45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are excellent! The only thing I would say is the recipe is a lot more complicated than it needs to be. I used 3 tsp. yeast and I made mine with canola oil instead of crisco and used room temp. water. I didn't beat the eggs and I just put everything in the bread maker on the dough cycle. There is no need to let rise overnight - a warm oven for about 1 hr. does great. I also forgot to spread with butter before rolling them - I'm glad I did, they are plenty rich without any extra butter :) I will make again and again!! Thanks for a great recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol.rouncville September 09, 2009

It never occurred to me that I could make crescent rolls from scratch, and I would never have imagined how easy this was! I used butter instead of Crisco to avoid the partially-hydrogenated trans-fats. Turned out delicious. Thank you so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobey_day May 14, 2009

Take a well-deserved bow for these wonderful rolls, rickie! Better than canned ones any day of the week ... and, easier, too! Made 'em for Kittencal's Crescent Chicken Roll dish, and boy, they went over big around here! I did what she did, and let them raise for 1 and 1/2 hrs, shaped, filled, and let raise again for about 30-35 min. Then, baked. Worked great for me, too! Thanks for this neat recipe, Hon ... It'll be a regular in my house! Laudee

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee February 11, 2005

Totally wonderful! Thank you. Actually I used them for a Pampered Chef recipe in place of Pillsbury refrigerated crescents. I could have gotten away with half the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolanne January 10, 2004

Tried this recipe last night but made it very easily with my breadmachine. I halved the recipe since its just my hubby and me. I Used the 1/4 cup canola instead of crisco. didn't do the boiling water. Way too many steps. Just added the ingredients to the breadmachine and it was perfect. Took the dough right out of the breadmachine, rolled it out, made the rolls, let them double in size and baked them. Absolutely perfect!!! Recipe gets a 5 star but the process gets a one star.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendyluvstocook November 29, 2011

Wow. It took me a few tries since I am still a beginner in breadmaking, but these really DO taste like Pillsbury crescent rolls. And they are a WHOLE lot cheaper! Mine turned out a little pale, but it didn't seem to affect the flavor. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire June 04, 2010

very light and fluffy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel November 26, 2009

princess123 is right, 'they really don't taste like crescent rolls'----if you are comparing them to the ones from a tube! (Some people aren't able to appreciate the superior taste of made-from-scratch). These are truly wonderful, and so easy. My family raved about them. And it's a real plus to be able to start them the day before. Thank you, rickie, for sharing this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
northpointer2 January 26, 2009

After reading Heather's review on my Crescent Chicken Roll's I decided to try this recipe, and boy I am not sorry that I did! I did not leave the dough overnight in the fridge, I rose it for 1 hour and a half in a warm oven, then shaped them and rose them for 35 minutes. I used 3 tsp yeast and butter flavor Crisco. I heated the sugar and salt in with boiled water along with the Crisco until completely dissolved., then let cool until just warm. I made the dough on my Kitchen Aid mixer. This is one of the better recipes for Crescent rolls that I have found, and will be using your recipe very often. Thank you for posting...Kittencal:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen January 29, 2005

rickie, I used my bread machine to make your crescent roll dough and it's so very good. Only subs I made were to use splenda for 6 T of the sugar, and half bread, half whole wheat pastry flours. This dough worked so well for Kittencal's "Cresent Chicken Rolls" #78814, plus I had dough leftover which I baked as regular rolls (not crescent shaped but delicious nevertheless!). Nice to have a homemade answer to those creepy tubes of processed, prepackaged dough. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. January 26, 2005
To Die for Crescent Rolls