131 Reviews

Totally changed my mind about Tiramisu. Definitely add the chocolate shavings, they make the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan April 06, 2010

I enjoyed this very much, but using 2 C of coffee made it too soggy once it set and had a lot of liquid drain to the bottom once I cut into it. Next time I will really quickly dip the biscuits for a "drier" tiramisu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat and be Merry February 28, 2010

This is delicious! I bought authentic Italian lady fingers used for tiramisu and they didn't fall apart at all, nor did any coffee drip as I drained them, as a matter of fact I think I could have dunked them longer or more thoroughly in the coffee mixture as I took them out very quickly based on others reviews saying the lady fingers crumbled or got too soggy and I wound up not getting enough coffee flavor. I can't wait to make it again with more coffee mix. I made 3 cups of coffee mix and didn't even use up 1/2 cup. I used instant espresso, Kahlua, and Baker's sugar. This was so easy and gave an excellent light and perfect tiramisu. I chilled it for 8 hours and it was great, the next day it was even better! DH loved it but said it wasn't "cakey" enough, next time I might use more lady fingers to suit his taste. Thanks for this gem of a recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DNA1611 February 05, 2010

i have to rate this again, i made it before christmas, added baking chocolate between the layers, and it was fantastic yet again! the mascarpone makes it very creamy, and yes you have to be quick with dipping the ladyfingers, don't let them be in the coffe mix too long. this is best made in the morning to be served in the evening. can't find anything wrong with this recipe. definitely a keeper! vanessa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kongsberg January 22, 2010

WOW! I have made this tiramisu several times now and it is always a huge hit. I can't see how it is getting bad reviews...?? When I make it the texture is nice and firm and the dessert holds its shape on the plate well (as long as it has been left in the fridge overnight). When I dip the sponge fingers I do it VERY fast and give them a good shake when I take them out as I am not keen on the soggy sponge as some people are! If you are looking for a tiramisu recipe and have not made one before MAKE THIS ONE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riss January 20, 2010

the mascarpone/whipped cream mixture turned out very runny on me. It was okay right out of the fridge, but as soon as it warmed the slightest, it was running everywhere.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Knight family January 19, 2010

I was disappointed with this recipe. I am a great cook and well versed in desserts. I thought this recipe was a little complicated and I was nervous about giving raw ingredients to my friends. The consistency in the end was not what I think Tiramisu should be. It was more light and fluffy and whip cream like. Tiramisu should be slightly think and creamy yet fluffy. I would not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secure Amy December 02, 2009

A very good recipe! Made for hubby's birthday this year and he loved it! I halved this recipe and made a few minor mods - I only used about half cup coffee with 3 tbsp Bailey's liqueur, about 2 tbsp Bailey's and 1 tbsp espresso added when beating the yolks, 3 tbsp sugar (for half batch) and I only needed 1 package (86g) ladyfingers. I only dipped the tops for the bottom layer and very lightly at that. A little note on the pic - I surprised hubby with a trip for his birthday which included a picnic lunch in the Rockies. I chose this for the dessert instead of the usual birthday cake. So, no candles but cute little hearts instead :) Thanks for the recipe, Sassy Syrah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi August 31, 2009

Thank you for this recipe Sassy! I prepared it yesterday for my husbands birthday and he devoured it.. as did the guests! Great directions. Very simple! I used a LOAF DISH wich gave me a triple layer...the cookies fit perfectly and tweaked it only by sprinkling cocoa on each layer. YUMMY! Looking forward to the next time I will prepared this treat! Thanks again. ; )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Appreci8 good food! August 05, 2009

I've made this at least 4 times so far and it is amazing! For the sugar I've been useing superfine bakers sugar, which works just fine. I got rave reviews from coworkers and friends when I actually felt like sharing- which wasn't often (I'm pretty sure I ate an entire pan by myself).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pelegoddess July 25, 2009
Tiramisu