Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Toad- In- the -Hole II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toad- In- the -Hole II

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2002

      This was very nice. My husband is English and I cook Toad in the Hole quite often, but then the plain recipe. This batter was richer and softer. The onion and the cheese are great ingredients to add, but next time(and there will be a next time) I will increase the amount of cheese because that flavor did not come through enough.Thank you for this different Toad version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      It came out golden and tasted just as good as it looked - As suggested by the previous reviewer I increased the cheese to 1/2 cup and doubled the onion to 4 tbsp I used locally made English Bangers. I made the batter earlier in the day kept it very cold in the fridge and poured it into the 400 degree pan over the bangers. I think this helps rhe batter to rise (Ido this with my Yorkshire Puddings too) With the increased cheese and onion this is better than a 5 star. Thank-you Barbara for a comfort food recipe that I will make again — Feb 27, 2003, 2 members found this helpful Made this again and this time took photos - I think they convene how good this recipe really is! Thanks Arroostook for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      AWESOME! cooking time is perfect. I precooked the sausage in a fry pan with the onions. I left the onions in the fry pan and made gravy. Serve with mashed potatoes. Comfort food for sure

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Five stars all the way! I was quite surprised what a difference the cheese made in Toad-in-the-Hole; it's a delicious addition. I left out the onion due to DS's request, but I can just imagine that the addition of onion would make this even better. I had 6 plump "bangers" and, surprisingly, after 20 minutes in the oven I had hardly any fat in the pan. So I added some canola oil and, like Bergy, added the batter that I had made earlier and kept chilled in the fridge. After 30 minutes it was done to perfection and was very much enjoyed at dinner. Thanks for posting; it's a definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      great dish!!!my kids loved it.I used gluten free flour and it turned out just fine.I put extra cheese n salt.will make again.thanks alot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      This was a great dish that is out of the ordinary for me but I had to try. I made my batter the night before and sprayed the pan with cooking spray and it rose up so big I thought it was going to come out the pan! I made onion gravy and mashed potatoes with it and I think brown gravy is a must for the toad. A very rich and comforting meal. I wonder what it might taste like with ground sausage or a little salt in the batter. British food is always a little bland to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This makes such a tasty Toad in the Hole. I chilled the batter, as other commenters suggested, and it rose golden and beautiful in the oven. I used a 14 ounce pack of Hillshire Farms sausage, and they cooked very well. But the batter - that was the star. It turned all crispy around the edges, and in the middle it was soft (but not doughy), almost like a fluffy omelet. This one will be joining my recipe repertoire for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I was looking for a way to use up our kielbasa sausage and I came across this. This turned out excellent and was very easy. I doubled the recipe so that I could have some for lunch the next day. I also made some instant mashed potatoes and the onion gravy for the side dish to it as suggested in some other recipes which I topped to both the potatoes and the sausage and was excellent. The only problem was that I cooked ait little too long and some of the sausages got too dark on the outside, but that was me and my oven's fault! My young kids loved it. Thanks for a great recipe. I will try this with some breakfast sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Wow! Wonderful! Great! This was SO amazing! This was our first introduction to Toad In The Hole and it will not be our last! I changed the onions to about a tbsp of cooked green onions as my family prefers them. The onions really brought a great flavour to the bread. Seeing as I want to be like Bergy when I grow up, I also chilled my batter ahead of time. That helped make dinner time a snap! I will do that again as well. I used low fat cheese and it worked out great. The only problem I had was that I didn't seem to get enough oil in the bottom so the bread part stuck to some parts of the bottom and all the sides. Next time I will just give a quick spray with cooking spray ahead of time. No fuss! Loved this. Thank you for a new favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      I made made this this morning and it was a huge hit. Everyone took seconds, asked what it was and even wanted to know the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I made this with some fresh pork linguisa sausage from Whole Foods. When I removed them after the initial 20 minute bake there wasn't nearly 2 tablespoons of grease and I was afraid it the batter might stick, but no problems at all! The cooked batter barely stuck at all. Very nice dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toad- In- the -Hole II

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.1
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    60%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 140.5 mg
    46%
    Sodium 583.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites