Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Toasted Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toasted Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2011

      These are a huge hit with the kids at the before and after school program where I work. We serve breakfast and only have access to a toaster and microwave. The kids prefer them without the mayo or butter and I use 2 slices of cheese. Served with a side of fruit and some juice or milk. These are a nice change from oatmeal, cereal, and bacon and egg bagels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I really enjoyed the ease of preparation but was not crazy about the mayo. I also found that the bread got a bit soft. Might be that I didn't toast it enough or my paper towel was too moist. I really like the idea and plan to prepare it again without mayo and more toasted bread. I could see adding some thinly sliced ham to it. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This was new for me too and it turned out very good! I used 1 slice muenster cheese and 1 slice sharp cheddar. Yum! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      The DM gave this the big thumbs up as a very light dinner after a full day out 4x4 wheel driving over dirt bush tracks, she did request to add grated carrot (which I had in the fridge) and I used 2 thin slices of vintage cheddar cheese on wholemeal bread. Thank you MsSally for a quick easy way to do a toasted sandwich which I can see being very versatile with the fillings, made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      A toasted sandwish in the microwave? a very new experience for me, ditto putting mayo into a sandwich (next time I will prefer to use just the butter). Please see my Rating system: 4 excellent stars for a quick and easy lunchtime snack. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I never thought that I'd be making a toasted sandwich in the microwave but this is a method I'm going to be using a lot now! I was in the mood for sardines when I made this so I added sardines to a slice of Swiss cheese (I'm not at all sure where I could buy American cheese here!) and I omitted the butter in step two, adding it instead on the outside of the toast after it came out of the microwave. This recipe belongs with those I classify as my great finds on Zaar. Even though I regularly cook bacon this way, it would never have occurred to me to make a toasted sandwich in the same way! Thank you, so much, for sharing this technique, MsSally! Made for Every "DAY" Is A Holiday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Great sandwich. I would have never thought to do a "Grilled Cheese" sandwich in the microwave oven. BTW, I used 2 slices of cheese with no problems. Thanks and congrats on the FB pool win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      I actually like these better than the stove top ones...these aren't greasy like the other ones tend to be. But the best part is that my grandkids can now make their own grilled cheese sandwiches without much supervision. They think that's pretty cool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      WoW! these was a new great way of making a toasted grilled cheese. I was a bit worried that putting in the microwave would mess up a good toasted grilled cheese but it didn't and I enjoyed my sandwich as if I had put it in a pan as I usually do. Thanks for sharing this new way of a toasted grilled cheese MsSally. It was quick and easy and fabulous!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I was thrilled that this did not get soggy in the microwave. Like others, I was a little skeptical!! I am actually able to make this for work at lunch since we have a toaster and microwave. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I left off the mayo and butter to make it more calorie friendly. It is a fast way to have lunch as you run out the door!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I made this today for a super-quick and easy lunch. I must admit I was a little skeptical about the microwave part, but this is right on target! I loved how quick and easy it was. Yum! Thanks, MsSally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I was home today and wanted a quick and easy lunch so I made this. It was really good. I didn't use mayo or butter and used 2 slices of cheese. Loved it. Simple but good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This is really quick, easy and tastes delicious! It is great for when you don't want to dirty a pan to make the stove top kind. I used light mayonnaise and cheddar cheese. Thanks for sharing and congrats on winning the football pool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Wow! After all these years, you would think I would know about this super easy, super duper, great way to fix this wonderful sandwich. I followed this exactly, except I only had some sharp cheddar cheese instead of American. I was more then happy to run out the door with a warm sandwich in hand, and devour this as I was walking. Thank you for showing me this wonderful technique for making this special sandwich. Thanks, MsSally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      These are great when you don't want to dirty up a pan or cookie sheet to make a grilled cheese. I have used this method before on one of those "lazy days", lol. The sandwich is very good, maybe not as good a a real grilled cheese, but still very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      This is great! I love the fact you do not have to dirty a pan!!!!!!! I would give more than 5 stars just for that alone. Based on taste, more than 5 stars too, it taste great no added fat (butter or mayo). You're a genius! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      I made these sandwiches today for our boys for lunch. This was so much easier than grilling in a pan and my boys loved them! This is a great idea and now I will make grilled cheese more often. Thanks, MsSally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Very simple and tasty! A nice way to make grilled cheese without all of the butter and dirtying up a pan. Thanks MsSally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toasted Grilled Cheese Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    40%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 469.7 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes