Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / To DIE for Chicken Marsala Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    To DIE for Chicken Marsala

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      This was very easy and tasty!! Very mild, not overpowering marsala taste. I only used 2 chicken breasts (they were huge) and used the full recipe for the sauce. It took close to 30 minutes for the sauce to reduce and never really thickned, so I added a thickening agent. Picky Hubby said it was a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I changed this up a little due to the fact I do not like having flour in sauces. I cooked the noodles I used only around half way, then finished boiling them in with the sauce mix. My husband and I both LOVED it that way. We found it did not need salt or pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      What a delicious, EASY recipe! We loved it, and had no problem getting the sauce to thicken, so I didn't add cornstarch or flour. The flavor was perfect, and using good canned broth and presliced mushrooms, as Kari suggested, really did make for a super-fast preparation. This is definitely fast enough for a weeknight, but tastes much more like a weekend meal - wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Made this for dinner tonight, and it's a good basic recipe. I agree with the other reviewers who said the sauce is a little thin even after reducing; definitely needs some cornstarch to help it thicken. Next time, I think I will add a little butter or cream before serving to give the sauce more richness, but this is something I would definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Great recipe quick, easy and tasty. Only problem I had was reducing the sauce it took forever and when it finally reduce it was still too soupy, I had to thicken it with several tablespoons of flour. It's still a keeper for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      This was a very tasty enjoyable dish. I'm not a big fan of marsala so was a bit sceptical at first but it smelt sooo good whilst cooking that I couldnt wait to eat it. The sauce was a bit thin for my liking so I added a little cornflour. Thanks for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2004

      Loved this, and this is coming from a girl who doesn't care for mushrooms and on atkins and can't have the pasta. So, I basically had the sauce over chicken while everyone else ate it over noodles and devoured the mushrooms. Very simple and delicious. The sauce didn't thicken much, but we prefer it more thin, so it was perfect. Thanks for posting! DH requested I make this again soon!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      Terrific sauce,only didn't know there was dry and sweet marsala so I used the sweet. Next time though I wont put it on the pasta, instead I'll use another sauce.But all in all very very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      I didn't care for it but that isn't a recipe thing. That's a me thing. Everybody in the house liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I thought it was pretty good, and my hubby liked it too, which is saying a lot. However, my picky daughter didn't care for it. And the plain pasta noodles I made to eat with it didn't do it for her either. Any ideas on how to kick up some pasta noodles without clashing with the chicken?

      Oh, and I didn't use mushrooms because my family doesn't care for mushrooms. I just substituted onions for the mushrooms in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      So good! I found the sauce delicious and did not need anything to thicken it. However, I used much less than a 1/2 tsp salt and pepper and I'm glad I did because it was flavorful with less than half that. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      I really like this recipe! I serve with mashed potatoes, and I use canned mushrooms and chicken broth and it always turns out great! Add more flour or use cornstarch and water to thicken it more if it needs it. Really great though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      This is the recipe I've been looking for! Yes, it takes a while to reduce, and I did sprinkle about a T of leftover dredging flour into the boiling sauce, but it was absolutely delish! Next time, I think I'll go for the lazy version: go with boneless skinless thighs, and skip the pounding :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      made this tonight with my daughter, we've made chicken marsala before but this time bought a better marsala wine, tried my best to follow the recipe to the letter, only difference( I know I don't like it when people say that either) I put it on a bed of mashed potatoes, I don't care for pasta, it was excellent!!!!! will make this again and again and again, very easy small mess basically one pan, great for date night I think, I'll let you know.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I just made this tonight , I thought it was great!! My wife doesnt even like chicken marsala but she raved about this one, I did cut the stock by a 3rd and the wine buy 1/2 cup added half a onion and reduced for 15 min . All & All I will make this again for sure . we also ate Glazed carrots and Red Potatoes has sides

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I reduce by the half the amount of liquid because it was too much. I did not used flour but cornstarch and cream to ticken. I used a dry sherry and I added a finely chopped shallot and a pinch of thyme. Overall it was good and quick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Great recipe! I switch between this recipe and # 8513 depending on which ingredients I have. For both recipes I add some cornstach mixed with water to have it thicken quicker since I usually have hungry people in my house! Some reviewers add heavy cream and flour to thicken. I may try that in the future. Great recipe though. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      I always hesitate when I see "Chicken Marsala" in a restaurant or when I find a recipe for the classic dish, maybe too many bad experiences with it. It was always too sweet or over cooked or just all together poorly done.
      That was then.
      I tried this the other night & I love it! This will now be one of my "go to recipes", this was really nice & changed my view of Chicken Marsala! I do all the cooking and all of my friends & family rave about my dishes whenever they visit, I can't wait to make this one for them!
      I found a great well balanced Marsala for this dish; Gelsomina Marsala Superiore Dolce. It's slightly sweet, not as sweet as your "big name" Marsalas.
      Really enjoyed this recipe! Thanks for changing my mind on Chicken Marsala :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I have been on a quest to find a good Chicken Marsala recipie that doesn't require a lot of prep and this was it! Very easy to make and the results were of restaurant quality. The only change I made was to add some garlic powder,salt and pepper to the flour, before browning the chicken. I pounded them very thin like they are served at a local inn. Very quick to make, and served with linguine to get every bit of sauce! Next time(and I will make it again) I may make extra sauce. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This was in fact very easy to make. I opted for the precut thin chicken breasts to save time, along with store bought broth and precut mushrooms. You made no mention of dry vs. sweet marsala wine - so I chose sweet. The dish turned out very good, my husband was impressed! My sauce did not thicken, so I added approx. 2 TBSP of cornstarch and it turned out nicely. Thanks for sharing! I have uploaded a picture of my dish pared with a few leaves of fresh basil from my herb garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for To DIE for Chicken Marsala

    Serving Size: 1 (964 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 795.7
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    13%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 80.9 mg
    26%
    Sodium 427.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 32.7 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites