18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If someone asks you to bring a dessert, this is the one you want to bring! I had some Instant Bird's Custard in the house (British convenience food) and a chocolate marble loaf cake from the supermarket (these things have an amazing shelf life and are always there when you need them). I made up some good strong instant coffee (Taster's Choice chocolate flavored coffee), and the whole thing took me about 10 minutes to put together, maybe even less. My coffee loving hosts were in ecstasy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 12, 2003

A really great recipe that goes down a treat. Very simple to make. I changed the trifle sponge to Ameretto biscuits for flavour which really worked well. Can you please just use one system for measurements?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigerose October 18, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful dessert. It is wonderful to look at and even more lucious to eat. This will be the hit of the dessert table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pizmyr December 20, 2012

And this is the best recipe I have made this several times

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dzgn88 December 15, 2011

Excellent. I used only 3 oz of Amaretto and it was perfect. 6 oz would have been way to strong. Also, I used a bowl that was about 12" in diameter, so I needed about 4 cups of custard and 12 oz of lady fingers. Everyone really enjoyed it. Next time I'm going to try using the recipe for the mascarpone substitute to try and cut the cost a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. January 18, 2009

The taste of this was wonderful, but I followed it to the letter using vanilla custard from Sainsbury's with the marscapone, and it just didn't set. So here I m with company coming on New Year's Day, and an unset desert. I figured 24 hours was enough time. Even though I agree it's delicious, I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizshuckiduck January 01, 2009

Wonderful!!! I think that I used a bit too much of the coffee/liquor mixture though.... I thought that it would all absorb in but I got carred away. That is the only thing that I would be careful of, but the flavors came out wonderful!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess Peggy November 05, 2008

I learned elsewhere that you can actually buy instant expresso powder for these type recipes...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'nora January 27, 2008

I agree with rosslare that this doesn't compare to real tiramisu in my opinion. It was easy to put together although I had to do some Bird's custard and then cool in an ice bath before I could put the custard together. My guests loved this dish but I didn't really care for it. I ended up needing less sponge cake fingers, but twice as much coffee mixture. I used 3 cups of custard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy December 28, 2006

Wow. This was so easy to make and so delicious. I didn't have any amaretto, but I used a little bit of almond flavoring to compensate. This made a huge trifle; next time I will halve the recipe since there are only two of us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sascha December 18, 2006
Tiramisu Trifle