Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / To Die for Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To Die for Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    1,609 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 1,609

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2002

      Ok Yooper, My turn. I have to say that this is one of the most tender and delicious roasts I have ever tasted. I used a 3lb eye of round, browned it is a little olive oil and garlic (just personal preference) before placing in the crockpot. I used 1/2 cup of water to deglaze the pan and added to my roast with potatoes, carrots and mushrooms- I did use all the seasoning packets and cooked for 8 hours. Came out awesome and DD & DH had seconds. I have just enough left for Au Jus for tonight. MMMMMMMMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      Oh Yooper! I just had to jump on the bandwagon and try out your roast...boy am I glad I did!! The flavor was excellent--I followed your recipe exactly, and added just 1/2 the packet of Ranch powder as you suggested. The gravy was delicious (my kids each had 3 helpings!) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      Absolutely a wonderful meal!! I, too, used a full packet of brown gravy mix, ranch dressing mix, and cut the Italian dressing to half pack. I used one cup of water. After cooking for nine hours, I removed the liquid from the crockpot, placed in a saucepan with a little cornstarch for a to-die-for gravy!! Served with homemade mashed potatoes and cut green beans! A repeat performer in our home for sure! Thanks, yooper! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This recipe was wonderful! My fiance and I made it exactly as is, adding just a bit of extra water, and adding potatoes and carrots, and found it to be to our liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      WOW!!! This is a great recipe. My husband loved it. The roast came out so juicy and tender. I used only half the package of Ranch too. The grazy came out perfect. I will defenitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This was Wonderful. I had doubts about the combination of all the mixes, but the meat practically fell apart it was so tender, and the flavor was truly Awesome! Most definite keeper, thank-you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Haven't tried it yet, but sure will...that single Mike Z is my brother and I didn't know he had posted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      I made this for dinner as it makes a perfect football Sunday meal. It filled the house with a delicious scent ALL DAY LONG. I could't find a large enough roast at SuperTarget, so I used 2 london broils, about 3 lbs total. I threw in new potatoes at the bottom and carrots. I used half packets of the Italian dressing and ranch. Being at high altitude, I also used 1.5 cups of liquid, as another reviewer mentioned. I used 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of white wine. I cooked it on high for 5 hours and 4 hours on low (also mentioned by another reviewer). I threw in some thyme, rosemary, and some minced garlic. Also, I seared both slabs of london broil for about 6 minutes each side. I used rice bran oil for a light coating, then some salt and pepper. I've made pot roast without searing and I hardly notice the difference - but I just did it this time. This pot roast is SO tender and SO juicy. The potatoes and carrots are perfect. Thank you for posting this recipe and thanks to all the reviewers who shared additional tips and info on how they made it to their own liking. Those comments really help. This is saved to my cookbook and can't wait to make it for visitors. I just know they'll die when they have some. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      This was a big hit with my family! Being skeptical of the 1/2 cup water issue, I used about 1.5 cups because: a) I live at high altitude, where everything needs more water, more cooking time, etc.; and b) because I only had a 2.5 pound roast. I placed whole, small red potatoes and baby carrots under the roast and otherwise prepared exactly according to the instructions. It turned out perfectly, with a thick, rich, flavorful gravy. This recipe definitely goes into the regular rotation! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      This is the first time I have ever rated a recipe. I have never been able to make a pot roast as good as my Mother did. I thought this recipe was so bizarre I just had to try it. I used a chuck I bought on sale, and put potatoes, onions and carrots on the bottom of the crock pot. I put the roast on top then the dry mixes. I could not believe that 1/2 cup of water would be enough, and was sure I was about to ruin a good piece of meat and all those vegetables. Was I ever wrong! It was the best pot roast I have ever made. The meat was moist and tender and so were the vegetables. Yum, yum, yum!!!!!!!!! I am going to throw out all the other pot roast recipes I own. Thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      This does not need another review, but I rely on it so much, so I thought I would post....TOTALLY AMAZING!!! Don't change a thing, just add some veggies of choice and be AMAZED with the results :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I made this recipe today and I gotta tell you it was fabulous. I had a large 4-3/4 pound roast. I used a large oval crock pot. I lined the bottom with chucks of potatoes and baby carrots. I then rubbed the meat with the rub (all three ingredients), placed it on the veggies, and sprinkled the top with the rest of the rub. I added a full cup of water because of the side of the pot and cooked it for nine hours. I turned it on its side after five hours and then turned it over after seven hours. I then took the beef out and let it rest and removed the veggies to the serving bowl. I then put the gravy in a pot, heated it on the stove, and added three tablespoons of flour that I whisked first with hot water. The gravy thickened, I cut the roast (against the grain), added veggie to the plate, doused it all in the thick, rich gravy and it was, indeed, to die for. Finally, a truly great and easy recipe for roast beef. Simply tremendous. Can't wait for an open faced roast beef plate tomorrow night as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      It's just yummy and so easy to make. I used a 3 1/2 lb. chuck roast, and added carrots, celery and onions. I cooked it on high for one hour and on low for 5 hours. I was surprised how much gravy there was. I didn't have any dry Italian dressing mix so I used nearly 1/4 cup of bottled Zesty Italian with a pork gravy mix and the ranch dressing mix - I added 1 1/2 cups of water and it turned out great. I put the gravy in a pot and thickened it with flour and water mixed with about a tsp. of Oxo beef granules. It was not the least bit salty. I served it with mashed potatoes. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Love it! Very simple, and delicious to my entire family. Based on reading the reviews of several people, I also decreased the amount of dry ingredients i used. Can't tell u exactly what i did because i cook alot according to what i smell and see. However, very delicious. I recommend using a full cup of water instead of 1/2. I included potatoes in mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      So easy to make and tasty too. I added baby carrots, potatoes and onion before it finished cooking. I thought there would be left overs for a few days, but boy was I wrong. This is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This really was very, very good. The gravy it made was OUTSTANDING. The only problem i had (and i'm sure this was MY fault)...is that i HATE fat on meat...so i trimmed off every possible piece of fat that i could...i believe this may have left the roast a little on the dry side (which i actually kind of like, boyfriend not so much). But man, this roast was so tender, the house smelled unbelievable and the flavor was SO good...next time i think i will leave a little fat on just to moisten it up a bit. but overall...awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      We really enjoyed this. I read a bunch of the reviews before hand and only used all of the brown gravy mix and 1/2 each of the ranch and Italian dressing mixes. I used a 3 lb. chuck roast and cooked it 8 hours on low in the crock pot. It was fall apart tender! Next time I will use all of the ranch dressing but still keep the Italian dressing at 1/2 and will add potatoes and carrots as well. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Incredibly easy and incredibly delicious! I followed some of the above recommendations; I used a can of beef broth instead of water, used a full gravy packet and only half of the ranch and Italian seasoning packets. Threw in some carrots and red potatoes and voila! My entire family loved it! Will certainly be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I am 20 and live with 3 other guys, one being my boyfriend. I was so fed up with take out pizza and McDonalds so I dug through the freezer and found a nice frozen roast that was begging to be made so I thawed it out. This morning I stumbled across this recipe and decided to give it a shot. I stabbed the meat to allow some real flavor and then coated it with the seasonings mix as a dry rub, and sprinkled on the rest after I put it into the water (about 1.5 cups), and went to work. I came home with amazinggg smells coming from our apartment, and added large pieces of onion, red potatoes, and peeled carrots. With some crescent rolls and salad this was the perfect meal. I am making this again for sure. Its so easy, even a 20 year old like me could do it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      I wish I had cut down on some of the dry mixes like others suggested--way too salty! Next time I'll do just that, add veggies, diced potatoes and more liquid for a nice stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 81

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To Die for Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    29%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 149.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 380.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 49.5 g
    99%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian salad dressing mix

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites