56 Reviews

This is an fairly easy recipe and they turn out delicious! I have made this a few times, and I even turned this recipe into a simple round cake. That came our just as wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eguyette December 22, 2010

These were truly delicious! I followed the recipe except I did not use the frosting. Instead, I topped each cupcake with more of the mascarpone filling. They tasted so much lighter than traditional overly sweet cupcakes, and I just loved them. I'll definitely be making them again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mleilers June 16, 2009

These were the "dessert of choice" at my Pokeno game. I used the foil liners also and the store was out of mascarpone so I just mixed 8 ounces of cream cheese and 2 tbsp softened butter. I didn't mix in any cream to the cream cheese because I wanted to use the filling as the icing and was afraid it might be too soft. I just spread the well chilled filling on the top of the cupcake like icing and topped them with shaved chocolate. I loved the flavor of the Kahlua in the filling and would highly recommend using it. If you don't want to pay the high price for the "Kahlua" brand look for a bottle of "Kamora" it tastes exactly like "Kahlua" but almost half the price. These were delicious little gems and something I will make again and again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby January 17, 2010

These are FANTASTIC! :) Thank you so much for posting! I used an apple corer and went about 1/2 way down into the cupcake to pull out a plug- out of the center of the cupcake. I piped the filling in and cut off the top of plug/cork shaped cake and plugged it back up. Super Easy!! Next time after I core out a bit I will put a little of the coffee mixture at the bottom of the hole :) YUM!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Michelle June 19, 2009

My mother had these at a bake sale and could not stop talking about them. So for her birthday I suprised her with these, thanks to you and your recipe :) So good with not a lot of hard work. I didnt use the Kalua since I figured the girlscouts probably didnt liquer them up. I look forward to trying the adult version sometime. Thanks a bunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin May 24, 2011

I made this into a single layer round cake and piped the Mascarpone filling in multiple spots throughout the cake and then frosted the cake. I dusted with Chocolate and a small grouping of espresso beans in the center. It was a HUGE hit and absolutely delicious!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Reed's Wife February 15, 2010

Tiramisu is one of my all time favorite desserts and I HAD to try these. Just as I imagined, they were wonderful! Reading the other reviews helped me to decide to leave off the cream cheese frosting (to be more like traditional Tiramisu). The Mascarpone Filling is amazing when used as the cupcake topping dusted with cocoa. And as one reader said, the recipe makes A LOT of filling, so you could decrease it if needed (I froze the leftovers for future cakes! Mmm!). I also added more liquid coffee to the cakes, as I like a bigger coffee flavor. Foil cupcake liners are a MUST! Thanks SO much for this recipe. It's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EcclecticChef September 28, 2009

I am not a fan of the boxed cake flavor that is still present after adding the coffee syrup. The texture was also something I did not care for as it was mushy. The mascarpone filling was my favorite part of the entire recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monica R. August 03, 2015

I made these for our Italian themed Thanksgiving meal at my nieces'. They were a big hit. A bit time consuming, but worth it. I used my decorating tips and they looked just like store bought cupcakes, I even impressed myself!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D W. December 04, 2013

Oh my freaking word are these good!! I varied slightly on a few things but in no way am I implying that my way is better than the original. I can't imagine these cupcakes being bad no matter what you do! I used Betty Crocker French Vanilla cake mix instead of white. They baked up looking just like a lady finger so I was very happy with that. Ok...now the mascarpone cream. Oh baby, this is the best part of the whole thing! I made it exactly as written. All I can say is that I actually whimpered when I tasted it. I did not have a lot left over as I hollowed out the center of the cupcakes and jammed as much of this heavenly stuff in as I possibly could. With much difficulty I resisted the urge to pipe the remainder directly into my mouth. I put the rest into the frosting and it was perfect. I added a little Kahlua into the coffee mixture just because...how could it possibly hurt?! I spooned the coffee mixture into the bottom of the hole before filling with the cream and used a metal shishkabob skewer to poke holes all around the edge of the hole. I used all the coffee mixture between the 18 cupcakes I made and it was just the right amount. Definitely could taste it but in no way overpowering. Decorated top with chocolate covered espresso bean and chocolate curls. Absolute perfection! THANK YOU for this wonderful recipe! Blondie...You're a genius!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Csav October 07, 2013
Tiramisu Cupcakes (Uses Cake Mix)