125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This Tiramisu is the bomb, absolutely loved it, perfect in every way. I have tasted many and this is the best, the sweetness is spot on and oh so easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdstephens December 15, 2012

For me I have never liked Tiramisu. My son loves it and so I thought I would try to make one for his birthday this week. Can I say it's heavenly!! This is a wonderful recipe and I so appreciate you sharing it with us. It says a lot about a recipe when you win someone over who doesn't even like it. The only change I made was I used Kaluah and added a bit more sugar because I couldn't find Caster suger in my area. I alos added a little clear mexican vanilla. Thank you Sassy for changing my mind about Tiramisu!! This is better than any of the ones I have tasted in restraunts!!! It's wonderful!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pephy December 11, 2012

I love Tiramisu and have it occasionally at a local restaurant. I've never made it. In fact, many people I talked to said that Tiraisu is most difficult to make and very ambitious. After an internet search, I found this recipe and was attracted by the 5 star rating. I wish I could rate it even higher!!! I made it earlier this afternoon and found the instructions easy to follow. We just tasted it and the flavor is superb!!! It was a "home run"! Thank you Sassy for sharing it!!! I plan to make it for a special treat for family over Thanksgiving, even if it's not considered "traditional". I know they will love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frostie07 November 12, 2012

Excellent....thank you for such clear instructions. Will be sure to make this again!
I used regular granulated sugar and Kahlua, as this is what I already had in the house. Came out terrific. Definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaidmagic April 07, 2012

Better than most restaurant tiramisu !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Sand Fairy March 16, 2012

This recipe made me a dessert goddess in the eyes of my hubby and father in law. I was concerned about serving raw egg, so i used a double boiler to cook the egg yolk and caster sugar custard. Worked fine. For the egg whites,I substituted using "whip it" - a whip cream stabilizer. I used just 1 cup of espresso made with instant espresso. Also used frangelica, which gave the final product a slightly nutty flavor. Did it in a loaf pan. My FIL said it was better than any tiramasu he'd ever ordered in a restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mazziebeecooks March 18, 2011

It's 4.5-star good. Like many reviewers, I used only about 3/4 cup of espresso. My ladyfingers are too soft to be dunked straight into liquid so I pour espresso into a shallow dish and soak the ladyfingers in there. I used 4 tbsp of liquor instead of just 3 (used Kahlua, will try Tia Maria next). In my opinion, the cream is a tad too much and sort of overpower the Mascarpone taste (will try 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup next time). To lend some more sweetness into the tiramisu, I used shaved milk chocolate on top instead of cocoa powder. This dish does taste better the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp September 08, 2010

I haven't made this particular recipe but wanted to post that if you are dipping the ladyfingers and they are falling apart, put your espresso and liqueur in a spray bottle and spray the pan, then spray the cookies. I can't wait to make this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent January 26, 2010

This is the BEST dessert I have ever eaten. I made this for friends over the weekend and they told me it was a good as a well-known Italian restaurant in my area (and it's a FABULOUS restaurant!) It has the right amount of sugar if you use superfine. Tiramisu should NOT be overly sweet. The only thing I would do differently is not dip the lady fingers in the coffee/Kahlua mixture but rather use a pastry brush and brush it in. My first layer got too mushy as they are very delicate.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oonarker October 15, 2009

Excellent! But it really should be made at least one day in advance. I served it after only 2 hours of refrigeration and it was good but the next day it was noticeably much better! I used frangelico instead of tia maria and I quickly dunked each lady finger in the espresso mixture for less than 1 second each and had no problems with over soaked pastry. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn October 05, 2009
Tiramisu