1643 Reviews

I hope I'm not going to make any enemies here, just writing an honest review. After reading all the hype about the recipe, it may have created unrealistically high expectations. It was because of all the rave reviews, that I went out of my way to try this. I did NOT find it "too salty" as I read in some of the reviews, and it was "ok" and that was it. It wasn't "really good" "great" or even "to die for". To be honest, I was very disappointed after reading all the reviews. I am sorry, I'm just being honest. It was just "ok". Even combining the brown gravy mix, dried Italian salad dressing mix and dried ranch dressing mix when completed - you could only taste the brown gravy mix. The Ranch and Italian were completely undetecatable. And I did baste the roast every hour to make sure everything was evenly blended. I'm sorry to give such a low review, but I was very disappointed after reading all the hype only to find that it was just "ok". That may be the downside of a recipe that get's too many raving reviews, that it sets other people up for unrealistic expectations and disappointment. Very sorry. No offense intended. But I have to be honest in my reviews. I have made a great deal of recipes here that far exceeded the 5 star rating, and I am very picky. It would not be fair to the other people I review to gratutiously hand out 4 or 5 stars that I felt were not earned. I feel it would ruin my integrity if I were to do that. It's nothing personal, it's 100% based on the recipe alone. I will try more of your recipes - I know you must have several recipes that are a 4 or 5 star recipe, this just wasn't one of them.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck February 12, 2003

I, too, added potatoes, carrots, celery and onions. The gravy was very good. I think that the potatoes helped to cut the salty flavor. I served this over egg noodles. I actually ate more of the veggies and gravy than the roast itself. It was very tender but a tiny bit too dry for my taste. Next time I won't cook it as long.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah July 25, 2002

Great taste...I took others advice and cut back on the mixes. We had a wonderful dinner last night and my daughter took the rest home with her for sandwiches on onion buns...with the gravy and cheese. We tryed one here...It is really good. This recipe is rally good. Thank You

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda July 07, 2002

I did find the recipie to be a bit salty. I took the juice from the roast, added a bit of Beef Dip powder, and water to taste and it made an excellent beef dip which had a lot more flavour then just the plain au jus mix.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Ricard June 14, 2002

I was expecting more, I guess due to the name. I would try again, but it won't be my one and only roast recipe. Thanks for sharing.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady June 08, 2002

this is great and quick and easy to do and tastes great

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lhasa June 02, 2002

I was on my way out the door this morning, keys in one hand child in the other and realized "I forgot to put the roast in the crockpot!" I threw in the roast, all the season packets and water, and since I was in a big rush I threw in a bag of frozen mixed veggies (ones for veggie soup with tomatos and okra). It was amazing when we got home. It will be on my cook regularly list. Good, EASY, Comfort food. Jacq

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacq October 28, 2002

Perfection! I followed directions exactly except I cooked it (3.5 lb roast) for 10 hours on low. Served with biscuits, corn and real mashed potatoes. After removing the roast, I added 1 cup of water and 2-3 tbsp of flour and whisked until a nice gravy formed. YUMMY! This one is printed and glued into my recipe book!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~In*Memory*of*Brats~ October 17, 2002

This is perfect for the 10+ hours-a-day worker! I threw this in the crockpot at 6:30 am and didn't get home to it until 6:00 that evening. It was wonderful! I used only about 1/3 of each package as I only had a 1# roast and it was just PERFECT! I also threw in a quartered potato and carrots so the whole meal was ready. I'll probably toss the rest of the packages on my two-pounder and freeze it all together-defrost and add water. Thanks for a "keeper".

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mostrah September 26, 2002

Couldn't wait to make this and was disappointed. I didn't care for the flavor it imparted into the roast, but it made the most wonderful gravy I have ever tasted. I will prepare my roasts the way I always have, (sprinkled with dry Lipton onion soup) but will incorporate the dry dressing mixes into the gravy after removing the roast from the juices. I added carrots to the roast as I believe the sweetness of the carrots also helps to make a good gravy.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Ross October 20, 2002
To Die for Crock Pot Roast