Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / To Die for Spaghetti Carbonara by Tom Cruise Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To Die for Spaghetti Carbonara by Tom Cruise

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2010

      I made this for my husband [I am on a diet] who had never had spaghetti carbonara before. He likes all the ingredients but did not like the end result. He thought it was too dry, not creamy enough. I think its a personal preference thing though. He likes fettuccine alfredo a lot and thats more his type of thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      this was simply wonderful. simmering the pancetta, onion, garlic and peppers in the oil for a lengthy time really allowed for the flavours to develop. i loved the simplicity of the ingredients... you can taste every one of them in the final dish without any overpowering the others (plus there was no mess in the kitchen to clean up - bonus!). i am a fan of fairly "naked" pasta and have been searching for the perfect non-creamy carbonara recipe for ages. i have definitely found it. thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Really delicious pasta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

    • on September 20, 2009

      I love this receipe and I am making it again! Yum! Yum! and made it with egg substitute and it was just as good...also add red and green bell pepper slices and...it is even better! Five stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I'm not a fan of Tom Cruise, but i"m a fan of this!! Huge portions that I had no problem tackling. :) Made exactly as listed and the red pepper flakes gave it a nice kick! Made for the Fall PAC. Thanks ~Nimz~ :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This went over so-so as DH didn't think it was saucy enough for a spaghetti dish. He did love the taste of the pancetta (a first for me) as I do have bacon lovers in the house, but just wishing that there was more sauce. My fault entirely as I should have read over the recipe better and realized it really didn't have any. Served with some garlic toast and it made for a very filling meal. Made for HolidayTag.~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Amazing! That's all I can say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This recipe was really good and filling. I accidently burned the pancetta mixture and had only half the amount of cheese needed but I think it still turned out yummy. Will definitely make again and maybe next time I will add tomatoes and chicken. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      This was really easy to make and was pretty darn good. I didn't have any pancetta on hand so I made bacon instead, which could have affected the overall taste. It's no homemade Italian spaghetti carbonara, but since I'm not in Italy, I'll take this! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I made this using bacon in place of the pancetta, increased the garlic way up, used 2 good teaspoons chili flakes, with lots of freshly ground black pepper, thanks for sharing Nimzie, we enjoyed thei dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Bland. Need something. It's a good starter recipe but it's lacking that something that makes food great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I've made this recipe at least a dozen times since I saw it on the Oprah show..it's so good! I've made this with turkey bacon too and it's even better in our opinion...just because it has more flavor. We don't use the red pepper flakes. Try this recipe...you won't be sorry. Oh...I agree with the other reviewer that spaghetti does work better than angel hair. Thanks for posting, now I'll have a copy for safe keeping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This was okay. But a little bland and I usually like onion but didn't like the combination of onion & egg here. I also used angel hair so it got kind of all stuck together - I would suggest spaghetti or even fettucine noodles. Oh well - good to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      DH saw this on Oprah (he was home sick..... he says that's the only reason he was watching it lol) anyway he surprised me when I got home from work with this. I loved it we have made it for friends and family numberous times. The only "bad" thing is convincing DH to make it again. I claim ignorance so shhhhh! don't tell him I have the recipe! Love it and thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      made this last night and halfed everything..and do agree w/ everyone that even w/ half it's alot of food since it's very filling. i felt it was a little bland so i added a bunch of salt, pepper in the end. but family still felt it was bland so i added some of mccormick's california style garlic salt. i even chose good quality freshly grated parmesan cheese from the deli at the grocery store. i'm pretty sure i followed the directions correctly...but i'll try again..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Simply delicious and deliciously simple! Used all the "sauce" ingredients to 1 lb. spaghetti though. Since first trying this the family's asked for it again and again. This one's a sure-fire hit! Thanks for sharing Nimz!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      20 Stars Nimz! I made a single portion of this for DH and he inhaled it! He said "it's really really good, PLEASE make this again"... high praise from the Picky Pasta Master indeed! The only change I made was that I didn't have pancetta so used bacon, but also increased the amount of bacon in the single serve as DH likes it. Although I am low-er carbing at the moment, and didn't have this myself tonight, this IS a recipe that I could see myself enjoying too becuase it contains no tomatoes (I like pasta with sauce, just not 'always" a tomato based one) Please see my rating system: a wonderful 5 stars for a top recipe that DH loved... VERY Well done Nimz, he's tough to impress THIS much! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I can see why they call this "To Die for." It is out of this world delicious. I did cut the recipe in half and there was still leftovers, but that's ok. I used a good quality parmigiano-reggiano cheese, which made it so very tasty and rich. I've never made anything with pancetta in it before (although I've had it at restaurants) and I enjoyed the taste. This will be a keeper and something I'd love to serve when I have dinner guests. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Wow!!! This recipe is fabulous. I surprised my wife tonight cooking this dish, and we both loved it. This recipe is rather large (maybe feeding 5-6 people), so I cut it in half, and we were still only able to eat half of it. It is very filling, but so worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To Die for Spaghetti Carbonara by Tom Cruise

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 764.0
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    17%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 153.3 mg
    51%
    Sodium 567.0 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 117.1 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 37.0 g
    74%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites