125 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tiramisu is truly amazing. Contrary to the opinion of others, the 1/4 c. of caster sugar was the perfect amount, and I can't imagine adding more. One thing I did do, was, for the bottom layer, dipped only the top half of the ladyfingers, keeping the bottom dry, and, occasionally, if I saw that a layer had too much liquid, just added a dry layer of ladyfingers. Quite the perfect tiramisu, thanks Syrah. (By the way...the reason everyone's ladyfingers are "falling apart" is because Italian ladyfingers, savoiardi, are hard cookies that soften when dipped, as opposed to the soft kind that you can get from the grocery store's bakery section. Personally, I prefer the soft kind.)

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stelliana May 26, 2008

Wish I could personally say this was delicious but I can not.. (this time).
Made this for a family summer party and didn't even get a taste! I was told it was soooo good !! Next time, and there will be a next time....
I used a small blender to make regular sugar finer, then I measured it.
Used 3 pkgs. of 12 lady fingers and made only 2 cups of very strong instant coffee.
Added a little more Kamora coffee liqueur to coffee than called for. Kamora is a very close second to Kahlua in my opinion. Brushed/dabbed on the lady fingers. Thank you Sassy..

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ragdoll Frankie July 17, 2011

I'm italian, and my town is just some miles from the place where this recipe was invented. The Syrah's recipe is quite right. I would just add two hints: 1- good quality mascarpone and strong coffee are mandatory. 2- NEVER, NEVER ... NEVER eat tiramisu before 24h. I repeat ... NEVER. The taste is awful compared of what it can be after a night in the fridge. Ciao

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
573627 August 29, 2007

I've tried a number of tiramisu recipes and this is my current favorite. I did find that 2 cups coffee is a bit too much since just a quick dip is needed or the ladyfingers come apart. I used instant espresso coffee (Medaglia D'Oro) and homemade "Kahlua" and more than the 3 Tbs. called for - how much I'm not sure, just a couple of glugs. Even more would have been good. I also used grated bittersweet chocolate between each layer and on the top rather than the cocoa. Thanks, Syrah, for the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fran6 March 02, 2007

An excellent recipe. The only suggestion I have is don't soak the lady fingers too much in the coffee or you get a soggy mess. I did that once with tiramisu. You don't you all the coffee in the recipe or I didn't anyway. I just dipped it in once and not for too long and it worked fine.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen May 02, 2011

I used a Godiva liquor and a pastry brush to "lightly wet" my Savoiardi ladyfingers (from Whole Foods). Awesome!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater December 27, 2010

This has become my go to recipe for tiramisu and I don't think it needs any refinement, it's perfect as is!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maritambien March 30, 2013

Wonderful. A couple of comments: I found Berry Sugar to be the same as Castor. Because of all the comments on the wetting of the fingers, I decided to start by making up 1 cup of coffee and added the liqueur. I dunked a couple, I pastry brushed a couple, I sprinkled some extra on. Ended up using only a half cup for 200g of fingers. Either my guests were liars or everyone loved it. Based on this, I don't think you can go wrong on the amount of coffee the fingers absorb. It firmed up very nicely in the 24 hours between making and serving, served up very cleanly, held the shape perfectly. I'll be making it again very soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2skialberta February 19, 2013

WOW!! Utterly delicious and sooo quick to make. Couldnt believe that I could make a dessert like this till I tried. Better than shop bought by far! Thanx for this great recipe, Ill be passing this one on to all my foody friends!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
divakitty February 17, 2013

The PERFECT Tiramisu Recipe. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wanderlustdreamx January 02, 2013
Tiramisu