Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Toby's Tartar Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toby's Tartar Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2012

      Wonderful! My grandson loves tartar sauce with fries and so I've tried several on the site. This is our favorite hands-down. My grandson doesn't usually care for capers, but he's now a convert. The only thing that I will do differently next time, is to mash the capers a little before adding. I served this with Classic Fish and Chips for a delicious meal. Thanks for sharing Toby. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      You know it's good (with whatever your making) when you "lick the bowl" at the end. This is the very best tartar sauce I've ever tasted! Ever ever ever! I've tried many recipes and either they turn out too pickly tart without any unique flavor or too mayonaisy. It is tart, as it should be, but combined with all the other ingredients listed the final flavor is spectactualr! I made it for 2 of us and took the advice for substituting some of the fresh ingredients for dry to keep longer in the fridge. And, I used the minimum amounts as recommended and like others was perfect as is. Salt and pepper used was 1/2 tsp each and chopped up the capers. Thank you so much Toby! I can't stop licking the bowl and without a doubt will be using this as a dip for other purposes as well! Too bad I can't give it 10 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      Don't look ant further, this is the best. I didn't have dill relish, so I used finely diced dill pickles. That was my only substitution; made the recipe exactly as instructed. Perfection!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Excellent! We all loved it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      This is an uber-tartar sauce and it's great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      This is great! I'll never buy store tarter sauce again. If you plan to make this, make it 1 day in advance as I found the flavor to be better the next day. Still great to eat the same day you make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      I rarely give 5 stars but every member of my family raved about this sauce. Didn't use lemon juice or capers (personal taste) but it still worked great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      DH made this up to use on some planked salmon we were going to fix. We don't usually use tartar sauce on fish, but this was fabulous! I'm sure it would be wonderful on many things!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I only made half a recipe but it was great with Beer Battered Fish (For Fish N'chips). I didn't have dill relish but the lemon juice added a great flavor as did the Tabasco sauce. Will have to have more fish this week to use it up. I will be sure to have dill relish next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Ok, this is the best tartar sauce recipe ever. and yes, I am sacreligous I like a semi-sweet sauce. I just changed up the dill pickle amount for the sweet pickle amount and since I did not have quite a cup of mayo, I used sour cream to make up my cup, maybe 2 heaping tablespoons. It tastes great. Everyone I have made this for just loves it. I do take credit for it though. Thanks Chrismar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      What flavor!!! Thank you for posting. I'll use this forever - especially since it's easy to change the quantities for different numbers of servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Excellent tartar sauce, Toby! I made as directed, using the lesser amounts given, and used light mayo (Hellmann's) and Dijon (rather than dry mustard). When I tasted it, I didn't really think it needed any more of the initial ingredients, so I just added a few dashes of habanero Tabasco and a little salt and freshly ground pepper. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      Hello Toby Jermain, this tartar sauce hit the spot! We served it together with chia's seafood fritters and it was marvelous! I did make it according to the way posted but added a bit of sugar as it was a bit tart. As the one at the grocery stores is not to our liking! Thank you for posting, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2006

      Toby's will be our house brand from now on -- an excellent tasty tartar, easy to make half -- first batch was made in May (using 3/4 c. mayo and 1/4 c. sour cream and adjusting other ingredients). It kept perfectly for about 6 weeks (until we had eaten it all). The second batch, just made, used all Mayo. Think I like the mixture better than all mayo. Did not have Worchestshire sauce the first time around, and it came out fine, so didn't bother to get any for this time. Highly recommend this recipe to all who like a tartar sauce that has more flavor than the salty store brought variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      Now this is tartar sauce!! What the heck was I eating before? I minced some dill pickles as I didn't have dill relish and used a zesty relish rather than sweet, but otherwise followed your recipe, using the minimum amounts. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      I do admire your tastebuds, dude!! This even beats the sauce at Pismo Fish & Chips. And I thought theirs was so good that I would order extra and take the rest home in a doggy bag...Imagine that ;-} Unfortunately, now that I can cook my own fish & make my own tartar sauce, I no longer have an excuse to out for fish, except for the chips. Thanks so much, Toby, for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      I made this recipe with all the minimum ingredients and it was excellent! Toby, thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      We always thought our family recipe for tartar sauce was the best, but I decided on a whim to try yours just for a change. So that our tastebuds wouldn't go into total shock, I flip-flopped the relish amounts, using more sweet than sour. (Gave it just a tiny bit of sweetness, but still very tart.) I also cut the quantity of mayo by about 1/3 cup, making up the difference with sour cream for a little bit lighter texture. No salt was needed. It was a little hard for all of us to admit, Toby, but your tartar sauce put Grandmother's to shame!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      My husband and I have been making this about bi-monthly for 3 months or so, and I can't believe I forgot to rate it until now. I LOVE tartar sauce, just love it, and this is by FAR the most delicious version I have ever tried. It's unsurpassable, really. It may look like a lot of ingredients, but the extra effort is 100% worth it. We make this with a lower-fat mayo, and it turns out fabulous. We can't have fish and chips without this! Toby, you've ruined restaruant tartar sauce (or any other tartat sauce) for me forever! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      This is a great tartar sauce. It was perfect for my fried catfish, my family liked it a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toby's Tartar Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (711 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 691.5
     
    Calories from Fat 475
    68%
    Total Fat 52.7 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1782.7 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    56%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes