125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The best tiramisu I have ever eaten, without exaggerating. I made six glasses for my friends and I and, eventually, I ate all of them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angis November 22, 2008

this recipe looks declicious, i can't wait to try ti

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie 007 November 12, 2008

I took a gamble and made this for the first time for a dinner party. I got so many compliments. This recipe is so easy and simple to follow. I used the 3T of Tia Maria and 3 cups of espresso. I let mine sit for 24 hours after making. It was great and the leftovers were good for the remaining days. Thanks, Syrah, for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Little Bit of Everything... November 06, 2008

Terrific Tiramisu! I took Bevinda's advice and added the dark chocolate which really finished off this exquisite recipe! I made it 24 hours before eating, and it was just perfect - very light anad smooth. I substituted Kahlua for the Tia Maria. I felt that 2 - 3 cups of strong coffee were over-catering - I feel 1 - 2 cups would do just fine - as too much coffee dilutes the Kahlua! I will definitely be making this dessert again and feeling very confident when I serve it. Thank you for sharing, Syrah!! Tricia Mendes, Qld, Australia

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tricia Mendes November 04, 2008

This dessert was wonderful. I substituted the liqueur for 1 tbsp of vanilla and 2 tbsps of milk, which I decided on after reading through the reviews of people who also didn't have the liqueur on hand. I read that an authentic tiramisu shouldn't be served before cooling for 24 hours, and are at their best around day two. I ade two batches. One we ate after 24 hours. It's taste was amazing, but it didn't sit up as well as we had hoped. My husband took the 2nd to a work party about 36 after making it. It was heavenly and delicious. Perfect in every way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbern November 03, 2008

This is a lovely dessert. I will be making it again for my dinner party. It will be enjoyed by all! I am using Bevinda's advice and adding the dark chocolate to the layers. thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catinthehatcallan October 18, 2008

This was the first time I've made Tiramisu. I was surprised at how easy it was to make and how delicious it was to eat. Thanks to you I have now found the perfect dessert for my next Italian dinner party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SwissItalian September 17, 2008

Wow would be the first word I utter! I made this the day before we ate it, to give it time to soak up and blend all the flavors together. It was a great ending to our Italian inspired dinner! Thank you for sharing Syrah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleOnTheLake September 04, 2008

This was just what me and my daughter were looking for..We made this last night and it turned out perfect .I would let it set at least a few hours befor you slice into it we let it set overnight.The only question I have is dipping the ladyfingers do you dip just one side or do you dunk the whole ladyfinger ? We used fresh baked ladyfinger and dipped just one side ever so quickly .Never the less this is a perfect recipe I looked at 20+ recipes and chose this one and I am glad I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca Gary July 05, 2008

I am making this for fathers day today. I wish I would have been paying more attention because then I could have made it twenty four hours ahead instead of just nine or ten. There are some recipes where you can just wing it and make it for the first time and it comes out wonderfully, but I would suggest trying this one out a couple times on people who don't really care too much before you try to do anything formal with it, at least if you haven't had much tiramisu experience like me. This was much sweeter than what I was expecting, like one I get from a restaurant that I go to, but the sugar amount is great in this one too. I had a couple problems, but just from lack of experience, I think. I have figured out most of what I could do better, but I'm still not quite sure how to get the lady fingers just right. When I got the outsides perfect the insides were too hard and when the insides were perfects the outer parts were soggy. Maybe just practice? Still, this had awesome flavor, easy to follow directions, and made me and my dad very happy. Oh yah, I think next time I will use stiff peaks instead of soft, my marscapone was a bit too runny and kind of smothered the soft ones and I also used half kaluha and half coffee. Thank you so much, I'm really excited to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simonich June 14, 2008
Tiramisu