131 Reviews

I think I know why people are saying its not sweet enough. Because the Savoiardi ladyfingers have a dusting of sugar on them and others dont so they possibly used something different therefor a not so sweet result. Wonderful recipe, its in with my favs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Lemon September 04, 2009

delicious...i even used brown splenda sugar and the flavor was still there. simply delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowboarder_jezzy August 27, 2009

Ok, I'm updating my original comments. When I first made this I was disappointed. I knew the texture of the cream was perfect, but it needed improvement. So I made it again. As others have mentioned, definetely, more sugar 1/3 cup and even 1/2 cup is not bad. Don't think that is just the opinion of someone w/a sweettooth, the strong coffee overpowers the sugar. Also, in my first attempt, because I had never made tiramisu, I didn't know how absorbent ladyfingers are. When you dip them, it should be just in and out very quickly, a fraction of a second on each side. The first one had too much liquid. You shouldn't have to drain them, if you had so much liquid that it began to drip, you'd find that they will become very fragile and may break apart in your hands and in turn it will be mushy. Once I did that I was very very pleased. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook January 31, 2008

This turned out beautifuly, Syrah. I made it exactly as posted. We're big Tiramisu fans and this really hit the spot. Thanks for sharing another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot April 07, 2004

MY FAMILY LOVED THIS!!! Follow the recipe to the T and all will be well. I decided, however to add more tia maria than called for, but i thought that just wansnt enough to get by on... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corinne Licari March 02, 2004

I have made this recipe several times. My daughter love, love, loves this version. Previously I have been using the Barefoot Contessa recipe, which is much heavier and more coffee flavored. I have made it with traditional hard and soft lady fingers. My family agrees the soft ones are much better with this recipe. So easy to make, less ingredients and just the right amount of sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura81601 April 30, 2016

So easy to make and followed tips on just dipping the fingers in liquid not soaking them as they break and are too soggy! Put in fridge for 24 hours. Absolute perfection for taste and texture. Made it for my man's birthday and he loved it?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb.patterson66 April 22, 2016

This is truly the BEST EVER! I use Kaluha and a bit of chocolate syrup with the espresso. I sprayed it on with a small sprayer to control how damp the ladyfingers get. Try this you! You won't ever try another recipie! Syrah, this is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diannadana62 January 17, 2016

This is very light and fresh tasting, truly a gem of a recipe. I used Kahlua liquor in the expresso mix and grated the sugar in a coffee grinder as recommended. It came out perfect. I usually purchase on serving of tiramisu for $4.99 at the local specialty grocer but, no more now that I have this easy and quick recipe. Thanks I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARYANNE M. January 05, 2016

Heavenly tiramisu!! I wish I knew how simple it is to make... when you have the right recipe. Since I didn't have any coffee liqueur, I just added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the coffee, like some of the other reviewers did. Looking forward to trying the (almost) real deal, with my homemade coffee liqueur which is cooking in the cupboard :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blanchissima September 28, 2015
Tiramisu