10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Toast Hawaii or Hawaii toast as we say in Germany, really is a universal staple. At my favorite restaurant in Germany they used a bit of yellow mustard to give it a bit of a zing. It's great either way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mausi February 23, 2013

I am German and grew up on this , I just wanted to add that you can please the person who does not like cheese and pineapple...like my Italian husband ,making Toast Hawaii by switching out the pineapple with fresh slices of tomato .You could even switch out the ham with pepperoni or salami, I prefer salami, we used to make this in Germany and called it Pizzabrot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Highmoon July 31, 2011

I split 2 wholemeal/wholegrain rolls and the DM and I thoroughly enjoyed this for lunch today. Loved biting through the sharp cheddar cheese I used with the sweetness from the pineapple and that slight smoky salty taste of the ham with the soft warmth of the bread roll and that little punch from the herbs - delicious. Thank you FloridaNative for a great lunch and Alligirl for the recommomendation - made for I Recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 20, 2010

I split a sourdough English muffin, piled on the filling (including a dash of marjoram) and used muenster cheese, closed the muffin and quickly heated in the George Foreman grill. Loved the flavor and enjoyed this for my evening snack! Thanks for posting Kitty and thanks to Boomie's review which prompted me to make this! Made for I Recommend Tag,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn July 10, 2010

I loved this! Instead of sliced cheese though, I used shredded mozzarella (what I had on hand). Is very similar (as other reviewers have stated) to a Hawaiian pizza without the sauce. Would also be good on an English Muffin :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe July 01, 2010

I used reduced fat pizza style mozzarella so this tasted a lot like a sauce free Hawaiian pizza. It was a really nice change up from the normal lunch sandwich. Made for Zee Zany Zesty Cookz for the Family Picks portion of ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne June 23, 2010

Wonderful! I love Hawaiian pizza, so I could tell this would be a hit too, and it was. so quick and easy to prepare too. I used the butter this time, but plan to try some of the other suggested sauces in the future too. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews May 31, 2010

Yum. I made this for as snack with a slice of homemade bread, fresh pineapple, sliced turkey breast and manchego cheese. The marjoram adds a special touch. I didn't make it in the oven, just used a skillet to toast the bread, then I assembled the sandwich and covered it. It only took a couple of minutes to melt the cheese. Thank you FloridaNative! Made for the Swizzle Chicks and ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J May 28, 2010

Simple and easy; why didn't I think of this? LOL Ham and cheese is a fave, but the butter was a nice understated nuance. The pineapple just ups the WOW factor; I'll certainly be making this again, probably soon! Thanks for sharing, FloridaNative. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl May 25, 2010

I used half a foccacia bread. I used unsalted butter, 2 slices black forest ham, 1 slice of canned pineapple. I omitted the marjoram cause I made it for my son. I used part skim mozzarella on top. I let it in the oven for 12 minutes. My son liked it but didn't finish it so I was able to taste it and it was so yummy. I'll have to do it for myself. (I only got 1 slice left of pineapple, that's why he was the lucky one LOL). Thanks FloridaNative :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 20, 2010
Toast Hawaii - Open Faced Sandwich for a Snack or Dinner