1630 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was just great and very simple. I used the whole packages of all the seasonings and two roasts totalling about 4 lbs. I put it in at 6:30 and we ate at 5:30 - This is a KEEPER.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryinwi December 23, 2002

Amazing! This is THE BEST! EASY to make, with wonderful results. I added chopped onion to the gravy, and may add mushrooms next time I fix it. I can hardly wait till then!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim B. December 16, 2002

What can I say buta "WOW!!!". This was simple but tasted like I slaved over it all day. I used a 5 pound rump roast sprinkled with the mixture. I poured the rest on the sides and bottom of crockpot. I stayed with the 1/2 cup of water and cooked it on high for one hour and then low for six hours. It turned out great!! I turned the crockpot to high and mixed two tablespoons of water and flour to thicken the gravy.Served it with Ranch Mashed Potatoes by Lorac. What a combination. To cut down on calories I used low-fat dressing mixes.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M December 03, 2002

WOW!!! I made it tognight for my family, and my husband devoured it! The gravy was outstanding, and really added so much flavor to the roast. My husband commented that he usually adds steak sauce to any meat, but would never touch the roast with it! (the flavor is so wonderful) And on mashed potatoes, the gravy is awesome! I'm going to have over my mother in law soon and serve this, and believe me she's a wonderful cook.. Which says something about this recipe, that i'm cooking for her! Thank you for this new addition to my cooking collection of recipes!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen S October 17, 2002

I adapted this to make in the oven 175 degrees for 7-8 hrs. I covered roasting pan with inverted foil pan and the Only change I made was to add 1 cup of water in lieu if 1/2 cup water. The seasonings are perfect and it tasted like the best pot roast I have ever had!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lavendermimi September 15, 2002

My roast was a bit different, using what I had on hand: London Broil(almost 2 lbs.), 1 pkg. ranch dressing mix, 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix, 1/2 C. chicken broth, 1 C. lamb stock. I rubbed the spice mix on, added the liquids, and cooked on low for 9 hrs. Then I added corn flour/water mixture to create a delicious gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed carrots. It was tender and very salty, and I loved it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misfit September 12, 2002

I thought it very good, particularly as it is so easy, but not "to die for". I used a top sirloin roast. Maybe another type would be better.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ September 10, 2002

Your so right - it's so simple. I took the advice of other reviews and added a cup of water and half of the Italian seasoning. I covered the roast with a little more than half of the seasoning mix and put the rest in the water around the meat. When it was done I removed the meat, poured the gravy into a pot to thicken and added dumplings, cooked for 20 minutes more, 10 with the lid off and 10 with the lid on till dumplings were done. Everything was very good, but still too salty for our tastes. Will make again and cut back more on the seasonings and add more water, then it should be perfect for us. Thanks for posting such a great, easy recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn August 05, 2002

What can I say, that has not already been said - DELICIOUS. We fixed this with everything, except half a packet of ranch dressing. I increased the water to 3/4 cup, and strained the gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and peas and carrots. Will definitely use this recipe again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Naner~ July 14, 2002
To Die for Crock Pot Roast