Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tips for Better Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tips for Better Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2012

      My mom, and grandmother before her, have been using this method to make buttermilk biscuits for years. They've never added baking soda, but the biscuits always rise beautifully with just the self-rising flour, oil and buttermilk. It's nice to see the measurements instead of always hearing... "just eyeball it". :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I am not a biscuit person at all, that said, I really liked how these turned out! Just about every biscuit i've ever made has been a dry, tasteless, hockey puck. But these were moist and fluffy. I followed the directions using powdered buttermilk but I forgot the extra baking soda and they turned out fine. The dough was so wet i was worried when i turned it out on my board, but i used lots of flour and barely worked it before cutting them out. i forgot to melt the butter before pulling them out of the oven and i was in a rush, so i just used some butter spray for the tops. It worked fine but I'll bet melted butter would be even better. These are by far the best biscuits i've made, and i'll definitely be making them often. I just can't believe i'd ever say that about biscuits!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Exactly right...perfect with my beef stew. Entire family asked when I will make these again...didn't ask when I would make the stew again however Ü

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      I just made these as a midnight breakfast for my son and his friend. They want more-what else needs to be said!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      I have used this recipe twice now and each time the biscuits get better!!! Thank you for taking the time to explain in detail how you make them, wonderful tips :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      I just made these biscuits for breakfast for my husband and he loved them! So simple and easy! I will definitely be using this technique again. We put butter and honey on them and they were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      These were good and fun to make with my 2 1/2 year old, but mine were over-cooked at 12 minutes on 425 in the convection. I had to make my own self-rising flour using a recipe on Zaar, so I'm not sure if that was why? No matter, they're still good! We cut them into heart shapes - very cute. Thanks for the fun recipe and great afternoon with my toddler :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      The best instructions I've ever read for biscuits, THANKS!! I followed the directions and I've never been so excited over a bicuit before. No more mini frizbees, disks or flour puffs for me, I've got this, now!! It's all in the wet dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Red Apple Guy these biscuits (or the tips) rock. I had saved this recipe some time ago to try but didn't get around to it until yesterday. The were so quick, easy and tasted great. Soft and fluffy on the inside and a great accompany to our breakfast. I was so pleased and thanks to you DH can't stop complimenting me on my new biscuit skills. I followed the directions exactly, was a little nervous at the "wet" dough, but they turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      These biscuits are just fantastic! They are just like what my mom always made when I was home. Tender and fluffy. Thanks for posting this staple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      You are right on the money honey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Just the biscuit recipe I was looking for. I took your advice not to work the dough any more than necessary, and I had the fluffiest biscuits ever. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      They are very nice indeed! This was my 1st time in making biscuits and have to confess though - my 1st batch was a complete disaster. I think I overworked with the dough and they didn't rise all and ended up in the bin. Thankfully was successful in my 2nd attempt!! I used butter instead of oil. They turned out light and fluffy. Thank you, Red Apple Guy! Made for PAC '07.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      For the reviewer that was concerned about the amount of leavening....self-rising flour contains flour & baking powder! :) That's why its called self-rising!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Yum. These were moist and tender. I used half butter and half oil. I was leary to make them because they didn't have alot of leavening agent in them . They were the easist biscuits I have ever made and will be my favorite recipe now. Thanks Red Apple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tips for Better Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (569 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.2
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    44%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 326.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites