Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / To Die for Crescent Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To Die for Crescent Rolls

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2009

      These are excellent! The only thing I would say is the recipe is a lot more complicated than it needs to be. I used 3 tsp. yeast and I made mine with canola oil instead of crisco and used room temp. water. I didn't beat the eggs and I just put everything in the bread maker on the dough cycle. There is no need to let rise overnight - a warm oven for about 1 hr. does great. I also forgot to spread with butter before rolling them - I'm glad I did, they are plenty rich without any extra butter :) I will make again and again!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      It never occurred to me that I could make crescent rolls from scratch, and I would never have imagined how easy this was! I used butter instead of Crisco to avoid the partially-hydrogenated trans-fats. Turned out delicious. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      Take a well-deserved bow for these wonderful rolls, rickie! Better than canned ones any day of the week ... and, easier, too! Made 'em for Kittencal's Crescent Chicken Roll dish, and boy, they went over big around here! I did what she did, and let them raise for 1 and 1/2 hrs, shaped, filled, and let raise again for about 30-35 min. Then, baked. Worked great for me, too! Thanks for this neat recipe, Hon ... It'll be a regular in my house! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      Totally wonderful! Thank you. Actually I used them for a Pampered Chef recipe in place of Pillsbury refrigerated crescents. I could have gotten away with half the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Tried this recipe last night but made it very easily with my breadmachine. I halved the recipe since its just my hubby and me. I Used the 1/4 cup canola instead of crisco. didn't do the boiling water. Way too many steps. Just added the ingredients to the breadmachine and it was perfect. Took the dough right out of the breadmachine, rolled it out, made the rolls, let them double in size and baked them. Absolutely perfect!!! Recipe gets a 5 star but the process gets a one star.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Wow. It took me a few tries since I am still a beginner in breadmaking, but these really DO taste like Pillsbury crescent rolls. And they are a WHOLE lot cheaper! Mine turned out a little pale, but it didn't seem to affect the flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      very light and fluffy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      princess123 is right, 'they really don't taste like crescent rolls'----if you are comparing them to the ones from a tube! (Some people aren't able to appreciate the superior taste of made-from-scratch). These are truly wonderful, and so easy. My family raved about them. And it's a real plus to be able to start them the day before. Thank you, rickie, for sharing this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      After reading Heather's review on my Crescent Chicken Roll's I decided to try this recipe, and boy I am not sorry that I did! I did not leave the dough overnight in the fridge, I rose it for 1 hour and a half in a warm oven, then shaped them and rose them for 35 minutes. I used 3 tsp yeast and butter flavor Crisco. I heated the sugar and salt in with boiled water along with the Crisco until completely dissolved., then let cool until just warm. I made the dough on my Kitchen Aid mixer. This is one of the better recipes for Crescent rolls that I have found, and will be using your recipe very often. Thank you for posting...Kittencal:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      rickie, I used my bread machine to make your crescent roll dough and it's so very good. Only subs I made were to use splenda for 6 T of the sugar, and half bread, half whole wheat pastry flours. This dough worked so well for Kittencal's "Cresent Chicken Rolls" #78814, plus I had dough leftover which I baked as regular rolls (not crescent shaped but delicious nevertheless!). Nice to have a homemade answer to those creepy tubes of processed, prepackaged dough. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      Wow, I can't believe I've never reviewed these, my family loves these. I have been making them for about 5 years. Makes a ton and great texture. Thanks for sharing and sorry I forgot to review.Wonderful for pigs in a blanket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      These were okay - I'm not really sure about mixing the salt in with the yeast/water combination per the directions. These didn't rise terribly well (yeast was active though - used for another recipe that morning!). Not as light and fluffy as I had hoped. Not terrible, but not great. Thanks for giving me the experience though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      We decided to give 4 stares instead of 3 because we really think this recipe is perfect for biscuits ... tastes just like pillsbury biscuits!! You could put the recipe in a kopycat recipes!! They do need t be eaten fresh and best of all ... still warm! When they cool they tend to harden a bit. I used two teaspoons of yeast and only 3 tablespoons of sugar. I also put it all in the bread machine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      I made the dough 2 days in advance and used it for two meals. It was great both times. I never cooked with yeast much before but this was simple. Just cool water between 120 and 130 degrees to activate the yeast but not kill it. I used silpat for cooking and 8-10 minutes is perfect. Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      really good. I like the idea of making dough the day before as cleanup is then a snap. But it didn't taste better than others I have tried. Be sure and put point under rolls as otherwise it tries to unwind

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      TO DIE FOR!!!!! So soft, tender , delicious and so easy to deal with. Better double the recipe because they go in a flash...even with those that claim they dont like bread. Thank you for sharing Rickie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Very nice tasting rolls that we all loved with our roast beef dinner. I plan to make these again for our Easter dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Wow - just what I was looking for to take on a picnic last week. Four children ate all the rolls and asked for more! I used butter instead of Crisco because I prefer ingredients that I can identify :) Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      My family loved these. They also said they didn't taste like the crescent rolls they were used to, but that they were very good! I made the dough and was baking rolls for 3 days with no problems! I used the last of it as a crust for a "leftover pie" it was excellent. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I made these and they really didn't taste like crescent rolls but were good anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To Die for Crescent Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1096 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.6
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    32%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 103.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites