126 Reviews

I think I know why people are saying its not sweet enough. Because the Savoiardi ladyfingers have a dusting of sugar on them and others dont so they possibly used something different therefor a not so sweet result. Wonderful recipe, its in with my favs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Lemon September 04, 2009

delicious...i even used brown splenda sugar and the flavor was still there. simply delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snowboarder_jezzy August 27, 2009

Ok, I'm updating my original comments. When I first made this I was disappointed. I knew the texture of the cream was perfect, but it needed improvement. So I made it again. As others have mentioned, definetely, more sugar 1/3 cup and even 1/2 cup is not bad. Don't think that is just the opinion of someone w/a sweettooth, the strong coffee overpowers the sugar. Also, in my first attempt, because I had never made tiramisu, I didn't know how absorbent ladyfingers are. When you dip them, it should be just in and out very quickly, a fraction of a second on each side. The first one had too much liquid. You shouldn't have to drain them, if you had so much liquid that it began to drip, you'd find that they will become very fragile and may break apart in your hands and in turn it will be mushy. Once I did that I was very very pleased. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook January 31, 2008

This turned out beautifuly, Syrah. I made it exactly as posted. We're big Tiramisu fans and this really hit the spot. Thanks for sharing another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot April 07, 2004

MY FAMILY LOVED THIS!!! Follow the recipe to the T and all will be well. I decided, however to add more tia maria than called for, but i thought that just wansnt enough to get by on... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corinne Licari March 02, 2004

Thank you Syrah!! Who would have thought that Tiramisu could be this easy!! And did I mention absolutely delicious!??!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corbiep August 14, 2015

Ok, I've made tiramisu many times before, and everyone raves about it, but I was looking for a recipe that had a lighter cream layer (for anyone interested, my benchmark best ever tiramisu is at the Cafe Vitorio in the North End in Boston). So, I decided to try this recipe. I doubled it because I was bringing it to a pot luck and because I bought the large tub of marscapone. I also didn't know what caster sugar was, but going on one of the reviews, I used powdered sugar - and it worked fine. I also only made the 2 cups of coffee, but I used about 1/4 cup. I can't imagine using so much liquid in the recipe. I very quickly dipped the lady fingers so that they were barely wet with the coffee. The recipe came out excellent. I think tiramisu is all about ingredients (use marscapone, good lady fingers, and good liqueur - I used Kahlua and brandy) AND technique - the whipping of egg whites and folding, and not soaking the lady fingers are key to a good tiramisu. My original recipe called for some of the coffee/liqueur mixture in the marcapone mixture - I'm not sure if this recipe needs it or not, but it wouldn't hurt either. I will definitely make this again - it will be my new standard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three August 10, 2015

What an excellent recipe - I don't like tiramisu, however, my SIL loves it, so for a special family dinner I decided to make this. My SIL likes to rate meals using a rating of fail, satisfactory and outstanding - he gave the entire meal an outstanding + due mostly to this recipe. I must say that I have never tasted a tiramisu I cared for, both due to texture and flavor, the flavor in this was amazing, the only part of it I didn't care for was the texture - I've got to find a way to put some crunch in there in the future. That being said I will make this again even if I'm not able to find that crunch factor :) Thank you Sassy Syrah for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo March 07, 2014

I love the cream for this recipe. I did not add extra sugar and found the recipe perfect as-is. I bought another brand of lady fingers and the result was too soggy. I could have used a tip about how to make sure they weren't too wet. I am thinking next time I will let the lady fingers get a little stale. Otherwise I thought that this was a terrific recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neenanr March 15, 2013

AMAZING. I had to substitute twinkies for the ladyfingers. They fell apart, no matter how quick I dipped them. Layering with dry is a good idea Stelliana, I will do that next time, because there WILL be a next time. I also used substituted Kaluha, because I already had it in the cupboard. Next time, I will only make one cup of expresso. Even though the twinkies absorb the liquid quick, it did not take much. Thank you Sassy! Outstanding recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis October 10, 2011
Tiramisu