17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! For those making odd-sized batches, you need approx. 1 TBSP butter per 1 cup of pecan halves. I tend to like a lighter touch on salt, so I added 1/8 tsp. per cup of nuts (or approx. 1/2 tsp. per pound of pecans). Thank you so much for offering this easy recipe for these delectable little treats!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
night.owl.bookstore December 25, 2009

I LOVE these!! My Mom made some to take to my Christmas party, and I ate the last of them yesterday. I HAD to make some for myself today! I love the saltiness of the nuts. I used unsalted butter and a little less seasoned salt than called for. I also added just a dash of chili powder, as that is what my Mom said she does. Be sure to stir them every 5 minutes or so, so they will toast evenly. Thanks, Rita, for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys January 06, 2010

Tasty pecans, great on green salads.These are good to have on hand for a lot of other dishes, Thanks Rita for another special recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz December 23, 2003

This was the perfect topping for the salad I made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer May 28, 2013

Great--simple and easy. Will look great ina red cellophane bag on goodie trays, if DH leaves them alone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 December 18, 2009

As written these are way too salty. I followed the recipe as written and we couldn't eat these. I should have read the reviews first but with all the 5 stars, I figured as written these were perfect. I did make them again and used 1 teaspoon of season salt and still thought they were pretty salty so I added 2 tablespoons of sugar to help with the taste. I would definately cut the salt back to 1/2 teaspoon and use unsalted butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 09, 2009

Just pulled a batch out of the oven. This was my first trial run of a new recipe for a big Christmas party we're planning. Now if I could only find a dozen more appetizers that are this quick, easy and delicious! I followed Michelle's lead, reducing the McCormick's s.s. slightly and adding a sprinkling of garlic powder. YUM! This is the perfect nibble to serve at the bar. Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton October 02, 2008

These are great and so very easy to make :) I used Lawry's seasoning salt and added just a few drops of worcestershire Sauce too. Great for partys,gifts, or just to have something to snack on. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. November 23, 2007

We loved these! We have our own pecan tree in the back yard and I'm always looking for easy ways to use them. These tasted so good when warm! Not too greasy and just the right amount of salt. Thanks! Just editing to add that 1 pound shelled pecans equals 4 to 4-1/2 cups halves or 3 to 3-3/4 cups chopped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 19, 2006

Very good! I used Lawry's seasoned salt. It's so quick to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon November 18, 2006
Toasted Butter-Glazed Pecans