21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! My grandson loves tartar sauce with fries and so I've tried several on the site. This is our favorite hands-down. My grandson doesn't usually care for capers, but he's now a convert. The only thing that I will do differently next time, is to mash the capers a little before adding. I served this with Classic Fish and Chips for a delicious meal. Thanks for sharing Toby. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 14, 2012

You know it's good (with whatever your making) when you "lick the bowl" at the end. This is the very best tartar sauce I've ever tasted! Ever ever ever! I've tried many recipes and either they turn out too pickly tart without any unique flavor or too mayonaisy. It is tart, as it should be, but combined with all the other ingredients listed the final flavor is spectactualr! I made it for 2 of us and took the advice for substituting some of the fresh ingredients for dry to keep longer in the fridge. And, I used the minimum amounts as recommended and like others was perfect as is. Salt and pepper used was 1/2 tsp each and chopped up the capers. Thank you so much Toby! I can't stop licking the bowl and without a doubt will be using this as a dip for other purposes as well! Too bad I can't give it 10 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seashorewalker January 06, 2009

Don't look ant further, this is the best. I didn't have dill relish, so I used finely diced dill pickles. That was my only substitution; made the recipe exactly as instructed. Perfection!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom March 31, 2014

Excellent! We all loved it!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildLightning February 19, 2013

This is an uber-tartar sauce and it's great! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo December 26, 2012

This is great! I'll never buy store tarter sauce again. If you plan to make this, make it 1 day in advance as I found the flavor to be better the next day. Still great to eat the same day you make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gil Grillalotomus May 03, 2012

I rarely give 5 stars but every member of my family raved about this sauce. Didn't use lemon juice or capers (personal taste) but it still worked great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCinLA September 18, 2009

DH made this up to use on some planked salmon we were going to fix. We don't usually use tartar sauce on fish, but this was fabulous! I'm sure it would be wonderful on many things!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself March 31, 2009

I only made half a recipe but it was great with Beer Battered Fish (For Fish N'chips). I didn't have dill relish but the lemon juice added a great flavor as did the Tabasco sauce. Will have to have more fish this week to use it up. I will be sure to have dill relish next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 14, 2009

Ok, this is the best tartar sauce recipe ever. and yes, I am sacreligous I like a semi-sweet sauce. I just changed up the dill pickle amount for the sweet pickle amount and since I did not have quite a cup of mayo, I used sour cream to make up my cup, maybe 2 heaping tablespoons. It tastes great. Everyone I have made this for just loves it. I do take credit for it though. Thanks Chrismar

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrismar175 May 13, 2008
Toby's Tartar Sauce