Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Toasted Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toasted Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2010

      I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. My cookies did not come out crispy, but soft and chewy. I only used a couple drops of coconut extract because that is all that was left in the bottle, but because it is very strong, they still had a lot of coconut flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      Wow! Over the top delicious!! I doubled the recipe as I needed a bigger batch for company. I also toasted the coconut in the oven...worked great. Instead of chocolate chips, I used Hershey milk chocolate bars, chopped. I really think that the toasted coconut added that extra punch of flavor! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      I replaced the shortening with margarine and decreased the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups as suggested by other reviewers. These cookies were so yummy and so easy! I did expect there to be more coconut taste especially with the coconut extract, but they were still very tasty! I think next time I may try adding toasted almond slivers as well. Taking these to my in-laws later today. I hope they like them as much as we did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Positively the very best cookies I ever made and I am not a big time cookie maker. Greatest taste and I did use only 1/2 butter and the rest of the shortening I used vanilla yogurt which worked beautifully. I am always trying to save a few calories and between cutting the shortening in half and cutting back on the sugar a little, I was very happy with the outcome. These were just delicious even with the "lightening up" a little of them. (if you do use yogurt in place of the shortening use 1/2 cup of margarine/butter and then only 1/4 cup of yogurt which would be the equivalent of the other 1/2 cup of shortening) just delicious and perfectly shaped. I made smaller cookies too to stretch them a little and not be too many calories. Greatest cookie!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      These cookies are enormous! Everyone loved them, and the coconut smell was such a nice change after our long dreary winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Delicious! These are very crispy and tasty. I substituted 3/4c of coconut oil in place of the shortening. The full 2 cups of chips was too much, so I had to use a bit less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      I loved these cookies! I chose this recipe becuase I pretty much had everything I needed on hand. Its 20 below zero and I did not want to haul four kids to the store. I resisted the urge to use butter instead of the shortening. I did not have any coconut extract though. They were still deliciouse. If I had the extract I would of probly eaten the whole batch myself!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Oh my heavens, these cookies are divine! I just adore coconut so I knew this was going to be good. I had to make a change to butter as I did not have shortening and I used only 1 1/2 C chocolate chips since that was all I had left. I think using butter caused the cookies to spread more than shortening would have but that was still okay. Also, I think the 1 1/2 C choc chips is about right for us too. I can't wait to see my kid's eyes pop out of their heads tonight when they see how big these are! Awesome cookies Roxy, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Very, very yummy. I loved how easy it was...just mixing everything at once. I did accidentally use baking powder instead of soda but noticed no problems. I used a cookie scoop instead of the 1/4 cup method of measuring the cookies and got about 40 2" cookies. Probably would have gotten about 45 if I could stop eating the raw dough! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      My hubby has been bugging me for days to make some cookies. I checked my saved recipes in my cookbooks and decided to try yours. Glad I did. I used the shortening worked well, sub. the brown sugar and made it 1 cup white sugar. Wanted to make a lighter colored cookie. Made 36 cookies using a #30 cookie scoop. By the way DH loved the cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      These tasted good but I would not use shortening next time.I would use margarine.The shortening makes the cookie too crispy and flaky.Good overall taste though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      DELICIOUS!!!! I didn't use the coconut extract so I couldn't taste very much coconut. Other than that YUM! Goes great with milk!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Leave it to Roxygirl to show us how to make the perfect coconut chocolate chip cookie. These baked up big and beautiful. Right up my husband's alley...and everyone else who tastes them. No changes made--thanks, Roxy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      GORGEOUS cookies! Never had cocnut choco-chip cookies before and we LOVE coconut, so this has become our absolute favourite! I didn't have coconut extract so skipped that out, and added just 1 cup of choco-chips. DD was happily munching on them too! Thank you, Roxygirl, for sharing another one of your wonderful recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      These were delicious. I couldn't stop eating them. I think two cups of chocolate chips is too much. After forming the cookies I had about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips left in the bottom of the bowl. I think I'll use 1 cup of chocolate chips next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      Awesome, one of my very favourite cookies! The toasted coconut and oats make these cookies divine! I used butter as well and made smaller cookies. These are truly divine, such a treat! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      These cookies are outstanding! The only change I made was I used half butter and half shortening. I like the flavor and texture of butter in cookies. Definitely make sure to take the time to toast the coconut. It really elevates the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      amazing - I toasted the coconut in the oven and it works just the same but you have to watch it closely because it burns fast. I doubled the batch, used have butter and added a few peanut butter chips to the very last batch in the oven. These were so delicious and even people that don't like coconut loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      Wonderful cookies! I loved the toasted coconut! Only changes I made were to sub butter for shortening and to make regular-sized cookies which baked for 11 minutes. Even the kids and their friend, none of whom like coconut, really enjoyed these. Crispy, lots of texture with the oatmeal and coconut and lots of chocolate chips. Delicious! Thanks, Roxygirl, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      Wow, what a great cookie! The oatmeal gives it an added texture and love,love, love the toasted coconut. Unfortunately, did not have any coconut extract on hand, so just left it out. Will definitely be a do again recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toasted Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 329.8
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    56%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 10.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 209.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 22.1 g
    88%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes