1631 Reviews

This was good... a perfectly good pot roast... but I wouldn't call it "to die for". I guess from all the reviews and the description I expected something beyond incredible. It was ok. Much like a pot roast I would make the regular way. But I will say it was a very easy way to prepare a roast!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovindisney January 07, 2003

Everything has already been said about this recipe. I really enjoyed the flavor and how easy this is to make. :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ November 01, 2002

Perhaps 3 1/2 stars would be accurate. I only used half the Italian and ranch dressing. I did find the gravy to be very flavourful and it was certainly salty enough for my taste. I put some vegetables in and I thought I had cut them small enough but that was not the case. They were not done. I guess I was expecting something sensational here and didn't achieve it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 October 20, 2002

This was pretty good, but I have a rather large slow cooker, so I had to add a little more water to cover the bottom and to have something for the potatoes to swim in! lol Very delicious! I also made Lennie's Wendy's Rhubarb Stir Cake, (rhubarb cake) to finish off the meal and my husband said it made his "engine purr"! Thanks for posting!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 July 30, 2002

This roast was absolutely delicious. I also only used half a package of ranch dressing mix. The flavor/saltiness was just right for us. The meat was oh so tender and juicy. You add that to the ease of preparation, a person just couldn't ask for more. Thanks yooper, I can see why this is so popular.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes July 25, 2002

After reading all the great reviews, I had to see what all the fuss was about. This is every bit as good as everyone says it is. I used a chuck roast and halved the Ranch dressing like you suggested. Cooked for 8 hours. It turned out perfect. Moist, tender and delicious gravy. This is a perfect recipe for busy, time-challenged people. Thanks yooper.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust July 09, 2002

Served this receipe at the camp this weekend and everyone really liked it. It was quick and easy and I got to fish at the same time.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie Brock July 07, 2002

This roast was excellent! I didn't have the italian dressing so I just used the gravy and ranch mixes and it came out great. Everyone loved it. I'll try the italian next time but I think I'll use half of all the packets and use the rest next time. Thanks for a great recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pennypoo July 07, 2002

Awesome stuff! The leftovers even taste great reheated! YUM!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edgester July 05, 2002
To Die for Crock Pot Roast