Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tiny Spicy Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tiny Spicy Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2010

      MMM I got my tiny spicy chicken fix I have been needing for 6 years. I use to live in Logan and I would always order the Tiny Spicy chicken and I have missed it. I would recommend doubling the chili paste, otherwise it will be way too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Followed recipe exactly last week and it was perfect with some fried rice! My family has already requested it again so we're having it again tonight! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      This reminds me of General Tso's. I didn't have cornstarch, so I dredged in the egg and then flour and garlic salt. I then put on baking pan and baked for about 15 minutes instead of frying. I thickened up the sauce with a tad of water mixed with flour and after the chicken was done, I put it in the sauce. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I thought the sauce was great, but next time I think I will try a tempura batter instead of the cornstarch. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I really enjoyed the flavor, it was even better than the restaurant's but the constancy of the sauce was runny and not enough, so I 1 an 1/2 timed the sauce and omitted the oil then added the oil/cornstarch that was left in the pan from browning the chicken into the sauce. And finished cooking as directed. I t made it even better. Thank you for this recipe. It has become a big hit my two year old will even asks for seconds. Rachel

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This reminded me of general Tso's, but saucier and sweet. I liked the sauciness, but I had to cut the sugar. I thought there must have been a mistake in the ingredient list, but with a little further investigation, I saw that it was indeed 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 6 tablespoons of brown sugar. I was certain that much sugar would have ruined the dish for me, so I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 3 tablespoons of brown sugar. I realize that is really changing the dish, but at lest for it made it significantly better. I didn't need the full 16 ounces of corn starch, so my suggestion would be to start of with 8 ounces and add more if needed. I didn't find it necessary to cook in the oven for 1 hour, I only cooked for 35 minutes and the chicken was nice and moist. I keeping this one and am going to fuse it with my recipe for General Tso's. I served this with Chinese Fried Rice. Thanks for this, we had a wonderful dinner tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      this is so good... my sister in law loves tiny spicy chicken and she asked me "could you make that "so i found this recipe and made it and she loved it. I make ours just a little hotter by adding a bit more chili paste but other than that an awsome recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Very good taste. I use a different batter, because the corn starch is hard to use and very messy. The sauce is awesome though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      My family loves this recipe and I get requests for it frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      This was pretty tasty, but I admit I had some ingredient trouble with it. I had to use a few substitutions, and I doubled the sauce, so maybe that changed the taste. I thought it was very sweet, and not spicy enough, so I added some cayenne pepper to heat it up. Next time I would not double the sauce, as the recipe makes plenty. And I would cut back on the sugar... But still tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I'm from Utah, and Tiny spicy chicken can ONLY be found in Logan. It is a specialty I dearly miss. When we moved I spent many months searching for a restaurant to make this, but still....almost 4 years later haven't found it. This recipe is spot on. I even remember making back home too! It's much better in restaurants like Mandarin Garden, but this recipe is a perfect substitution. I am so very happy to find this recipe again. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      This Tiny Spicy Chicken was very good. The sauce thickened perfectly and the spice was just right for me. It was too spicy for DH and DS#2 wanted it a bit more spicy. DS#1 and I liked it just as it was. Spice in a recipe is very personal (IMHO) and hard to be perfect for everyone. LOL I did make a few changes, though. I doubled the suace so that we would have plenty to pour over the steamed jasmine rice. It was perfect for that. As for the chicken, I cut it very small and then just tossed the cornstarch a little at a time until it was all coated. It took much less cornstarch and I didn't have to use any eggs (I was out of eggs anyway). I did sprinkle the chicken with pepper, garlic powder and onion pwoder before coating it with the cornstarch. I then deep fried the chicken in peanut oil. I made the sauce first and let it simmer on the stove while I deep fried the chichen. I cut back on the sugar to 1 cup, 4 T brown sugar and 2 T of low sodium soy sauce. It was still a bit too sweet for us, so next time I'll cut back more on the sugar (3/4 c) and less brown sugar (4 T). I'll also cut back on the whiter vinegar to 1/2 c and then bump up the chicken broth to 1 c. I omitted the salt, it didn't need it for us. I did add about 1/2 c toasted sesame seeds ( for a double batch of sauce). Again, this was very good and I'll make it many more times since we love Asian food. Thank you, Chef 251223, for sharing such a good recipe with us. I hope to make this for a large family gathering next week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      OH WOW!! This taste just like the resturant we have this at in Louisiana!! SO GOOD...will have it lots!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      This was delicious! I made fried rice to go with it and my family loved it. I did use half the amount of soy sauce, but left everything else the same. We'll be eating this again very soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I made this a few weeks ago and my husband is still talking about it! This one is going to definitely be a regular at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tiny Spicy Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 933.8
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    14%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 238.2 mg
    79%
    Sodium 1267.7 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 141.1 g
    47%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 70.5 g
    282%
    Protein 53.6 g
    107%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites