1627 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I bought a very cheap roast and stabbed it all over with a fork (just to make sure that it was dead). I used the mixed dry ingredients as a rub before sprinkling the rest over the meat. Like other people, I cut the dressing mix somewhat (but I did so to reduce the sodium content and not to alter the taste). Being a strong advocate of one-dish meals, especially for busy weeknights, I dumped my veggies (baby spuds, chopped rutabaga, baby carrots and pearl onions) in the crock and what a pleasant surprise! – the cooked veggies were the most delicious, savoury root veggies I have ever tasted. The taste of the veggies was more influenced, but most certainly not overpowered, by the dry ingredients than the beef was. All in all, this recipe surely deserves its place at the top of the pyramid.

491 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® June 27, 2002

It's as good as everyone says! I used a boneless chuck roast (3 lb) and cut the ranch dressing in half. I added an additional 1/4 cup water. I cooked it 9 hours. It came out very tender, and with a gravy that was superb! Served with mashed potatoes and steamed fresh garden peas. Thanks, yooper! This is one that I will repeat!!

219 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz June 26, 2002

This recipe is excellent. Any kind of roast works well. I did try to reduce the salt by adding 1/2 package of ranch dressing, but I found the majority of salt was coming from the Italian dressing. So I added full package of ranch and brown gravy and 1/2 package of italian dressing and it was WONDERFUL. My two year old ate 3 helpings.

203 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly knowles June 13, 2002

Sorry, but this was just WAY TO SALTY for my family. I followed the recipe exactly. If I ever try it again, I will definately cut the dry ranch dressing in half as you suggested.

115 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DJ June 04, 2002

I wish I had bought a larger chuck roast! The taste of this Pot Roast is absolutely fabulous! A meal fit for a queen (...or king)! The seasonings were perfect and it is so incredibly moist it falls apart with your fork!! I wouldn't change one single thing, except next time I may invite company over to share! This one is a definate keeper. Thank you so much, yooper, for sharing this recipe with your 'Zaar buddies! You done (really, really) good. ;) -- posted Jul 8, 2002 Just an update to let you know I am still serving this wonderfully easy and delicious pot roast! This morning, I was in the midst of putting all the ingredients in the crockpot, when lo and behold, I discovered I had no Ranch dressing! Needing an immediate alternative, I subbed a package of Knorr's French Onion Soup mix. A decision that proved to be an excellent choice! I increased the water to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 red wine. I did add some sliced carrotts and potatoes a couple hours before the roast was done. Thanks again, and again, Yooper, for sharing!

100 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev January 11, 2006

ok, i usually stay away from this kind of recipe because it doesn't list a size for the roast, but i was intrigued by the good reviews. i used a 3.5 lb english shoulder roast and since i was not sure what size/type everyone else used, i cut all three dry mixes back to half a packet each and used the full amount of water as i was afraid of the too salty result some had mentioned. i put some halved new potatoes and carrots on the bottom, then the roast, seasoning and water. cooked for 8 hours on low and it turned out quite well. it was not too salty or overpowering. i will definitely make again.

100 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deborah1 June 17, 2002

Buy a big roast so you will have plenty of leftovers. The gravy was a bit salty, but the flavor combination was fantastic! I didn't put all the dry ingredients on the roast, just enough to give it a good covering and the rest in the pan with the liquid. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans and DH had 3 helpings! For a great sandwich, dip the sliced meat in the leftover gravy - Yummy. I can't wait for dinner to get another " fix ".

91 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 08, 2002

NOW I know what the fuss has been all about ... this was both easy and delicious. A winning combination! I used a 3 lb sirloin tip roast, a 1-oz pkg of gravy mix, a 1-oz pkg of ranch dressing mix and about 3/4 of an ounce of italian dressing mix. I too mixed the dry mixes together and used them as a rub on the beef, then put the roast in the crockpot and sprinkled the rest of the mix on top. The flavour was great and we didn't find it too salty. I only did two things differently: added a full cup of water, and then, when the roast was done, poured the gravy into a pot and thickened it on the stove. My roast was also done to perfection after 6 hours on Low; it was moist and very tender, yet could still be cut into neat slices. Thanks so much for posting this; it's a definite keeper.

89 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie July 14, 2002

I made this last night, it was a HUGE hit! my kids both loved it and my hubby devoured it and I loved it too, I will be making this again for sure! thanks for the recipe!

82 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna May 13, 2002

Thanks for sharing this wonderful tasting, easy to make dish. I printed out the recipe and took my crockpot on my camping trip, and it was so easy to do. I mixed half of all of the mixes together with the water, and mixed the other half of the mixes together to sprinkle over my chuck roast. Just to make it easier on me, I popped in some new potatoes. Great!!!!

77 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie June 20, 2002
To Die for Crock Pot Roast