22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. My cookies did not come out crispy, but soft and chewy. I only used a couple drops of coconut extract because that is all that was left in the bottle, but because it is very strong, they still had a lot of coconut flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj March 25, 2010

Wow! Over the top delicious!! I doubled the recipe as I needed a bigger batch for company. I also toasted the coconut in the oven...worked great. Instead of chocolate chips, I used Hershey milk chocolate bars, chopped. I really think that the toasted coconut added that extra punch of flavor! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes October 01, 2013

I replaced the shortening with margarine and decreased the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups as suggested by other reviewers. These cookies were so yummy and so easy! I did expect there to be more coconut taste especially with the coconut extract, but they were still very tasty! I think next time I may try adding toasted almond slivers as well. Taking these to my in-laws later today. I hope they like them as much as we did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YiskahSarah October 28, 2012

Positively the very best cookies I ever made and I am not a big time cookie maker. Greatest taste and I did use only 1/2 butter and the rest of the shortening I used vanilla yogurt which worked beautifully. I am always trying to save a few calories and between cutting the shortening in half and cutting back on the sugar a little, I was very happy with the outcome. These were just delicious even with the "lightening up" a little of them. (if you do use yogurt in place of the shortening use 1/2 cup of margarine/butter and then only 1/4 cup of yogurt which would be the equivalent of the other 1/2 cup of shortening) just delicious and perfectly shaped. I made smaller cookies too to stretch them a little and not be too many calories. Greatest cookie!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rsp2749 October 08, 2012

These cookies are enormous! Everyone loved them, and the coconut smell was such a nice change after our long dreary winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 February 15, 2010

Delicious! These are very crispy and tasty. I substituted 3/4c of coconut oil in place of the shortening. The full 2 cups of chips was too much, so I had to use a bit less.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oakparkveggie December 23, 2009

I loved these cookies! I chose this recipe becuase I pretty much had everything I needed on hand. Its 20 below zero and I did not want to haul four kids to the store. I resisted the urge to use butter instead of the shortening. I did not have any coconut extract though. They were still deliciouse. If I had the extract I would of probly eaten the whole batch myself!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexi L December 12, 2009

Oh my heavens, these cookies are divine! I just adore coconut so I knew this was going to be good. I had to make a change to butter as I did not have shortening and I used only 1 1/2 C chocolate chips since that was all I had left. I think using butter caused the cookies to spread more than shortening would have but that was still okay. Also, I think the 1 1/2 C choc chips is about right for us too. I can't wait to see my kid's eyes pop out of their heads tonight when they see how big these are! Awesome cookies Roxy, thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word September 14, 2009

Very, very yummy. I loved how easy it was...just mixing everything at once. I did accidentally use baking powder instead of soda but noticed no problems. I used a cookie scoop instead of the 1/4 cup method of measuring the cookies and got about 40 2" cookies. Probably would have gotten about 45 if I could stop eating the raw dough! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing July 02, 2009

My hubby has been bugging me for days to make some cookies. I checked my saved recipes in my cookbooks and decided to try yours. Glad I did. I used the shortening worked well, sub. the brown sugar and made it 1 cup white sugar. Wanted to make a lighter colored cookie. Made 36 cookies using a #30 cookie scoop. By the way DH loved the cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jorgydee December 21, 2008
Toasted Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies