Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Toasted Orzo With Peas and Parmesan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toasted Orzo With Peas and Parmesan

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2006

      I made it exactly as described and neither I nor hubby liked it one bit. We ended up throwing the whole batch in the trash. I'm not sure why, maybe the combination of flavors clashed too much for it to be our thing - this dish has way too much going on, with each flavor trying to overpower the other.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      I did not like this recipe and ended up throwing it out. I think it would be much better without the wine. When you cook with wine and don't allow the alcohol to burn off, it can give the food a very strange taste. Next time I will make this without the wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Just what I was looking for. Five kids and two adults give it a thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      We loved this recipe...it is so easy and it looks so fancy, I used the 3 color orzo and it looked and tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This makes a huge amount! My husband and I ate it as our main dish and the leftovers fit nicely into a 9x13 baking dish. This was good, although I added scallions, plum tomatoes and celery. It might have been a little bland without the added ingredients. I think this is versatile and that it would be good if you throw any produce you have into it - it only adds to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      This was one of the first recipes we tried from this site and we absolutely love it. It's easy to make and really good with chicken. I also like to experiment with the broth/wine proportions to change the flavor emphasis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      I halved this recipe, substituting dry white wine, as it's what I had on hand and adding a handful of mushrooms with the garlic. It was absolutely perfect! The flavors of wine, broth, and cheese worked beautifully together. I took leftovers for lunch the next day, mixing in some rotisserie chicken, and had several lunchmates ask for the recipe. I am going to try it using veggie broth and vermouth next time and share it with my vegetarian daughter. She'll love it! Thanks, kburie, for posting such a quick, delicious, versatile, and unique recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      Delicious! We had this as a side but I agree it would make a wonderful meatless main dish. Very hearty like a risotto. Browning the orzo and slow cooking really adds depth and flavor. Fresh grated Parmesan is a must here. I added about 1/4 cup more broth to completely cook the pasta. Thanks, kburie, for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      This recipe is fantastic and I have received rave reviews - thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toasted Orzo With Peas and Parmesan

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.6
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    20%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 478.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes