13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a yummy sandwich. This was made using a whole grain, gluten free bread. The combination of flavors is wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 08, 2012

Ohhhh, this is good. I left off the onion for reasons of texture, but did use a bit of mayo. I used Horseradish Sauce for the horseradish sauce. It was shockingly delicious! This goes right into the rotation. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl September 17, 2011

I never in a million years would have dreamed of pairing horseradish with ham and cheese.....but I'm so glad that somebody did...because this sandwich is just delicious!!!
I made exactly as written, and absolutely loved it!!!
Thank you so much for a great new sandwich idea Syd.
Made for 123 Hits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo September 10, 2011

Horseradish for years on roast beef but I never would have thought to use horseradish on grilled ham and am very glad you did. I made one slight change in that I left off the mayonnaise. This is a great quick sandwich that I will be making again. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl September 10, 2011

Well, I've made grilled ham and cheese many times, but never thought of adding onion - inspired. I used a horseradish cream and ghee instead of butter - easier to spread. This is great with a hearty soup for supper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte January 07, 2014

A very enjoyable sandwich though I only used a scaping of mayo and the tiniest bit of horseradish sauce as I am not a bit fan of it but enjoyed the hint ot in the sandwich with sharp cheddar and sweet red onion and salty smoked ham. Thank you Sydney Mike, made for I Recommend tag game and recommended by breezermom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat November 09, 2012

This was a really tasty grilled sandwich that we all thoroughly enjoyed. I doubled the recipe to make 4 sandwiches. I found that I was out of horseradish sauce so, as another reviewer suggested, I made Horseradish Sauce, which was not horsradish-y enough for my taste. I used 1-1/2 slices of ham per sandwich, and followed the rest of the recipe as posted. The red onion gave it a nice zip and was a great change of pace. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! March 18, 2012

Really good sandwich! I've never used cheddar on my ham sandwich, always used some type of swiss, and this was very good with the horseradish. That with the red onion gave this recipe a nice little bite. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 13, 2012

This was a delicious grilled cheese, one I will make again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba January 24, 2012

Made this for DH's lunch today...he wanted to know why his grilled ham and cheese tasted so much better...he loved it! Thanks for posting...:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas December 26, 2011
Toasted Ham and Cheese