19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are a huge hit with the kids at the before and after school program where I work. We serve breakfast and only have access to a toaster and microwave. The kids prefer them without the mayo or butter and I use 2 slices of cheese. Served with a side of fruit and some juice or milk. These are a nice change from oatmeal, cereal, and bacon and egg bagels.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IB Alumni June 24, 2011

I really enjoyed the ease of preparation but was not crazy about the mayo. I also found that the bread got a bit soft. Might be that I didn't toast it enough or my paper towel was too moist. I really like the idea and plan to prepare it again without mayo and more toasted bread. I could see adding some thinly sliced ham to it. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 04, 2010

This was new for me too and it turned out very good! I used 1 slice muenster cheese and 1 slice sharp cheddar. Yum! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 15, 2008

The DM gave this the big thumbs up as a very light dinner after a full day out 4x4 wheel driving over dirt bush tracks, she did request to add grated carrot (which I had in the fridge) and I used 2 thin slices of vintage cheddar cheese on wholemeal bread. Thank you MsSally for a quick easy way to do a toasted sandwich which I can see being very versatile with the fillings, made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 14, 2008

A toasted sandwish in the microwave? a very new experience for me, ditto putting mayo into a sandwich (next time I will prefer to use just the butter). Please see my Rating system: 4 excellent stars for a quick and easy lunchtime snack. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch December 07, 2008

I never thought that I'd be making a toasted sandwich in the microwave but this is a method I'm going to be using a lot now! I was in the mood for sardines when I made this so I added sardines to a slice of Swiss cheese (I'm not at all sure where I could buy American cheese here!) and I omitted the butter in step two, adding it instead on the outside of the toast after it came out of the microwave. This recipe belongs with those I classify as my great finds on Zaar. Even though I regularly cook bacon this way, it would never have occurred to me to make a toasted sandwich in the same way! Thank you, so much, for sharing this technique, MsSally! Made for Every "DAY" Is A Holiday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 06, 2008

Great sandwich. I would have never thought to do a "Grilled Cheese" sandwich in the microwave oven. BTW, I used 2 slices of cheese with no problems. Thanks and congrats on the FB pool win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim October 03, 2008

I actually like these better than the stove top ones...these aren't greasy like the other ones tend to be. But the best part is that my grandkids can now make their own grilled cheese sandwiches without much supervision. They think that's pretty cool.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra July 23, 2008

WoW! these was a new great way of making a toasted grilled cheese. I was a bit worried that putting in the microwave would mess up a good toasted grilled cheese but it didn't and I enjoyed my sandwich as if I had put it in a pan as I usually do. Thanks for sharing this new way of a toasted grilled cheese MsSally. It was quick and easy and fabulous!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. July 14, 2008

I was thrilled that this did not get soggy in the microwave. Like others, I was a little skeptical!! I am actually able to make this for work at lunch since we have a toaster and microwave. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe March 30, 2008
Toasted Grilled Cheese Sandwich