Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / To Die for Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To Die for Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    1,610 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 1,610

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2002

      I bought a very cheap roast and stabbed it all over with a fork (just to make sure that it was dead). I used the mixed dry ingredients as a rub before sprinkling the rest over the meat. Like other people, I cut the dressing mix somewhat (but I did so to reduce the sodium content and not to alter the taste). Being a strong advocate of one-dish meals, especially for busy weeknights, I dumped my veggies (baby spuds, chopped rutabaga, baby carrots and pearl onions) in the crock and what a pleasant surprise! – the cooked veggies were the most delicious, savoury root veggies I have ever tasted. The taste of the veggies was more influenced, but most certainly not overpowered, by the dry ingredients than the beef was. All in all, this recipe surely deserves its place at the top of the pyramid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      It's as good as everyone says! I used a boneless chuck roast (3 lb) and cut the ranch dressing in half. I added an additional 1/4 cup water. I cooked it 9 hours. It came out very tender, and with a gravy that was superb! Served with mashed potatoes and steamed fresh garden peas. Thanks, yooper! This is one that I will repeat!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      This recipe is excellent. Any kind of roast works well. I did try to reduce the salt by adding 1/2 package of ranch dressing, but I found the majority of salt was coming from the Italian dressing. So I added full package of ranch and brown gravy and 1/2 package of italian dressing and it was WONDERFUL. My two year old ate 3 helpings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      Sorry, but this was just WAY TO SALTY for my family. I followed the recipe exactly. If I ever try it again, I will definately cut the dry ranch dressing in half as you suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      ok, i usually stay away from this kind of recipe because it doesn't list a size for the roast, but i was intrigued by the good reviews. i used a 3.5 lb english shoulder roast and since i was not sure what size/type everyone else used, i cut all three dry mixes back to half a packet each and used the full amount of water as i was afraid of the too salty result some had mentioned. i put some halved new potatoes and carrots on the bottom, then the roast, seasoning and water. cooked for 8 hours on low and it turned out quite well. it was not too salty or overpowering. i will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I wish I had bought a larger chuck roast! The taste of this Pot Roast is absolutely fabulous! A meal fit for a queen (...or king)! The seasonings were perfect and it is so incredibly moist it falls apart with your fork!! I wouldn't change one single thing, except next time I may invite company over to share! This one is a definate keeper. Thank you so much, yooper, for sharing this recipe with your 'Zaar buddies! You done (really, really) good. ;) -- posted Jul 8, 2002 Just an update to let you know I am still serving this wonderfully easy and delicious pot roast! This morning, I was in the midst of putting all the ingredients in the crockpot, when lo and behold, I discovered I had no Ranch dressing! Needing an immediate alternative, I subbed a package of Knorr's French Onion Soup mix. A decision that proved to be an excellent choice! I increased the water to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 red wine. I did add some sliced carrotts and potatoes a couple hours before the roast was done. Thanks again, and again, Yooper, for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      Buy a big roast so you will have plenty of leftovers. The gravy was a bit salty, but the flavor combination was fantastic! I didn't put all the dry ingredients on the roast, just enough to give it a good covering and the rest in the pan with the liquid. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans and DH had 3 helpings! For a great sandwich, dip the sliced meat in the leftover gravy - Yummy. I can't wait for dinner to get another " fix ".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      NOW I know what the fuss has been all about ... this was both easy and delicious. A winning combination! I used a 3 lb sirloin tip roast, a 1-oz pkg of gravy mix, a 1-oz pkg of ranch dressing mix and about 3/4 of an ounce of italian dressing mix. I too mixed the dry mixes together and used them as a rub on the beef, then put the roast in the crockpot and sprinkled the rest of the mix on top. The flavour was great and we didn't find it too salty. I only did two things differently: added a full cup of water, and then, when the roast was done, poured the gravy into a pot and thickened it on the stove. My roast was also done to perfection after 6 hours on Low; it was moist and very tender, yet could still be cut into neat slices. Thanks so much for posting this; it's a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      I made this last night, it was a HUGE hit! my kids both loved it and my hubby devoured it and I loved it too, I will be making this again for sure! thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Thanks for sharing this wonderful tasting, easy to make dish. I printed out the recipe and took my crockpot on my camping trip, and it was so easy to do. I mixed half of all of the mixes together with the water, and mixed the other half of the mixes together to sprinkle over my chuck roast. Just to make it easier on me, I popped in some new potatoes. Great!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      Upon recommendation from Canarygirl I tried this recipe...this was a suggested entry in my unofficial “Charlene cooks slow with her slow cooker” contest. Well what can I say Yooper, you’ve got yourself one great recipe here! Not only is the taste superior, but this is incredibly easy. My one and only qualm with this recipe was that you didn’t provide a “size” of roast, and for me a newcomer to crockpot cooking that turned out to be a bit of a problem. When all was said and done I ended up with a cooking time of 9 hours, 5 of which were low and the remaining 4 of which were on high. I used a 5 lb. sirloin tip and like many others I put baby spuds and carrots in alongside. I didn’t cut back on any of the mixes, I used them as a rub and I used the ½ cup of water as suggested and we found the taste to be splendid, it certainly was not overly salty, rather it was just right. I’m submitting a photo of this delicious roast while there’s still some left to photograph!!! .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      I read just about all the reviews on this recipe before trying it and was a bit scared due to the negative feedback. Ya know what they say .. 1 "oh crap" negates 10 "attaboy"s. Anyway I tried it and loved it.. I put my veggies in at the begining as some said and it turned out great, the mushrooms and onions were the best of the veggies I think. The meat just fell apart and I had no problem with the salt content, I think this may depend on the type of mix used. Great recipe and I will be making it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      Made this today for Sunday dinner. It was terrific. I threw potatoes and carrots in with my roast. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      Today was a cold and rainy day...a perfect day to do a roast. Yooper's "To Die For Cockpot Roast" was excellent!!! I used a full package of the brown gravy mix and ranch mix and only about half of the italian mix. I did not use all of the mix...just enough to give the roast a good coating. I will make this roast again and again and again. Thank you Yooper for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2002

      My husband is a yooper...so i HAD to try this recipe....he LOVED it and so did my 3 and 5 year old!!!! I will pass this on to my mother who was curious to know if it would be a winner!!! It's a winner!! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      Tried this recipe tonight. Fixed it in my crock pot and enjoyed the aroma all day! I chose to use 1/2 pkg Italian Dressing Mix, all of Ranch Dressing Mix, and Brown Gravy Mix. I added just a little more water for more gravy. After cooking I sliced the beef and served with au jus for Italian Beef style sandwiches with Cole Slaw. Had enough for leftovers!My husband ate two servings and gave it a thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      This was absolutely delicious. I'll continue making this for a long time. I used all of the seasonings and it wasn't too salty for my taste. It was just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      I was so anxious to try this recipe, considering the way so many of you have been raving about it like lunatics! I have to say though, that quite honestly, I was horribly disappointed. Maybe there was just too much expectation, but it was NOT "to die for" in our home. I followed the recipe to the letter, but we did not care for the flavour combo, and we didn't find the meat very tender, either. No one cleaned their plate and no one ate the leftovers. Sorry to rain on the parade!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Excellent, easy, and worry-free! Followed the recipe as shown, but used only 1/2 of the Italian salad dressing package, as advised. I saved the other half package for the next time I make this, because there WILL be a next time! And I just used a plain ol' pot roast. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      I used half of the ranch dsg and I will try using all of it next time. I love salt! I too added new potatoes at the bottom of the crock pot and placed carrots on the top of my rump roast. My husband and sons loved sopping up the gravy with rolls. Easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 81

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To Die for Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.2
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    29%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 149.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 380.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 49.5 g
    99%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian salad dressing mix

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites