Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / To Die for Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To Die for Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    119 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 119

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2006

      These are to die for! I've made them several times and always have rave reviews and requests for the recipe. It's Red, White & Green for Christmas! I double the recipe. I boil whole red potatoes (2- 3lb. bags) in a stock pot and then drain them and mash them right in the pot with the skins still on. Then I mash the other ingredients into them. I add extra garlic, chives, marjoram, green onions & bacon bits (hormel real crumbled picnic bacon). I add some cream along with the milk and more sour cream until it's extra creamy. I put it into a removable crock from my crock pot and refrigerate it until 1-2 hours before the event. Then I bake it at 350 until heated through. I bring it to the event, put it into the crockpot set on low, dot it with butter and paprika & Wowee, it all disappears! Yummy! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Brilliant recipe - very tasty and creamy. Best part was being able to make earlier in the day along with the turkey stuffing and then letting them stay piping hot in the slow cooker until Christmas dinner was ready to be served. Added a bit of butter just before serving - still smooth and creamy even after hours on warm in the slow cooker. Made my day in the kitchen so much easier - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These are the most AMAZING tasting mashed potatoes and perfect to make when having company over. I made these (along with my hubby :) ) in the morning around 10am and put them in the crock pot on the warm setting all day. They formed a nice crust on top, but underneath they were nice and moist. Just before serving around 8pm, I put a dab of butter on top, stirred them, and whola! I actually put them in a serving bowl w/ a lid, and they stayed on the table for about 15 minutes before eating them, and they were still piping hot. Everyone was in awe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      My family loves mashed potatoes! One could say they are connoisseurs as they are very picky on the type and "add-ins" for the potatoes. I was a little nervous trying this but because I was going to be under a time crunch for preparation, I decided to give it a whirl. First off, I didn't tell anyone I was doing anything different to see if I could get a reaction. I didn't want to taint their views by knowing they are trying a new recipe. I just put it out there just like every year. They were delicious!! Making them in the crock pot is brilliant as these are always the last thing I prepare for any meal. Using the crock pot enables me to prepare them ahead of time and then not take time away from the guests/family right before meal time. I prepared them the night before exactly as written in the recipe. The next morning, I plugged in the crock pot. I was afraid they might be dry so I added a thin layer of chicken broth (about 1/2 inch) on top. As the potatoes warmed, I stirred in the broth. I would caution those who aren't onion/chive fans. This has a strong onion flavor. If you rather not have the onion, just use plain cream cheese.

      This is our new staple for mashed potatoes. I must admit that I am not crazy with the added calories but the taste is outstanding! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Absolutely delicious, thanks for sharing it. Like most cooks, I "fiddled" with it. Used half plain cream cheese and half garlic/herb, both fat free. I also added the salt while cooking the potatoes rather than after. I omitted the garlic, green onions and bacon. I added about 1/4 cup hot milk and another knob of butter before stirring and serving. Still got a thumbs up from the whole family. I also used one of those crock pot liners to make an even easier clean up. My other make ahead potato recipes have now been discarded. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      Made these today for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone was asking for the recipe. Made a few modifications to the recipe which turned out in our favor. Omitted chives, green onions, marjoram, and onion powder since the 8 oz of chive cream cheese provided plenty of onion taste. We added another 4 tablespoons of butter to help soften the onion taste and it turned out perfectly. After making the mashed potatoes, we put them into the crock pot with liner and cooked at high for 2.5 hours and low for .5 hours. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Made these for Thanksgiving as an experiment for a work potluck next month, only omitting bacon (purposely) & green onions (forgot). WONDERFUL! I was afraid 3-1/2 hrs in a low slowcooker might burn them, so I did stir every hour or so, but they came out perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Delicious! And definitely company-worthy. I followed the recipe as listed (didn't peel potatoes), minus the marjoram and bacon. They were a hit at Thanksgiving and so easy to make. I did have to add a few extra potatoes at the end because they were a little too creamy at first. I love that they can be made ahead and reheated in a crockpot. I'll be making them again in a few weeks for a potluck at work. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      These are fantastic. I peeled the potatoes the day before,kept them in the fridge in water,cooked them the following morning mixed them and then kept them in the crock pot,and turned on the crockpot a couple of hrs. before the meal to reheat a bit. I skipped the chives and the bacon. This recipe is placed in my Tried and true cookbook. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! This is a life saver recipe. I had a holiday lunch at work this past Monday and since I live about 30 mins away from my office, I needed something that I could keep warm in a crockpot. I made these mashed potatoes the night before omitting the marjoram, bacon and paprika and put it the fridge. The next morning I took my crockpot to work and plugged it in. Right before serving I placed some butter on top, stirred it and added it to the buffet table. Everyone loved it! Thank you for making me look so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Every time I make these people fight for any leftovers to take home. Mostly, there are no leftovers. For that occasion when taste, not calories count.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      These were great mash potatoes. The green onion really gave a special touch. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      So - Potatoes, cream cheese, butter, sour cream, chives, green onions and a bit of other things?! What is not to like? These were, of course, yummy. Convenient to be made ahead and brought to a party and reheated (microwave....) They were even good being made into potato patties in the skillet the next day....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Easy and wonderful recipe! I am making them again for Thanksgiving this week! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I made these during the holidays and again for a work potluck this week. They truly are "to die for" ! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      Very good! Nice and creamy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I make these at least twice a year, the only thing I do different is instead of cream cheese I add Boursin cheese. Makes wonderful leftovers....... we like to fry them up into potato cakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This really is a TDF recipe. I made this for Rosh Hashanah last night and it went over big with everyone. I omitted the bacon. I didn't have any marjoram on hand and didn't want to purchase any for one recipe. Seeing as to how a pinch of it is optional I didn't think it would make a difference. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      These are good and I loved the make ahead and serve in the crockpot idea, however I think I am still looking for my perfect make ahead mashed 'taters recipe. I think I prefer a more buttery type of mashed potato. If you do decide to use your crockpot make sure you are familiar with how long it will take to heat them through. I made mine on the stove, stuck them in the crockpot overnight and reheated them on Turkey Day. They were not warm all the way through -- not a good thing to discover when you sit down to eat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      These were alright - I tasted a bit too much onion. And although I love onions, it was overbearing. If I make these again, I'll probably omit the onion powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To Die for Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (230 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 373.0
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    51%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 615.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes