1644 Reviews

This was very, very good. I didn't have time to put it in a crockpot, so I just cooked it in the oven on 350 for about 2.5 hours. The last hour I cooked carrots around the outside. I didn't even need to thicken the gravy it was already perfect. When my kids saw it coming out for dinner, they were both saying yuck.....then proceeded to each eat 2 helpings. It was delicious, easy and my kids ate it! Will definitely be making again. Thanks Yooper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristin in Michigan January 12, 2003

Yummy!! Thanks for sharing! I read through the other reviews and decided on the 2 - 1oz. packages of brown gravy, 1 - 1oz package of dry ranch mix, and 1- 3/4oz. package of dry italian mix. Added carrots from beginning and added peeled potatoes (cut in half) 4 hours before done. Cooked on low from 8am to 6pm. Turned out great!! Thanks for the recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j_carpenter May 15, 2011

I just got a crock pot for christmas 2010, and wanted to make something good for my first crock pot recipe for new years. I bought a 3.5 lbs Chuck Roast and when i put all the packets of seasonings in a bowl i thought hmm thats alot of seasonings for this meat but o well i rubbed it down and browned the meat on all sides put, potatoes, carrots, celery, and red bell peppers on the bottom of the crock pot poured a little seasoning mix on the veggies put the half cup of water then placed the meat on top and poured the rest of the seasoning mix on the meat again. Well OMG the aroma of this cooking was so mouth watering i had to leave my house and come back when it was ready! I Took it the new years party and nothing but compliments and everyone was impressed as well as myself 5 stars deserved!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cam1l1e January 05, 2011

lets keep this simple. FANTASTIC.
just add an extra cup of water, some fresh warm bread and get ready to moan out loud.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpsulkis December 18, 2010

I've made this several times and actually never found it too salty when I used all the seasoning packets. I use baby carrots, little red potatoes, pearl onions, and a 4-5 lb roast and never had a problem with saltiness. To each their own, but I think using all those veggies compensates for the extra salt. Make this with a loaf of crusty bread, and it's the perfect cool weather meal. Love this recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyonthespot October 30, 2010

Excellent flavor and very easy to do. I made it with a really tough cut of beef that I had purchased on sale. It turned out fork tender. My family didn't find it too salty at all. We loved it the first time as it was written, and the second time used red wine instead of water and liked it even better. My daughter-in-law asked for the recipe so I'm SURE it was a hit with her. In any case, there weren't ANY leftovers.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul January 02, 2003

This was just great and very simple. I used the whole packages of all the seasonings and two roasts totalling about 4 lbs. I put it in at 6:30 and we ate at 5:30 - This is a KEEPER.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryinwi December 23, 2002

Well another 5 star for the superb roast! I followed Lennie and Miller and used the ingredients first as a dry rub then poured the rest in. My only mistake was I should of used all of the ranch dressing. I had a 3lb. roast and the flavor was still excellent but adding all the ranch wouldn't have hurt. DH was eating some last night at midnight :-) I also threw in some carrots and celery about 2 hours before the roast was done. The gravy was fantastic and I served it over mashed potatoes. Great dinner!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH July 25, 2002

It really is "to die for".....I didn't have dried italian dressing mix so exchanged to 1/2 package of dried onion soup mix Added baby carrots and 4 small cut-up potatoes. Thickened the broth with cornstarch mixture for delicious gravy.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary7648_11480414 December 22, 2010
To Die for Crock Pot Roast