59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very easy and tasty!! Very mild, not overpowering marsala taste. I only used 2 chicken breasts (they were huge) and used the full recipe for the sauce. It took close to 30 minutes for the sauce to reduce and never really thickned, so I added a thickening agent. Picky Hubby said it was a keeper!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MackinacBride October 22, 2002

I changed this up a little due to the fact I do not like having flour in sauces. I cooked the noodles I used only around half way, then finished boiling them in with the sauce mix. My husband and I both LOVED it that way. We found it did not need salt or pepper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KD boo-do April 18, 2010

What a delicious, EASY recipe! We loved it, and had no problem getting the sauce to thicken, so I didn't add cornstarch or flour. The flavor was perfect, and using good canned broth and presliced mushrooms, as Kari suggested, really did make for a super-fast preparation. This is definitely fast enough for a weeknight, but tastes much more like a weekend meal - wonderful!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette July 10, 2003

Made this for dinner tonight, and it's a good basic recipe. I agree with the other reviewers who said the sauce is a little thin even after reducing; definitely needs some cornstarch to help it thicken. Next time, I think I will add a little butter or cream before serving to give the sauce more richness, but this is something I would definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph. February 20, 2011

Great recipe quick, easy and tasty. Only problem I had was reducing the sauce it took forever and when it finally reduce it was still too soupy, I had to thicken it with several tablespoons of flour. It's still a keeper for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef QUEEN of Lopatcong May 02, 2010

This smelled soooo good cooking. I did have to add a little flour towards the end of the reduction to get the sauce to thicken like the marsala sauces I've had in restaurants. I did think the sauce was a little too strong in the wine flavor though....I will make again, but cut the wine back a little bit..not quite half, but maybe to 1 1 1/4 cup instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am April 02, 2007

This was a very tasty enjoyable dish. I'm not a big fan of marsala so was a bit sceptical at first but it smelt sooo good whilst cooking that I couldnt wait to eat it. The sauce was a bit thin for my liking so I added a little cornflour. Thanks for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honni March 14, 2004

Loved this, and this is coming from a girl who doesn't care for mushrooms and on atkins and can't have the pasta. So, I basically had the sauce over chicken while everyone else ate it over noodles and devoured the mushrooms. Very simple and delicious. The sauce didn't thicken much, but we prefer it more thin, so it was perfect. Thanks for posting! DH requested I make this again soon!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid March 12, 2004

Terrific sauce,only didn't know there was dry and sweet marsala so I used the sweet. Next time though I wont put it on the pasta, instead I'll use another sauce.But all in all very very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray G July 14, 2003

This was easy and good, but not the best I've had. After following the directions exactly, I felt there was not enough depth to the flavors. I added more salt and balsamic vinegar. It added more depth without changing the flavor and improved it. We liked it, but we didn't love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l2y2 January 24, 2015
To DIE for Chicken Marsala