1628 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Roast beef is my husband's favorite dish, and he never thought I'd top his mother's...til he tried this one! It was absolutely fantastic, and he RAVED about the gravy made right in the pot. I used the whole packets of the dressing and it didnt come out too salty for us. I was taught to cover a pot roast in water, so I added too much (3 cups instead of 1/2), but next time I'll definitely cut down to how much the recipe suggests. Thank you so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CityGirlExiledToASmallTown December 08, 2009

I have prepared alot or roasts. This rates as one of the best! I used a 4.5 pound beef roast. Added the seasonings and water, then filled my slow cooker with red potatoes, carrots, celerly, onions and mushrooms. Cooked for about 9 hours;everything came out tender and tasted great. Very nice and simple recipe....Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tuffy December 06, 2009

Excellent roast and gravy! A tad salty for my taste. Next time will reduce ranch as suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2nat&ry November 29, 2009

this was the most delicious pot roast I have ever had! I only used half of the ranch dressing which was a perfect amount of saltiness. AWESOME recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueblue's mom November 28, 2009

This is the first pot roast I've made in my slow cooker and, judging by the amount of 5* reviews it has received, after one bite, I knew I had picked the best. I couldn't find the right size packet for the ranch dressing so I bought two smaller paks that totaled just a bit more than the 1 1/4 ounces specified but they worked well. I cut the ranch dressing in 1/2 (used about 3 teaspoons) as you suggested because of the salt content, and used the correct amount for the gravy. Cooked the roast for 7 hours, although, for the size roast I made (about 3-4#'s) I think that was a bit to long. I added onions, carrots and celery (forgot to buy potatoes) that were so yummy - my DH couldn't get enough of them.. This was an excellent recipe and I will surely be making it again. Thanks for sharing Yooper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi November 27, 2009

I've tried so many pot roast for the crock pot recipes that I was beginning to think they were all the same...blah. I asked hubby his opinion of this one and his response "whatever you did this time, keep doing it!" It was really good! I did add some potatoes and carrots along with it, but I left out the usual onions that I put in with a roast. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly (oh yeah, I only had chicken gravy so I used that). Thank you for sharing this, we will definitely be making it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetSitter November 24, 2009

The best roast ! My friend raved and doesn't want me to cook any other way if coming for dinner. I th

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 November 12, 2009

My first venture into the world of crock pot cooking and it turned out great. I cut up 4 small red potatoes and added them along with the roast. I cooked it for around 8 hours and left it to warm for about 2 more till it was time to eat. Everything was tender and well cooked. I don't think there is a need to cut back on the seasoning...I just added a little more water (1/4 c) and it worked out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrillINman November 11, 2009

DELICIOUS! Used a 3lb shoulder roast and cooked it in a covered glass dish in the oven (don't own a crock pot) at 300 degrees. The meat cut like butter! I also added some potatoes, carrots and onions, which turned out great. WOO!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swingncocoa November 11, 2009
To Die for Crock Pot Roast