125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very good recipe! Made for hubby's birthday this year and he loved it! I halved this recipe and made a few minor mods - I only used about half cup coffee with 3 tbsp Bailey's liqueur, about 2 tbsp Bailey's and 1 tbsp espresso added when beating the yolks, 3 tbsp sugar (for half batch) and I only needed 1 package (86g) ladyfingers. I only dipped the tops for the bottom layer and very lightly at that. A little note on the pic - I surprised hubby with a trip for his birthday which included a picnic lunch in the Rockies. I chose this for the dessert instead of the usual birthday cake. So, no candles but cute little hearts instead :) Thanks for the recipe, Sassy Syrah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi August 31, 2009

Thank you for this recipe Sassy! I prepared it yesterday for my husbands birthday and he devoured it.. as did the guests! Great directions. Very simple! I used a LOAF DISH wich gave me a triple layer...the cookies fit perfectly and tweaked it only by sprinkling cocoa on each layer. YUMMY! Looking forward to the next time I will prepared this treat! Thanks again. ; )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Appreci8 good food! August 05, 2009

I've made this at least 4 times so far and it is amazing! For the sugar I've been useing superfine bakers sugar, which works just fine. I got rave reviews from coworkers and friends when I actually felt like sharing- which wasn't often (I'm pretty sure I ate an entire pan by myself).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pelegoddess July 25, 2009

What a wonderful recipe!!! I've made it twice and am back to make it a third time. My friends oo'ed and ahh'ed at this tiramisu and a neighbor called a day later to see if I had any left (I didn't; I ate the leftovers myself). The first time I made it, the egg whites didn't whip up b/c I didn't clean the beaters, but I omitted them and it worked just fine. The second time worked just as well. I just caution that if you don't properly squeeze out the ladyfingers, you may have a pool of coffee at the bottom of the cake. I used a trifle and it made for a beautiful presentation w/ chocolate shavings on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LawyerMom June 14, 2009

Made and served at an Italian Dinner Party Fundraiser for the American Cancer Society. There were 18 guests and they all said, "GREAT!" Thanks, Syrah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse May 13, 2009

Perfection! I only needed a cup of coffee and that included the added Starbucks coffee liqueur and Marsala as I used a pastry brush to wet the ladyfingers as suggested by another reviewer. Also added shaved chocolate on top of the cocoa powder. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GS April 08, 2009

4 stars for the mascarpone mixture. I added a LOT more liqueur, as others had suggested, but I felt that the amount of coffee was far too much. I ended up only using about 1/3 cup of the coffee/liqueur mix. All in all, this was still a very tasty tiramisu!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~DiZzY~ February 14, 2009

Very easy to make and good flavor. I may use just Kahlua for the coffee next time. It makes for a special dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 05, 2009

Wonderful, easy dessert! The only 'glitch' I had was that when I doubled the recipe, I didn't use all of the ladyfingers it called for by weight, because the 4 packages I bought lined my 9x13 twice quite nicely. Hindsight, I wish I had used the last two packages. I think the whole thing would have had a little more flavor. I, personally, would also decrease the coffee and increasse the liquer (I used kaluah). In the end it was still very good, but I would expect that it would go from good to fabulous, if I made the few changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 December 30, 2008

Unbelievably good! By far the best tiramisu I've ever had...and made! Thank You so much for this crowdpleasing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whoopi_ December 05, 2008
Tiramisu