Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / To Die for Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To Die for Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    1,601 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 1,601

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2003

      Sorry, I'm afraid I was terribly disappointed by this one! After reading all the reviews, I was anticipating something great, but what I got was mediocre at best. I followed the recipe closely, using the full seasoning amounts listed, but I added a tad bit more water since I had a large roast. After the roast was done, I thickened the seasoned gravy with a bit of flour and cooked it on the stove in a separate saucepan. The result: a dry roast with lackluster gravy that had no flavor remaining from the Italian seasoning and Ranch dressing. I would have been better off just using the gravy mix and the pan juices to make a gravy and forgetting the Ranch and Italian seasonings all together. Even the family agreed to forget this one! Last night's dinner was exceptional: Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Basil. I'll post the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      They don't come much easier than this. It was the perfect Sunday dinner. My DH hates roast and until now there was only one recipe for roast that he would eat. After cooking for him for almost 20 years, I can finally add a second. Thanks for posting this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Being a single guy, this is right up my alley! Thanx! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      I was so anxious to try this after reading all the great reviews, but...I wasn't very impressed. I feel like maybe I did something wrong, but in this recipe there aren't many possibilities of doing that. I put some halved carrots and yukon gold potatoes on the bottom, then the roast, (and it wasn't a cheap one) then a quartered onion on top. I sprinkled half the mix on top, mixed the rest with 3/4 c water--thought I might need extra because of the vegetables- and poured it over. 9 hours low heat. I wound up with a not substantially tender roast and lots of watery broth. I thickened the broth with some browned flour, and it was all good, not great. For a pot roast I would stick to the one baked in foil in the Betty Crocker cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      I have a 5 qt. crockpot and used a 5lb. boneless chuck roast, which I cut into smaller chunks to fit better in the pot. I added carrots and potatoes to the bottom and sides of the pot and used all of the seasonings( I rubbed half of them directly onto the meat as some reviewers said and sprinkled the rest over it.) I also added a little more water to cover the meat a bit more. I cooked this for 9 hours and the results were a very tender roast and not at all salty. I thickened the gravy like recommended.To do this I removed the meat and vegs, added a corn starch and water mix to the pot and it was great! My whole family loved this meal and it's a keeper! Thank You Yooper for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      I used a 3 lb chuck roast. After reading the sodium content on the 3 packets, I smelled each one and the one that smelled saltiest was the italian so that is the one I cut in half. I have a larger crockpot so I used about 1.5 cups water. Oh I did use half the mix as a dry rub on both sides and mixed the other half with the water. I cooked on low for 5 hours then took out the roast and added 6 peeled and halved potatoes, and a 1lb bag peeled carrots. I put the roast on top of all the veggies and turned it to high for 2 more hours. The roast for that last 2 hours wasn't even in the liquid anymore because being on top of the veggies which were about 80% submerged. It came out perfect. Not too salty. Still very juicy. The veggies absorbed alot of flavor. Next time I will get a larger roast. Thanks for posting this simple tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2002

      I used a small, cheap roast and it turned out wonderful. I didn't change a thing. My husband even raved about it...and he's picky. Great flavor! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      I've never had a roast turn out so well in the crockpot. This was very tasty. I put potatoes on the bottom and the roast on top. Very easy dinner. I will be making this again~~love the combination of the seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      Wow - I now understand what all the excitement is over this recipe! It is absolutely wonderful. I've been making pot roasts for 30 years and this is by far the most flavorful one I've ever made (or eaten for that matter). I don't have a crock pot so I used a pyrex dish, increased the water to one cup and baked at 325 for three hours. Wish there were more than 5 stars to award this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I've tried various crock pot recipes for pot roast, and this one tastes pretty much as good as any of them, but takes the least amount of effort. That makes it a 5-star recipe.

      Thankfully I read a few of the previous reviews that said to go easy on the dressing, and I did as well. My grocery store had 1.5oz packets of brown gravy, 1oz packets of ranch, and 3/4oz packets of Italian seasoning, and I think it turned out just about right with that mix. The ranch gave it a slightly tangy taste, somewhat unusual for brown gravy but not bad. I'm sure if you wanted to experiment with different seasoning packets it would be fine.

      A few words about modifying the recipe: It seemed like a waste not to have vegetables with this, and I initially thought about putting them in an aluminum foil packet on top of the roast so they wouldn't turn out so mushy - this is a trick I learned from an America's Test Kitchen recipe. In the end, I did it even easier than that. 1 pound of carrots, peeled and cut into sections, and about 2 pounds red potatoes, scrubbed clean and sliced in half. I added the carrots at around the roast right at the beginning (8 in the morning before leaving for work) along with about 3/4 cups of water (instead of the called-for 1/2 cup). My wife added the potatoes around 3pm. She was worried that there wasn't a whole lot of water in the pot, but I told her to just put them cut-side down as best she could - they'd steam partially submerged. The vegetables ended up perfectly done at 6. The potatoes had some "bite" to them and weren't too mushy.

      As far as thickening the gravy is concerned: Here's a fool-proof way I've learned from a chef: Mix about 1 cup of flour with 3/4 cups of vegetable oil and make a blonde roux. Let cool, then use a 1 Tbsp measure to distribute into an ice cube tray. Freeze, then put in a zip-loc bag in the freezer. Voila - you have instant roux any time you want to thicken a gravy. 2-3 of the cubes did the trick here after I added some more water to make a total of 2 cups of delicious gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2002

      Just prepared this recipe last night. Am enjoying a left-over roast beef sandwich as I type. I used a 3.5 lb cross rib roast and a 0.7 oz pkg of italian seasoning, 0.9 oz pkg of brown gravy mix, and 1.0 oz pkg of ranch dressing mix. Took me 7 hrs and 45 minutes in the crockpot. Flavor was really great, gravy was outstanding. I don't plan on adjusting the amounts of the mixes next time (unless I use a smaller roast) but I won't, as I did this time, put ALL of the mix on top of the roast. I will put a good sprinkling on, but the rest will simply go down in the water beside the roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2002

      After all the great reviews, decided to try this recipe. Used a good roast but should have used a cheaper one. This turned out to be a mushy potroast. Cannot see how anyone can use leftovers in a sandwich. Great recipe for anyone who has a hard time chewing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      Sorry, hate to be negative, however, I found this recipe to be only mediocre. I used a rump roast and followed the recipe to the letter. Rose

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2002

      This was very good but I probably wouldn't make it again for the following reasons: 1. Any beef roast is really excellent in the crockpot - just add onion, garlic, salt and pepper, and you just can't beat it. Why go thru the expense of buying 3 packets of mix. I always make my own salad dressing w/olive oil and vinegar so don't normally buy Italian dressing or Ranch dressing mix, or gravy mix either, for that matter. 2. There was a "sharp" taste - was it the Italian dressing? I don't know. But, honestly, it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      I tried this the other night and found it to be fantastic. Will do it again only (I agree with the others- it is salty) so I will cut back on the mixes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2003

      Wonderful!! There isn't much I can say about this recipe that hasn't already been said. It truly is as wonderful as everyone says. Also, I only put 1/2 pk. of ranch dressing because of everyone's suggestions, but I found that I still had to add salt to my roast because it wasn't salty enough for my taste. If you like salt at all, I do not think you have to cut back on your packages. A SUGGESTION: If you have a large oval crock pot (as I do) you WILL need more than the 1/2 cup water called for or all the water will cook away leaving you with a black mess and no yummy gravy to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      This was really juicy and flavorful. I used about two tablespoons of Italian dressing mix from Penzey's spices and I used about a cup of red wine and a cup of water. It made a very flavorful gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      Don't make the mistake of trying the recipe in a pressure cooker. The brown gravy is mostly corn starch and causes the liquid to become too thick for the pressure cooker to work. There was no steam and I got a burnt mess at the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      After all the raves, I decided to try this roast. I must have missed something in the ingredients as I found this to be extremely bland. At first I used only 1/2 half of the Italian dressing mix. Halfway through, I decided I had better taste it. At that point I knew it needed something else so I used the rest of the dressing mix, That didn't do it either. This will not be a keeper for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      I wish I could give this rave reviews, but I really didn't think it was that great. The flavors mixed together well, but it just wasn't what I was hoping for. It is probably worth 4-stars, but I am giving it 3 because it didn't live up to it's name. I thought it was good, but I probably won't ever make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To Die for Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    29%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 149.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 380.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 49.5 g
    99%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian salad dressing mix

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites