time and the ginger was stronger and more overpowering. This is one of the few tofu recipes that doesn't use soy sauce or tamari. This is great for anyone with such food restrictions trying to find a way to eat tofu. Thanks so much you've really gotten me out of a bind.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houmous Monster April 03, 2006

the taste was simple but excellent...easy to make. i had no sesame seeds available so i used flax seeds. my 16 month old is eating nothing but crackers lately so i thought this would be a great healthy snack. although she refused to try it i loved it and i know when she goes back to eating normally she will love it too. thanks for the toddler recipe...they are hard to come by.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey January 26, 2005
Toddler Tofu Bites